Analysis 2021 draft thread

I can see your point but our track record of trading picks is frankly diabolical. I would just sit and use the picks.
It's our track record of trading into the first round of the next year that's diabolical. That's not what I'm advocating. I'm suggesting trading pick 20 into round 2 and getting an extra 2nd or 3rd next year in the bargain.

Basso and JVR are not really even spoken about as that pick 20 range
Yes they are.

Draft for talent and trade for needs. Yes, I know that we don’t have depth in those positions but we’ve done ok thus far. Next year, Daniher will be 28, McStay 27, Hipwood 25 so all 3 KPF’s have 4 years minimum. Andrews will be 25, Adams 29, Payne 22 so again a number of years we should be ok.
While I agree that we can wait a year or two, talls generally take a few years before they're best 22 in a strong team. By the time anyone we start is ready to stake a claim for best 22, Adams will be on his last legs and Joe won't be far behind. So there's no issue drafting a tall this year.

It's our track record of trading into the first round of the next year that's diabolical. That's not what I'm advocating. I'm suggesting trading pick 20 into round 2 and getting an extra 2nd or 3rd next year in the bargain.

Yes they are.

While I agree that we can wait a year or two, talls generally take a few years before they're best 22 in a strong team. By the time anyone we start is ready to stake a claim for best 22, Adams will be on his last legs and Joe won't be far behind. So there's no issue drafting a tall this year.

We will probably draft the best available with our first pick and then a tall with our second. We really don’t have much list space available so I reckon we will draft a minimum of three players. Our reserves are not that strong at the moment so we need to get some more talent in the latter part of our list.

I can see your point but our track record of trading picks is frankly diabolical. I would just sit and use the picks. I am actually leaning away from using it on a KPP unless they are Amiss or Gibcus and they slide. Basso and JVR are not really even spoken about as that pick 20 range and are KPD. Draft for talent and trade for needs. Yes, I know that we don’t have depth in those positions but we’ve done ok thus far. Next year, Daniher will be 28, McStay 27, Hipwood 25 so all 3 KPF’s have 4 years minimum. Andrews will be 25, Adams 29, Payne 22 so again a number of years we should be ok. I am not saying we will not rectify this in the coming years but as long as the people we draft are not a ‘reach’ and we get the best players in at those 2 picks. Should free up some $$$ next year so we can always look to trade in players of need.
Agree that we seemed to get a bit too focused on pick trading. It was a brilliant move with Gold Coast in the Neale trade but has otherwise cost us. By trading into the future you also cost yourself a year of development. We traded out 18 and 19 last year. And then had to bid way earlier than expected on Coleman. Too clever by half.
We haven't had a top 20 pick since Rayner in 2017. It's the one gap on our list - really talented players 18-20yo. Of course you are less likely to get them once you are finishing top 4. But from 3 drafts we have 3 players tracking reasonably well (Dev Robertson, K Coleman, Prior) and nobody who'd you say looks like a gun. We have been topping up with experience and that has worked well, but we need to get the next 2 drafts right to make sure we have another wave of talent coming through. Ashcroft could well be a free hit just at the right time.

My take out from today's games:

- If we need KPs take them this year. Ashcroft, Fletcher and McMillan could end up being a great base to build on going forward. Ashcroft inside, Fletcher outside and McMillan on a forward flank going into the midfield when required and impacting. There are a few other interesting guys as well including Langan who I had not seen until today.

- Triffet the only one of this year's group who I think is likely to get the chance. Bowes an outside chance.

My take out from today's games:

- If we need KPs take them this year. Ashcroft, Fletcher and McMillan could end up being a great base to build on going forward. Ashcroft inside, Fletcher outside and McMillan on a forward flank going into the midfield when required and impacting. There are a few other interesting guys as well including Langan who I had not seen until today.

- Triffet the only one of this year's group who I think is likely to get the chance. Bowes an outside chance.
If Goater or Sinn are available at our first pick, and we pass on them, I’ll be a tad put out.

Drafting KPs seem to be fraught with danger. What are some of the non negotiables? I.E. they have to be somewhat accomplished at that particular thing. Height? thirst for the contest? mobility? kicking skills? marking skills? endurance? footy IQ?

I think my favourite tall from this years draft is Rhett Bazzo, has good height and is a great mover for his height and length however doesn't have a lot of size at the moment, seems to have a solid frame though. His kicking looks really good and probably the best kick of all the key position players for me. He's a really good interceptor and judges the ball well in the air. Can't speak much to his endurance or footy IQ other than his ability to read the play. He's not as proven at being a swingman that can play at either end but in terms of a prospect he's one I would really like to get at the end of the first round.

If you are talking about key forwards, I think that the two things that are highly desirable in combination are contested marking and ground level agility. I think you want someone who can take a pack mark but, at the same time, they can't be a liability when the ball hits the deck.

In terms of key defenders, I think it is a bit trickier because there's a few different types. You want strength, speed, reach and competitiveness for a lockdown defender but marking, game sense and ball use for an intercepting type.

Not sure if anyone else is watching the sanfl prelim but jeez Horne-Francis is impressive, genuinely looks like the best player on the field in the last quarter.

Apologies if this has been shown before. Taken from AFL site article Aug 2021
For people like me that don't take that much interest in draft & trades until it is close to happening

CLUBS are set to retain the same list sizes for 2022 while rookies in their third season will be allowed to spend a fourth 'replacement year' on the list after the AFL passed a rule change ahead of the off-season.

Under AFL rules players had not been allowed to spend more than three straight years on the rookie list. However, clubs had been lobbying the League to give extra time to rookies who had been disrupted in their development by the past two AFL seasons by COVID-19.

It saw the AFL confirm to clubs on Wednesday that any player in their third season as a Category A or B rookie will be eligible to spend another season as a rookie in 2022 as a 'replacement' year.

The players will not be required to be delisted and go through the draft process to be re-selected, with the move giving extra time to players brought from international regions or other sports who have had less time to develop at lower levels due to the impact of the pandemic.

But the rule that allowed clubs to move primary-listed players to the rookie list between the first and second list lodgment periods to open up senior spots will not be permitted this off-season.

In a memo to clubs, the AFL said that there is "no forecast changes to list sizes for 2022" and that the one-off rule was brought in last season due to the changes that came late in the piece with list sizes and structures.

They will, however, be able to shift players on the senior list to the rookie list in the time between the national and rookie drafts if the player is contracted for 2022.

Meanwhile, clubs have been told they will have to again select a minimum of three players at the NAB AFL Draft after last year only needing to take one because of list reductions. The three live picks can include promoted rookies (before or after the national draft), national draft picks and pre-season draft selections.

It is a change that signals to clubs ahead of the Continental Tyres AFL Trade Period there will be no more list cuts after last year's numbers fell following the financial impact of COVID-19 on the competition.

Would love it if Erasmus got to us. Looks a great player. Would be happy to take him in the top 3. Not a fan of taking KP players in first round. We got guys like Andrews, mctsay and Gardner outside first round. Would rather bulk up our mids and flankers. Can use later picks on suspect key position players. Number one trait for me in any player is competitiveness. If they don’t burn when they lose it’s a red flag. At this stage makes more sense to keep our future first. Can use it during trade period next year if the salary cap permits or create a bidding war on draft night

Btw just checked out the first quarter of the tassie qld under 19s game and that ruck for tassie (26) looks very good. Not sure when he is eligible but hopefully we got our eye on him

Analysis 2021 draft thread