Discussion 2021 General AFL Discussion

Dunkley at the Dogs next year ?
Would've been fine to see him go after that trade request last year, but he's been arguably our best mid so far this year. Seems fully committed to the Dogs so I'd expect he sticks around now.
30 disposals to start the year.
Follows up with 25 disposals, 9 tackles and a goal.
Today, 33 disposals, 5 marks and a goal.

4 goals for Ben King to the 3rd quarter.

They seem like they're better at making use of his strengths than we are with Max possibly, eh?

Watching other teams kicking to forwards on leads in space, or to genuine 1-on-1s concerns me a lot.
Maybe it's a bias and I'm being overly critical of my own team, but I feel like we are just not doing the basics to a standard level in some areas.

Watching other teams kicking to forwards on leads in space, or to genuine 1-on-1s concerns me a lot.
Maybe it's a bias and I'm being overly critical of my own team, but I feel like we are just not doing the basics to a standard level in some areas.

I don't think it's the players, I think it's more of the ol Robert Eddy creeping back in and more direction instances screwing us over.

Outside of people like Gresh that is who primarily tries to hook every bloody kick for some stupid reason. That's purely on Gresh.

I don't think it's the players, I think it's more of the ol Robert Eddy creeping back in and more direction instances screwing us over.

Outside of people like Gresh that is who primarily tries to hook every bloody kick for some stupid reason. That's purely on Gresh.

Feels like game plan to me. Again as I said, maybe I'm biased and being harsher on the team because I'm invested and pay more attention, but it's just the feeling I get watching our games compared to neutral games.

Starting to look like they are showing a bit more composure as they get games into the kids. They will be great in another year or two. Nice style of fast clean but contested footy. Adelaide aren't the same easy beats they are either.

Remember , he's about 20 odd games of development ahead of Max, and thats a lot when talking about young key forwards.

They do kick to him well also. We don't give King much to work with.

Must have been hard for norf people to watch that game.
All the teams who finished around them last year playing good footy and making progress, meanwhile they look so far off it they probably bring less intensity than an intraclub. Early days I know but man that looks dire.

With the exception of 2-3 games so far, our entires to King have been fine.

When he hasn't marked them, he's brought them to ground and been vital in butler being as good as he was last year.
It's interesting with the way our forwards set up though, I noticed last week that they can look static pretty often.

4,5,6 of them standing pretty close to each other, not moving around much, just waiting for the ball to be pushed forward so someone can get on the end of some crumbs.

It could be his tank, he's still really young, but you'd reckon if it was up to Max he'd be playing a more Riewoldt-like style than he is currently, and hopefully getting more opportunities to have a run and jump at the ball

It's interesting with the way our forwards set up though, I noticed last week that they can look static pretty often.

4,5,6 of them standing pretty close to each other, not moving around much, just waiting for the ball to be pushed forward so someone can get on the end of some crumbs.

It could be his tank, he's still really young, but you'd reckon if it was up to Max he'd be playing a more Riewoldt-like style than he is currently, and hopefully getting more opportunities to have a run and jump at the ball
I don't think our forward line last week was reflective of how we've played under Ratten.

We played a fairly open forward line last year with heaps of space for our players to run into. And it was fairly open against GWS too - typically pushed every up expect 1 or 2 players then had everyone run back once we got the ball so there was always someone to run onto the ball to take the shot.

I don't think our forward line last week was reflective of how we've played under Ratten.

We played a fairly open forward line last year with heaps of space for our players to run into. And it was fairly open against GWS too - typically pushed every up expect 1 or 2 players then had everyone run back once we got the ball so there was always someone to run onto the ball to take the shot.
Teams caught onto that eventually though right, they just leave a few defenders back and maybe a ruckman to intercept the ball.

That's why we don't see Butler running into an empty 50 and kicking 2 or 3 goals a game very often these days

The forwards should be making the space for each other with lots of leading, surely

Teams caught onto that eventually though right, they just leave a few defenders back and maybe a ruckman to intercept the ball.

That's why we don't see Butler running into an empty 50 and kicking 2 or 3 goals a game very often these days

The forwards should be making the space for each other with lots of leading, surely
It mainly hurt us last year against 3 of the best defenders in the comp - Harris Andrews, Steven May and Jeremy McGovern. Otherwise, our style stacked up and we continually managed a lot of shots on goal.

It does need improved though judging by how we crumbled against May last week. But maybe that would be better with decent forwards in Marshall/Ryder rather than McKernan/Hunter up forward who weren't offering anything.

I think Tex is imagining he’s playing us every week, hence why he’s doing so bloody well.

I think this new style of game just suits him. Must be nice to have a midfield that has the ability to deliver the ball to forwards who can take marks and kick goals.

Oh and Mowman you asked me before why I don’t like Bailey smith? It’s been said but Countless times I’ve seen him go and be a smart arse like tonight when Bruce took the mark in the last qtr or last year when he kicked a goal and went up to Patrick Cripps and gave him shit early in the game (before they were pumped by 53 points)

I’ve never liked that type of shit. I hate it when our players do it too. It’s ugly look for the game.

Would I have him at our club? **** yes, I probably would’ve hated Milney if he didn’t play for us. (Not comparing him to milney btw just making a point) but I won’t deny he’s a great footballer and top five in that draft.

But I still think Connor Rozee and Sam Walsh are better . And the kings are better than both of them. That’s my top five.
Max, Ben, Rozee, Walsh, Smith

Discussion 2021 General AFL Discussion