List Mgmt. 2021 Draft Prospects

Could be upgrades, but not neccessary. Could just draft 4 more new blokes. But seems as though Smith will be upgraded, and not sure on the other two. Essentially, however many we draft, we will probably upgrade as many rookies needed to make it 4 more in total (5 including Darcy). Then the gaps left on the rookie list will be filled Friday or left for the SSP.

Technically speaking, I would rather we take 4 more selections in the national draft, as it allows us to get better access to players higher on our draft board (albeit at this point it is probably splitting hairs). Really hoping Raak gets through to Cat B, which would add another youngster to our list for essentially free.
We've offered Sweet and Gardner two year contracts, but they can be rookie contracts?

Otherwise they'd have to be upgraded.

We've offered Sweet and Gardner two year contracts, but they can be rookie contracts?

Otherwise they'd have to be upgraded.
Yes. Entirely likely they will be upgraded, just unsure if a club can offer a 2-year deal with one year as a rookie and one as senior (someone may be able to clear this up). If they can it could be possible we have done that here. But if they cannot then they must be upgraded as they would then be at the completion of a 5 year rookie stint. As we currently have 33 on our senior list including Darcy, and 5 Category A rookies, it leaves room for only 4 new players, but technically we can take 5 more selections. It is very possible that tonight we will select 2 new players and upgrade Sweet, Gardner and Roarke, leaving us with 38 + 2. The AFL allows for 38+4 and we may take up to 2 rookie draft selections, or we may take 0 or 1, and leave spots open. Then there is also Raak for Cat B rookie option as well.

Put simply, assuming that there is no way of splitting contracts between rookie and senior lists, then Sweet and Gardner MUST be upgraded due to their contract expiry, whilst Smith, McNeil and Scott may be kept as rookies, although we may simply upgrade Smith anyway.

So post pick 2 bid match on Darcy, how many picks do we technical have?
I thought i seen 4, i may be totally wrong as Sammy was playing some 4D chess i couldn't keep up.
Pick 41, 64 + two picks in the 90's like 5th rounders.
But with all the live trading i need some one with a bigger brain that me.

So post pick 2 bid match on Darcy, how many picks do we technical have?
I thought i seen 4, i may be totally wrong as Sammy was playing some 4D chess i couldn't keep up.
Pick 41, 64 + two picks in the 90's like 5th rounders.
But with all the live trading i need some one with a bigger brain that me.
44, 71 and picks in the 90s-100s area

Our pick swap with North wasn’t glamorous, but it was really effective.

we move up in the 3rd round next year, probably at least 10 spots, and our first live pick this year is now 41 rather than a late 40s pick.

All for absolutely no downside for us. Great work by Power.
Sammy P is a friggin genius, I hope the other recruiters have no idea he is the smartest guy in the room.
Teams will stop dealing with the Doggies cause they will be afraid they are about to get fleeced.

In this world where AFL clubs draft tall players as a speculation I would very inclined to go for the best available footballer with our last Rookie pick. 173cm Morrish Medalist Flynn Lakey has been an outstanding junior. He just gets the ball and uses it wisely. You probably couldn't have Lakey in the same team as Caleb Daniel.... but its so important to use the ball well and Lakey is a gun at that.

Lore has posted this in the Trade and List management Thread, She has us down for 41,64,88,90,91.
Such a nice Essendon supporter, how many of us doggie supporters have said that before? :laughing:
1637810099067.png

Im'ma just leave this here so we all know going forward...

(Not sure I trust it though...)

EDIT: Doesn't seem to Have Collingwoods matched bids of 39, 41, 43 and 45 removed, so we possibly shuffle forward 3 spots with our first pick and 4 with our second? That would match Lore's spreadsheet of 41, but not of 64...)

Round 2
21. Fremantle (via Gold Coast Suns)
22. North Melbourne
23. Hawthorn (via Collingwood)
24. Geelong Cats (via Gold Coast Suns)
25. Geelong Cats (via Adelaide Crows)
26. Hawthorn
27. Carlton
28. Richmond
29. Richmond (via Fremantle)
30. Richmond (via St Kilda)
31. West Coast Eagles
32. Geelong Cats (via Essendon)
33. Sydney Swans
34. North Melbourne (via GWS Giants)
35. Adelaide Crows (via Brisbane Lions)
36. West Coast Eagles (via Port Adelaide)
37. North Melbourne (via Western Bulldogs)
38. Melbourne

End of Round 2

39. Collingwood (via Richmond, free agency compensation for Mabior Chol)
40. Sydney Swans (free agency compensation for George Hewett)

Round 3
41. Collingwood (via North Melbourne)
42. Brisbane Lions (via Collingwood)
43. Collingwood (via Carlton)
44. Western Bulldogs (via Richmond)
45. Collingwood (via Fremantle)
46. Melbourne (via St Kilda)
47. Geelong Cats (via West Coast Eagles)
48. Essendon
49. Collingwood (via Sydney Swans)
50. GWS Giants
51. GWS Giants (via Brisbane Lions)
52. St Kilda (via Geelong Cats)
53. Essendon (via Port Adelaide)
54. Melbourne (via Western Bulldogs)
55. Collingwood (via Melbourne)

