T20I 2021 ICC Men's T20 World Cup - Non-Australia games

Dec 21, 2012
Chelsea, Redbacks, Adelaide United
Better than picking Henriques at least

I'm not against picking Inglis at all just if he went on that Windies/Bangladesh tour then in all likelihood he wouldn't have made runs because they were playing on shocking wickets, whilst if say Carey was knocking out runs for Sussex on reasonable english pitches then chances are he gets picked.

Carey is awful hopefully this means he won’t be near a test side for good

magpiemaniac44

Aug 19, 2020
San Antonio, Melbourne Stars
Carey is awful hopefully this means he won’t be near a test side for good
He's a gun ODI player, and was captain last tour so CA definitely still rate him in that format. Really who knows what gonna happen until Paine retires

Dec 21, 2012
Chelsea, Redbacks, Adelaide United

BGman

Jun 20, 2018
Dragons, Blues, Tassie Tigers
CA has picked our World Cup squad and to me it is again a case of 'jobs for the boys'.. Wade, Stoinis, Maxwell and Starc. Mostly failures in past major white ball campaigns. Yeh CA reward mediocrity. This lot wont do any better than our Bs have done. tho Smith will add the stability that was missing in two warm up series. Glad Inglis finally gets an international gig but picked only as Wade's back up. And how did Wade go in past 8/9 games.. no better than the blokes sacked. Inglis is a better keeper and a more explosive batsman and if he gets game time I can see him knocking Wade off the top spot behind the stumps. What is this new CA buzzword.. traveleling reserves. All 18 should get game time on a rotation basis not have to wait for an injury or form loss.

Our Test bowlers chosen yet again with Kane Richardson as the sole specialist death overs bowler with Tye dropped while two others.. Ellis and Sams sit on the bench when they need to be playing early matches to stake a claim for the business end of the tournament. How did Jhye Richardson not make the cut?

Australia's T20 World Cup squad: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins (vc), Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa. Traveling reserves: Dan Christian, Nathan Ellis, Daniel Sams

Pippen94

Jun 12, 2019
CA has picked our World Cup squad and to me it is again a case of 'jobs for the boys'.. Wade, Stoinis and Maxwell and Starc. Mostly failures in past major white ball campaigns. Yeh CA reward mediocrity. This lot wont do any better than our Bs have done. Good to have Smith there.. but no Labs. Great Inglis finally gets an international gig but picked only as Wade's back up. And how did Wade go in recent series.. no better than the blokes sacked. Inglis is a better keeper and a more explosive batsman and if he gets game time I can see him knocking Wade for six and taking top spot behind the stumps. What is this new CA buzzword.. traveleling reserves. All 18 should get game time not have to wait for an injury or form loss.

Our Test bowlers chosen yet again while Kane Richo is the sole specialist death overs bowler while two others.. Ellis and Sams sit on the bench when they need to be playing early matches to stake a claim for the business end of the tournament. How did Jhye Richardson not make the cut?

Can't let this stand;
Starc 49 wickets @ 14 odi WC
15 @ 20 t20 wc

BGman

Jun 20, 2018
Can't let this stand;
Starc 49 wickets @ 14 odi WC
15 @ 20 t20 wc
Yeh I concede he does have a decent WC record. Perhaps a bit of bias with him as I reckon he is past it in all formats and I'm not the only one. He didn't exactly set world on fire in his two Bangla games in similar conditions he'd find in UAE. His good mate Josh Hazlewood out bowled him. And why did Starc miss three matches.. injured no form loss I'm betting. He used to be able to leave his foot on the throat of white ball cricket.. specially in the death overs.. not any more.

corbies

Jul 31, 2010
S'roos, New Jets, Cronulla
In Asia will play more spinners
The comp is in the UAE. In the 2020 IPL held in the UAE the top 4 leading wicket takers were pace bowlers (Bumrah, Rabada, Boult, Nortje) and the player of the tournament in Archer was another pace bowler. I'd say we'd likely play 2 spinners in Agar and Zampa. Maxwell too I suppose if we need more.

