List Mgmt. 2021 List Management

It was a one-off for last year. You used to have to delist and re-draft.

Interestingly, you can now make that change after the ND, but prior to the rookie draft, which doesn't make a lot of sense, but would mean you could get to 38 on the senior list, then move 1 or 2 contracted players to the Rookie List for salary cap purposes.
Seems a little silly in reverting back to something that’s inevitable anyway, why not just keep it as it is, it’s a lot more simpler…
Cheers anyway 👍

Surprised about Gibbons...we are light on for small half forward types.

He seemed quite a good shot for goal and I remember him kicking some good crafty, crumbing goals including snaps off his opposite foot and ones where he does a bit of a dummy. We don't have many players who can do that.

I understand it if we saw him as a mid since we are quite stacked there now he wouldn't get a spot, but thought he has potential as a forward in a new system.

He seemed quite a good shot for goal and I remember him kicking some good crafty, crumbing goals including snaps off his opposite foot and ones where he does a bit of a dummy. We don't have many players who can do that.

I understand it if we saw him as a mid since we are quite stacked there now he wouldn't get a spot, but thought he has potential as a forward in a new system.

Don't think Gibbo was delisted through a lack of talent...
He succumb to being OOC at the wrong time and our lack of available list spots

Seeing Gibbons delisted made me wonder what would happen if he had been contracted until next year. But looking at next year's OOC, I think he still would have been under pressure to retain his spot. Not that there aren't a number next year who will be under pressure

Paddy Dow
7. Matthew Kennedy (2nd Year Rookie)
8. Lachie Fogarty ?
Liam Stocker
14. Liam Jones
16. Jack Carroll ?
Sam Walsh
22. Caleb Marchbank
28. David Cuningham
29. Corey Durdin ?
Tom Williamson
35. Ed Curnow
36. Josh Honey (3rd yr rookie)
43. Will Setterfield

One big weakness of our team that really annoys me is we seem to have a lot of forwards who can't kick goals from 50m out.

None of Fisher, Fogarty, Owies and last year Betts can kick goals from a set shot if the man on the mark is 40m out. It really does cost us when shots from that range aren't legitimate goal-scoring opportunities, whereas you see some other small forwards like Papley and Charlie Cameron kick goals from outside 50m regularly.

Agreed. Part of what made Fevola so special was his ability to consistently kick goals from 55m out. Stopping someone from taking marks on the 50m is very difficult compared to 40m out because there is so much more space.

If we had more players who could kick like Newman, Saad and Boyd that would make it much easier to score.

Agreed. Part of what made Fevola so special was his ability to consistently kick goals from 55m out. Stopping someone from taking marks on the 50m is very difficult compared to 40m out because there is so much more space.

If we had more players who could kick like Newman, Saad and Boyd that would make it much easier to score.

bit cruel using fev as a comparison - I still get the gasps watching the accuracy of his long shots for goal - no better example than this happy little game - watch this and don't get goosebumps..........

also at 1.04 the single worst example of the newly introduced hands in the back rule I ever saw........

bit cruel using fev as a comparison - I still get the gasps watching the accuracy of his long shots for goal - no better example than this happy little game - watch this and don't get goosebumps..........

also at 1.04 the single worst example of the newly introduced hands in the back rule I ever saw........

An extraordinary display of goal kicking that day. His goal from the boundary against Adelaide still goes down as the best set shot for goal one could imagine.

The first goal to Lovett from the umpire calling no 15m from the kick-out was just as terrible.

An extraordinary display of goal kicking that day. His goal from the boundary against Adelaide still goes down as the best set shot for goal one could imagine.

The first goal to Lovett from the umpire calling no 15m from the kick-out was just as terrible.
what about hoops at full pace, wrong footed landing it like a butterfly in fev's hands across 50 metres? fev said he loved it best when it was delivered by 33 - very nearly crashed the car listening to the adelaide goal in 2004.........

Seeing Gibbons delisted made me wonder what would happen if he had been contracted until next year. But looking at next year's OOC, I think he still would have been under pressure to retain his spot. Not that there aren't a number next year who will be under pressure

Paddy Dow
7. Matthew Kennedy (2nd Year Rookie)
8. Lachie Fogarty ?
Liam Stocker
14. Liam Jones
16. Jack Carroll ?
Sam Walsh
22. Caleb Marchbank
28. David Cuningham
29. Corey Durdin ?
Tom Williamson
35. Ed Curnow
36. Josh Honey (3rd yr rookie)
43. Will Setterfield
Priorities ...
Walsh

Stocker
Honey
Jones
The rest would want to show improvement.

Well, the rookie list is a bit of joke now anyway. It is completely removed from how it was intended, and now essentially serves as a way to save a little bit of salary cap space, and to have a lesser commitment to the 4-6 players on the list.

As for who the new rule sucks for, it's not the Kennedy type of player (who was advantaged by the 1 off change last year), it would be more the LOB type, a player who could possibly get squeezed off the senior list due to list space, but retained on the rookie list.

