Mega Thread 2021 Draft

If we get Rachele i’ll be doing cartwheels

I didn’t get to see anywhere near enough of him as I would like, and not enough to really dissect his negatives like I can with Sa players..

…but his impact on contests and ability to extract it cleanly impressed me and I think it’s what we need in a midfield of players like wines and drew.

I also like what he brings as a forward tho, so if he ended up as a forward instead of midfielder I think he could offer something we need there too.

What issues do they flag for him becoming a mid?
Ability to find the ball outside of contests? (Something that I thought might be an issue from my viewings)
Fitness / gut running ability
Willingness to run to get to contests?

I’m not for a trade for a player but I’d give up Clurey and Lycett for no1 pick to get Jason Horne Francis
Nah mate that's a bit too much I reckon, surely they'd take Jarrod Lienert for pick 1?

Jason Horne Francis that he is flying now just worries me is that as good as he gets?
Most of our mids or any decent afl side would tear an sanfl game apart?
I'd like him for sure but players around him that still have a little maturing to do every bit as attractive.

Who was the last draft prospect to actually start in the centre of a sanfl team and hold his spot?

Has it even happened in the past 20 years?

Adam Cooney while being pretty damn good for westies predraft wasn’t playing in the centre all day every day. He was a utility.

it’s basically unheard of.

Who was the last draft prospect to actually start in the centre of a sanfl team and hold his spot?

Adam Cooney while being pretty damn good for westies predraft wasn’t playing in the centre all day every day. He was a utility.

Jack Trengove?

Jason Horne Francis that he is flying now just worries me is that as good as he gets?
I'd like him for sure but players around him that still have a little maturing to do every bit as attractive.
I'd be all in on Draper if he falls.

I’m not for a trade for a player but I’d give up Clurey and Lycett for no1 pick to get Jason Horne Francis
Forget it ..the Crows board have their club giving up 4 and a player for him.

Reminds me of Buckley's 91-92 personally.

*Edit - obviously that was even another level given he won the magarey in 92 and he was 19.

Hold on, did I just read that right? You are suggesting that you are worried that Horne-Francis, the 18 year, has reached his peak and that is as good as he gets?!?!?!?
HE IS 18 LOL. OF COURSE HE IS GOING TO GET BETTER.

Reminds me of Buckley's 91-92 personally.

*Edit - obviously that was even another level given he won the magarey in 92 and he was 19.

Agreed, Buckley was at another level even as a 19 yo, and while it's difficult to compare eras the standard of sanfl footy has fallen so far I suspect both the Port and Glenelg teams from the 1992 gf would many goals better than their current line ups.

Hold on, did I just read that right? You are suggesting that you are worried that Horne-Francis, the 18 year, has reached his peak and that is as good as he gets?!?!?!?
HE IS 18 LOL. OF COURSE HE IS GOING TO GET BETTER.
Just like SPP got so much better. Oh wait.

Trent Dumont is probably the last SA based player to do what Horne-Francis has done. Kept his spot pretty well all year in Norwoods midfield and was close to BOG in their premiership too.

Mega Thread 2021 Draft