Round 4
56. Hawthorn (via North Melbourne)
57. Fremantle (via Gold Coast Suns)
58. St Kilda (via Adelaide Crows)
59. Port Adelaide (via Hawthorn)
60. Carlton
61. Hawthorn (via Richmond)
62. St Kilda (via Fremantle)
63. St Kilda
64. West Coast Eagles
65. Fremantle (via Essendon)
66. Sydney Swans
67. GWS Giants
68. North Melbourne (via Brisbane Lions)
69. Port Adelaide (via Geelong Cats)
70. Collingwood
71. Western Bulldogs
72. Port Adelaide
73. Adelaide Crows (via Western Bulldogs)

Round 5
74. North Melbourne
75. Adelaide Crows
76. Hawthorn
77. Carlton
78. Richmond
79. Fremantle
80. St Kilda
81. West Coast Eagles
82. Essendon
83. Sydney Swans
84. Port Adelaide

Round 6 and beyond
85. Gold Coast Suns
86. Adelaide Crows
87. Collingwood
88. Essendon
89. Sydney Swans
90. Collingwood
91. Gold Coast Suns
92. Essendon
93. Western Bulldogs
94. Western Bulldogs
95. Western Bulldogs

Im'ma just leave this here so we all know going forward...

(Not sure I trust it though...)

EDIT: Doesn't seem to Have Collingwoods matched bids of 39, 41, 43 and 45 removed, so we possibly shuffle forward 3 spots with our first pick and 4 with our second? That would match Lore's spreadsheet of 41, but not of 64...)

Round 2
21. Fremantle (via Gold Coast Suns)
22. North Melbourne
23. Hawthorn (via Collingwood)
24. Geelong Cats (via Gold Coast Suns)
25. Geelong Cats (via Adelaide Crows)
26. Hawthorn
27. Carlton
28. Richmond
29. Richmond (via Fremantle)
30. Richmond (via St Kilda)
31. West Coast Eagles
32. Geelong Cats (via Essendon)
33. Sydney Swans
34. North Melbourne (via GWS Giants)
35. Adelaide Crows (via Brisbane Lions)
36. West Coast Eagles (via Port Adelaide)
37. North Melbourne (via Western Bulldogs)
38. Melbourne

End of Round 2

39. Collingwood (via Richmond, free agency compensation for Mabior Chol)
40. Sydney Swans (free agency compensation for George Hewett)

Round 3
41. Collingwood (via North Melbourne)
42. Brisbane Lions (via Collingwood)
43. Collingwood (via Carlton)
44. Western Bulldogs (via Richmond)
45. Collingwood (via Fremantle)
46. Melbourne (via St Kilda)
47. Geelong Cats (via West Coast Eagles)
48. Essendon
49. Collingwood (via Sydney Swans)
50. GWS Giants
51. GWS Giants (via Brisbane Lions)
52. St Kilda (via Geelong Cats)
53. Essendon (via Port Adelaide)
54. Melbourne (via Western Bulldogs)
55. Collingwood (via Melbourne)

Round 4
56. Hawthorn (via North Melbourne)
57. Fremantle (via Gold Coast Suns)
58. St Kilda (via Adelaide Crows)
59. Port Adelaide (via Hawthorn)
60. Carlton
61. Hawthorn (via Richmond)
62. St Kilda (via Fremantle)
63. St Kilda
64. West Coast Eagles
65. Fremantle (via Essendon)
66. Sydney Swans
67. GWS Giants
68. North Melbourne (via Brisbane Lions)
69. Port Adelaide (via Geelong Cats)
70. Collingwood
71. Western Bulldogs
72. Port Adelaide
73. Adelaide Crows (via Western Bulldogs)

Round 5
74. North Melbourne
75. Adelaide Crows
76. Hawthorn
77. Carlton
78. Richmond
79. Fremantle
80. St Kilda
81. West Coast Eagles
82. Essendon
83. Sydney Swans
84. Port Adelaide

Round 6 and beyond
85. Gold Coast Suns
86. Adelaide Crows
87. Collingwood
88. Essendon
89. Sydney Swans
90. Collingwood
91. Gold Coast Suns
92. Essendon
93. Western Bulldogs
94. Western Bulldogs
95. Western Bulldogs
Those last 3 picks could be gold for any of the KPD or Vic players that weren't able to showcase their talents due to lack of comp footy.

Any prospects of us live trading back into the second round this evening, perhaps packaging pick #41 and North's future 3rd (or our own future 2nd)?

5 spots left on the list. 1 is a category B rookie only spot, which may be Raak if he gets through and we choose to take him. That leaves 4, 1 or 2 of which I suspect will be left to the rookie draft or SSP.
I would love our later picks to be 1 key defender (Vinsentini I like the look of), a small forward (Stagg/Curtis), and 2 smaller/medium defenders (not sure here, maybe these could be the rookie picks, and maybe 1 is matching an earlier Raak bid)
That is a great analysis TommyD13, Either Vinsentini or Charlie Dean for me, both seem to fit us for the future. I'd like to rookie another tassie boy in Baker Smith to develop just due to woody retiring a year early.
Do ya recon we'll use our next pick on Vinsentini or maybe Stagg/Curtis.

Stagg's draft profile says he's a midfielder that goes Fwd, good kick for goals. We have a few of these.
Vinsentini is a Position of need and a bit of mongrel down back?
Tell me about Curtis can ya mate.