Prediction 2021 Draft Predictions

For those who aren’t quite in a position to do a full phantom draft, but who would still like to have a go at predicting the draft, please use this thread to post your predictions :)

The current draft order is available in the pinned thread, here:

In accordance with board rules, phantom drafts which do not fulfil the requirements of a full first round using the current draft order (at time of posting), and preferably with a bit of explanation and willingness to explain your decisions, may also be merged into this thread.

Following the Trade Period, the current order for the first round of the draft is:

1. North Melbourne
  2. GWS Giants
  3. Gold Coast Suns
  4. Adelaide
  5. Hawthorn
  6. Fremantle
  7. Richmond
  8. Fremantle
  9. St Kilda
  10. West Coast Eagles
  11. Essendon
  12. Port Adelaide
  13. GWS Giants
  14. Brisbane Lions
  15. Richmond
  16. Sydney Swans
  17. Melbourne
  18. Brisbane Lions

Here is my NFI first round Phantom, but I'm going to have some fun with it by inventing nicknames.
As an old fella, I remember my TAE maths 2/3 class (in current Vic = Methods & Specialist) in 1983/4 having guys with nicknames: Fungus, Nuts, Flapper, Bendy, Psycho, to name a few.
I have had at least 5 different nicknames over the years!
Nowadays, kids are generally called by their first name or last name, but thankfully sporting clubs keep the nicknames alive.
Admittedly my previous attempts were not successful here: I called Paul Medhurst, Cat As A Hat & Steve Johnson, Cletus (Simpsons reference), but nobody took them up, so I expect all of these nicknames to disappear into the ether as well. :)
Oh, well, here goes & I mean no offence to any of the fine, young men.

1. NM - Ultra - short for Ultra High Frequency (UHF) - from JHF - I reckon Ultra even suits this impressive player. (JHF)
2. Coll (matched bid) - MJ - Marvel Junior - Macedonian Marvel Junior (apologies to older brother Josh who is a fine player, but Nick is extra special) (Daicos)
3. GWS - Shark - Finn (pretty obvious) (Callaghan)
4. WB (matched bid) - SOSTA - Son Of Say That Again (Darcy)
5. GC - Whopper - Big Mac (Andrews)
6. A - Klein - Calvin - Calvin & Hobbes (sh1t comic strip, & the first surprise besides the bids) (Hobbs)
7. H - Shine - Matte - Matt (Johnson)
8. F - Kundera - Milan - Milan to Minsk - Rochelle Rochelle - Seinfeld reference (Rachele)
9. R - Something (Amiss)
pick swap Brisbane give 16, 20 to Freo for 10
10. B - Burt (Ward)
11. St.K - Apollo - Hyacinthus - Discus (Gibcus)
12. WC - Gavtez - combination of Gavin & Terry (NWM)
13. E - Rastus (Erasmus)
14. PP - Chief - Kaiser Chiefs - Keyser Soze (Sonsie)
pick swap St.K swap future first with GWS for pick 15
15. St.K - City - Sin City (great movie IMO) (Sinn)
16. F - Millhouse - Millhouse Van Houten (JVR)
17. R - Exotic - play on the kid having a very common name (T.Brown)
18. S - Alfred - Batman's butler (I know this is my second Batman reference, but he isn't my favourite superhero by a long shot, & interestingly a batman is a type of butler, so Alfred would be Batman's batman. Also, I reckon the little park near the Yarra across from Batman park should be named Robin Park) (Butler)
19. M - TI - Stephen Michael - greatest footy player ever IMO - the GOAT (Goater)
20. F - John - John Curtin - curtains - drapes (Draper)

And before you all "shout" that I have been too Freo friendly, please know that I want Amiss with our first pick & either Erasmus or Johnson with our second, but I wanted to mix things up.
Anyway, for those who haven't had a go, why not have a ping. It's fun!

To make it easier, here are each team's haul from the first round
A - Hobbs
B - Ward
C - sorry
Coll - Daicos
E - Erasmus
F - Rachele, Van Rooyen, Draper
G - not this time
GC - Andrew
GWS - Callaghan, St Kilda future 1st
H - Johnson
M - Goater
NM - Horne-Francis
PP - Sonsie
R - Amiss, Brown
St.K - Gibcus, Sinn
S - Butler
WC - Wanganeen-Milera
WB - Darcy

OK, come at me!!! :):cool::straining::D:moustache::drunk:

Has a sook because a club didn't bother to interview him knowing that he was 110% locked in at another club.

Yeah looks like someone has extremely high tickets on himself here.

Same could be said of JHF who explicitly said he wants the mantle of being number 1 pick.

Or of any other top draft pick, who also wants to be recognised for their performances amongst their peers.

Personally I think it’s a bit pointless seeking validation through external recognition though. Getting drafted is just a gateway into the system.

It really all means nothing once the player is on a list.

Same could be said of JHF who explicitly said he wants the mantle of being number 1 pick.

Or of any other top draft pick, who also wants to be recognised for their performances amongst their peers.

Personally I think it’s a bit pointless seeking validation through external recognition though. Getting drafted is just a gateway into the system.

Maybe he just wants the $10k bonus no 1 draft picks get

Gee that is stingy considering he probably lives in Toorak.
The bulk of kids drafted now seem to be private school kids from comfortable families. It actually should be a concern to the AFL.

Not saying either 1 of these guys come across as entitled or that I believe everything reported is gospel (certainly depends on an individuals' interpretation) but JHF reads as a more balanced person.

If gold coast go gibcus instead he won't get past freo
Really? With Darcy, Meek and Treacy? A straight up key forward is better for them