Jan 13, 2015
Gone from the West Indies and Bangladesh debacles are:

Henriques (only one here with test experience)
McDermott
Phillippe
Turner
Carey
Christian
W.Agar
Behrendorf
Tye
Meredith
Ellis
Sangha

Only Finch, Marsh, Wade, A.Agar, Zampa, Swepson, Hazlewood, Starc survived.

Warner, Smith, Maxwell, Stoinis, Cummins & K.Richardson were always walking back in.

Inglis - could be a sign of things to come.

With 20/20 very much hit & miss anything could still happen, but at least we gives ourselves a chance with our best players selected.

Jan 13, 2015
best XI from the 15 ?

Warner
Finch
Smith
Maxwell
M.Marsh
Stoinis
Wade
Inglis
A.Agar
Cummins
Starc
K.Richardson
Zampa
Swepson
Hazlewood

For me Inglis & Swepson look to be reserves.

Hazlewood & K.Richardson look to be fighting for 1 spot.

If Agar plays as a #7 , it means 1 of the batting allrounders will miss out.

magpiemaniac44

Aug 19, 2020
San Antonio, Melbourne Stars
best XI from the 15 ?

Warner
Finch
Smith
Maxwell
M.Marsh
Stoinis
Wade
Inglis
A.Agar
Cummins
Starc
K.Richardson
Zampa
Swepson
Hazlewood

For me Inglis & Swepson look to be reserves.

Hazlewood & K.Richardson look to be fighting for 1 spot.

If Agar plays as a #7 , it means 1 of the batting allrounders will miss out.
I think Agar will bat at #8, and Marsh, Stoinis and Maxi will make up at least 4 overs

Nuggetz

Jan 4, 2021
I guess that means we're looking at something like this as the XI:

Finch
Warner
Smith
Maxwell
M Marsh
Wade/Inglis
Agar/Stoinis
Cummins
Starc
H'wood/KRicho/Swepson
Zampa

Finch
Warner
Smith
Maxwell
M Marsh
Inglis
Stoinis
Cummins
Starc
Agar
Zampa

I'd be tempted to play Marsh at 3 since he's done well at that position and have smith at 4/5, guess it depends on how they perform in the ipl too. Zampa/Agar/Maxy/Starc/Cummins/Marsh/Stoinis, should be able to get decent 20 overs from those options.

BGman

Jun 20, 2018
McDermott
Labuchagne
Inglis
A Agar
Green
Pucovski
Phillippe
Turner
J Richardson
W.Agar
Ellis
Swepson
Sangha
[/QUOTE]
I expect all those above to form the bulk of our next gen white ball squad. Only need one more pace all rounder and a specialist quick. Mac, Flip and Turner, specially, will be embarrassed by their effort in past two international T20 series and will be working off their bums to lift their games. Two others we can look at are Tassie based pair Mac Wright and Tim David.

Franco Vazquez

Jan 11, 2021
McDermott
Labuchagne
Inglis
A Agar
Green
Pucovski
Phillippe
Turner
J Richardson
W.Agar
Ellis
Swepson
Sangha
I expect all those above to form the bulk of our next gen white ball squad. Only need one more pace all rounder and a specialist quick. Mac, Flip and Turner, specially, will be embarrassed by their effort in past two international T20 series and will be working off their bums to lift their games. Two others we can look at are Tassie based pair Mac Wright and Tim David.
[/QUOTE]

I don't know why would you ignore David.

BGman

Jun 20, 2018
Two others we can look at are Tassie based pair Mac Wright and Tim David.
I am not ignoring him? I'd have David over Turner to be honest. Wright can double up with his leg spin if need be. Let us hope CA dont ignore these two for much longer.

Who is our next specialist quick. Along lines of Kane Richo, Cutting and Tye.

corbies

Jul 31, 2010
S'roos, New Jets, Cronulla
NZ 2nds have been bowled out for 60 in their first T20 in Bangladesh. Just for a comparison to Australia's performance with their side in Bangladesh.