List Mgmt. 2021 draft pool.

Gold Coast does things no other teams would

They have maybe the best list of kids in the league.

If they rate Andrew as the best I don't see why they wouldn't add him to the mix potentially the jewel in the crown.

Gibcus looks a good fit too

I agree. At the end of the day they're playing footy and not going for a run or a jump. The way people carry on over the combine testing sometimes is a bit overdrawn. Look at guys like Greg Williams and Sam Mitchell. You don't need to run a ripper time trial or destroy the 20m sprint to be a very good footballer.

And to pre-empt all of those inevitable 'but modern footy... etc.' arguments, Clayton Oliver finished 3rd in the agility test, had a 10.45m 3km trial and obviously didn't feature in the 20m sprint pointy end. Hasn't stopped him being one of the best midfielders going around.
Agree with you in the main. Oliver was a big chubby kids who just got better and better as the season went on and is pretty unique as far as body shape and footballers goes. Was Dane Swan another. Pure footballers though.

Pick 7 seems as good as pick 3.

Or better with less pressure on the kid.

I don't see Richmond trading unless it's for 2

Clarke confirmed this morning that we won't be trading up for a player that we rank in the same group that's available at 9.

Made it clear that Adelaide, Hawks and Freo would all be picking from the same ranking level as we would. Hence it won't be happening.

THREE CLUBS “PRETTY KEEN” ON ROOS FAN WHO WANTS TO PLAY LIKE TOM STEWART

With the National Draft now just one day away, Eastern Ranges defender Tyreece Leiu’s excitement is growing.

Leiu grew up a North Melbourne supporter and played a game for their VFL side this past season and therefore has a “soft spot” for the royal blue and white.

However, he will not allow his fandom to get in the way of an AFL career.

The South Belgrave product revealed the teams that have shown the most interest in the pre-draft process.

“I’ve had a few clubs like Richmond, Carlton and the Hawks that seem pretty keen,” he said on SEN Drive.

Possessing a 193cm and 91kg frame, Leiu has the ideal body to be a stalwart in any AFL backline.

When asked which defenders he pays close attention to, the youngster responded with little hesitation.

“Tom Stewart is definitely the main one that I try and play like, (I’ve) been watching him for a while now,” he said.

Leiu is confident that he is ready to make the leap to the elite level and has the requisite mentality to match up on the game’s biggest names.

“I feel like I’m at the physical level and have the right mindset that I could play against AFL players,” he said.

Like any potential draftee, Leiu has a close bond with his mother and revealed that she is very hopeful her son is selected by a Victorian club.

“Mum’s pretty nervous, she’s wanting me to stay in Victoria,” he added.

For now, his mum will be waiting with the rest of us to see where her boy lands.

The AFL Draft will kick off at 7pm (AEDT) on Wednesday 24 November.

I can't wait for all our picks so I can start my research. This year I am waiting as I always get my heart set on the kid we don't take.
After I see their highlights I will know 100% we have picked the right players.

I know who we are picking, well not really, but I have strong vibes and my vibes are quite intutative

I can't write anything at the moment.

After they are picked, only then, I can write told ya so

Loving all the opposition supporters thinking Richmond will be giving up pick #15 for a 2-3 pick upgrade on pick #7 with Callaghan off the board

Cant see Tigers paying big to move up to take Ward,Hobbs,Gibcus,Johnson,Andrew,Erasmus,Amiss
Rachele/Callaghan would be nice but i think we can just about rule these 2 out

I am almost certain that will not happen unless Callaghan is on the table and if that's so probably will not happen anyway because they will want more

I am super NOT keen on Amiss.

First of all, how often do tall forwards come on, really? Unless there is one impossible to pass up, you're just as likely to find a good one in the second or third round than you are in the first round. Outside of Jack Riewoldt we haven't drafted a good tall forward basically in my life. Richo was father/son. I know those two are at the very high end but we have had basically no one else in my life. Is this bad drafting or are good tall forwards just super hard to find? Is it thus worth wasting a great draft hand on one?

Amiss would be a risk for go-home factor, a risk because he may just not make it at AFL level, and a waste because he does not improve us in the now, he'll only play in a couple of years.

We are in the good (or awkward?) position where we have a team capable of a flag but also close to needing a rebuild. So what is this team's most obvious weakness, one clearly not having been addressable by its own depth players (clearly shown by our shit 2021), and one that if we address we can possibly be the best team again in 2022? THE MIDFIELD. Look at every game we lost, we got farking wrecked in the midfield, losing disposal counts and contested possessions by heaps. We weren't pressuring anymore so teams just wrecked us at times, stand rule aside. We had injuries but still, the midfield was horrible. Amiss will not solve this any more than our depth will.

Draft and list strategy should be midfielders and key defenders (these seem to come on way more often than key forwards) and, if you don't get lucky to draft a tall forward (say, in the second round) that becomes capable of finals-level footy after 2-4 years in the system, you poach someone.

- Us with Lynch
- Melbourne with Brown
- Even Essendon (I seethe at typing that word) with the more-than-serviceable and cheap-as-chips Peter Wright

Once you have an established engine room and defence, poach someone established (Brown) or even fringe (Wright) that you know can play, it doesn't even need to be a big money Tom Lynch type. If you're lucky you might still have drafted someone fairly decent (eg. Tom McDonald) along the way. But you won't have built that gun engine room by wasting top picks on guys like Shache, McCartin, Watts, Vickery, Gumbleton, McBean, Brander, Fogarty, Coleman-Jones...

Anyway I digress sorry, I'm just saying that for both now and the future it's the midfield we need to buff. Tall forwards are a much bigger risk in the early picks. Amiss should be given a miss.

JHF, Darcy, Callaghan, Daicos, Andrew, Rachele

After that its Hawks, Freo, Richmond, Freo, and they aren't sure what will happen.

That is a fair interpretation as an observer, I think the actually timing of the bids could be anything but they will go early and hoping Darcy before Daicos and the higher the better for every other team

Essendon seem almost desperate to do any trade they can for their first provided they get the upper hand in terms of serious value gain from the trade.

Sounds like they are not really keen on a specific prospect at that pick, or at least rate a bunch around the same value and may even have someone in mind at a later pick( as long as it is not too far away from where they are currently at) and comes down to price they want.

I suspect they have someone in mind and think they can get him at 14 or 15 etc.., I think I might know who it is to

List Mgmt. 2021 draft pool.