Discussion 2021 General AFL Discussion

Never understood the importance of the fixture, if you have a tough fixture then why does it matter. There’s no point of making finals with an easy draw if you’re just gonna struggle against the other finalists.

If you can’t win games in a tough fixture what hope do you have on having an impact in the finals?

In saying that, still wish we had a 34 round season where you play every team twice, home and away.

Never understood the importance of the fixture, if you have a tough fixture then why does it matter. There’s no point of making finals with an easy draw if you’re just gonna struggle against the other finalists.

If you can’t win games in a tough fixture what hope do you have on having an impact in the finals?

In saying that, still wish we had a 34 round season where you play every team twice, home and away.

i think they will introduce 2 more sides, drop to a 19 round season, then introduce a wild card weekend

Well said. If we miss finals, it’s not the fixtures fault.

Meh

Don’t mind me.

I’m just a nervous nervous campaigner.

best not to pay attention to anything I say.

It says a lot about how bad Essendon are going when Hind is one of their best players, he wouldn't even be getting a game for us.

Good to see him doing well though.

When I was watching highlights of other players, it's Hind in a lot of the action. I think we underrated him. Perhaps Lonie not getting a trade lost us a good player.

We have them next week and it’s their home game. Big danger game for us. don’t need to give them any more ammunition.

seriously our draw looks tougher and tougher as every game goes on. Just have to keep winning and hope that somehow these teams we play twice all suddenly turn to sh*t.... which I somehow doubt.
Christ if we can't beat these sadcases next week, we should have the word finals extracted from our brains via the anus. Essendin will be bottom 3 at the end of the year, and hopefully all future years

It says a lot about how bad Essendon are going when Hind is one of their best players, he wouldn't even be getting a game for us.

Good to see him doing well though.

I mean Richmond could have said the same thing about Butler last year.

Doesn't mean we were shit or we shouldn't have traded him. Sometimes players just need a new start or a different role.

Heppell should also come in next week. Massive for us, he’s a liability.

Their forward line is iffy, so long as we don't let any HBF'ers run off our flanks, Bombers are hard trash as Port has coasted for 3/4 of the game.

Thanks for the insight on what the youth reckon these days. Them kids and their sneakers with their boom boxes and ninetendos sure do confuse the heck out of me and grandma sometimes.
But seriously, bullsh1t.
How many ex players have made it through the umpiring system since the league allegedly started trying to recruit them?? 1x Leigh Fisher and that's it.
Well over 1000 players have passed through club land since that initiative and you're telling me that all is well and it's social media that's the problem?
Pigs ar$e mate. 1 ex player in over ten years aught tell you that something stinks

The shi77y culture in the AFL umpiring ranks has been known about for a long long long time but the AFL in true form has made any criticism of them "out of bounds" (boom tish).
Now everyone is doing mental and linguistic calisthenics to invent other reasons because their afraid to call a spade a spade.

On top of the number of times others have said the same, my information comes direct from a guy I used to know who was in the system but quit because he couldn't stand them. He described the advancement policy as pure nepotism, and that the job you held outside of umpiring had more relevance than your ability to umpire a game. This individual continued as a VFL umpire for years. Said he'd never go back and he didn't.
How may on the current mob do you think are working class individuals???

Anyway, I'm actually not disagreeing with you. What you posted is absolutely legitimate and also a problem, but the issues you see at a grass roots level aren't the only cause of the problem.

It shouldn't surprise anyone that a group lawyers and solicitors have over time changed the laws and culture of the game to prevent accountability or scrutiny on themselves. That is precisely what legal culture is..
Have you actually thought players don’t want to umpire and my guess it isn’t because it’s some elite culture. And as if they don’t scrutinise themselves. They are most scrutinised people in the industry either by the public or their coaches. 95% of umpires are from junior ranks so forget elite culture rubbish

i think they will introduce 2 more sides, drop to a 19 round season, then introduce a wild card weekend

Introduce a Tassie team for 19 total.

1 - Everyone plays once = 18 games = 9 Home and 9 Away. Reverse the fixture each year = Fairer fixturing.
2 - With byes back on the table you can extend things out to a 22 or 23 round season = Better for players.
3 - With byes you can now increase the breaks between games and play more Thursday night games = Better for FTA
4 - You can also keep the rolling fixture and put the 'better' games in the prime time slots without forcing short breaks = Better for FTA
5 - Top 10 for finals. Single elimination. Massive for ratings.

St Kilda fixture -
Home - Away

WCE - Freo
Adel - PA
Bris - GC
Syd - GWS
Carl - Coll
Ess - Rich
Melb - WB
Haw - NM
Geel - TAS

1616886622238.png

Do we really need to go through the formality of having the season? Just give Richmond the flag now.

fair dinkum they are everything I want us to be.

If it's not us then I hope it's Port.

Rozee, Butters and Duursma will go down as one of the all time great draft nights.

Never underestimate the power of a win at the right time.

Geelong 2007 is a perfect example of this. They lost to North early and it looked for all money that they were done. Thompson was gone. Rebuild coming. Then they belted the Tiges by 500 goals and all was right with the world again.

Discussion 2021 General AFL Discussion