However, I'm not sure that the new rule will make a big practical change, perhaps just a little less certainty prior to the draft?
I just think if a club has a mature aged player on their rookie list, who has previously been on the senior list, then they should at least be able to Guarantee a contract or a delisting PRIOR to the ND so that player has a chance to get picked up by another club.
A 4th year should only apply to players who were drafted as true rookies.

AFL is absolutely spineless at allowing clubs to rort every rule.

One big weakness of our team that really annoys me is we seem to have a lot of forwards who can't kick goals from 50m out.

None of Fisher, Fogarty, Owies and last year Betts can kick goals from a set shot if the man on the mark is 40m out. It really does cost us when shots from that range aren't legitimate goal-scoring opportunities, whereas you see some other small forwards like Papley and Charlie Cameron kick goals from outside 50m regularly.
Not sure what happened to Fisher - injuries? I seem to remember he was a pretty big kick in 2019

Accidentally landed on GuesSEN. Freakishly, no inane blathering from Frank Walker, no betting promotions and no coverage of non-sports ie tennis, golf, soccer. Just an interview with Nick Austin who suggests we have pretty much put the cue in the rack this trade period.

I know a lot on this board don't like him for his poor off field behavior (I largely think this is because of his immaturity and not being the sharpest tool) but Fev will always be my favorite Blue of all time. As a child of the 70s it was Jezza, then in the 80/90s it was Big Sticks, but when Fev came on in his first game and kicked 12, I was sold.

Never was I so excited at games because we were always a chance with Fev, and he was a pure excitement machine during a bleak period.
Absolute gun forward, would love to see Harry to fire up and turn it on like Fev did.

I just think if a club has a mature aged player on their rookie list, who has previously been on the senior list, then they should at least be able to Guarantee a contract or a delisting PRIOR to the ND so that player has a chance to get picked up by another club.
A 4th year should only apply to players who were drafted as true rookies.

AFL is absolutely spineless at allowing clubs to rort every rule.
They need to just get rid of the rookie draft and make the 5th round 1 year contracts. If you don't want to give a low draft pick a 2 year deal you just need to pass and come back in the 5th round. It is a stupid system at the moment. No discounts to salary cap for rookies.

With the news that a few players have taken pay cuts to accommodate Cerra, a few people started talking about McGoverns contract on the blumour board.
Although he has been very underwhelming so far I am actually really excited for MM, Harry M and Charlie to all line up in round one. If we can keep all three on the park with some of our developing small forwards I can see our forward line being awesome next year.

I know a lot on this board don't like him for his poor off field behavior (I largely think this is because of his immaturity and not being the sharpest tool) but Fev will always be my favorite Blue of all time. As a child of the 70s it was Jezza, then in the 80/90s it was Big Sticks, but when Fev came on in his first game and kicked 12, I was sold.

Never was I so excited at games because we were always a chance with Fev, and he was a pure excitement machine during a bleak period.
Absolute gun forward, would love to see Harry to fire up and turn it on like Fev did.
Nothing much better than the crowd responding to Fev putting on a show, kicking bags against Essendon and Collingwood in front of 85,000+ people. Great days.

I'd love to have that same feeling of inevitability that good things were going to happen whenever the ball is kicked in the area of Harry. Would like to see him spend less effort playing for free kicks and more effort in ruthlessly attacking the footy.

I remember going to one of those kids clinics the club puts on with the players back in around 2007 with my 3 kids. Freezing cold mid-winter morning on the oval outside Princes Park and Fev was doing sprints off to the side as he was coming back from a hammie I think so not involved in the clinic.

He came off the oval and was swarmed for autographs, like 10 people deep. I kept looking back at him throughout the whole clinic and he stayed the whole time, signing autographs. Must’ve been there for well over 2 hours in the freezing cold.

Like a mate of mine used to say, he was a d***head, but he was our d***head.

I disagree. Him v owies v fog and we have good medium Hff in Jsos and Martin. Tough but fair.

I'm probably one who is not surprised about Gibbon's delisting. I thought he showed a bit in the forward pocket however he's very much a makeshift small forward and now we have a few genuine ones coming on he's outside of the best 22. I think it's a good sign the list is improving when you are delisting blokes who can play a bit and Gibbons can but quality wise, we are probably in trouble if we can't find better players in the small forward positions.

Durdin and Honey are locks in our best 22 team and I think Owies is going to be another and there will be options like Carroll who will be able to step in that role if need be.

Have to say that I did not see gibbons being cut.

Yeah it was a tough call, probably down to as much bad luck and circumstance as much anything.
It could have just as easily been Owies with the hammy, Gibbons playing and Owies goes.

Nothing much better than the crowd responding to Fev putting on a show, kicking bags against Essendon and Collingwood in front of 85,000+ people. Great days.

I'd love to have that same feeling of inevitability that good things were going to happen whenever the ball is kicked in the area of Harry. Would like to see him spend less effort playing for free kicks and more effort in ruthlessly attacking the footy.
Yes and he's not the only one. I wish they'd just get on with it.

List Mgmt. 2021 List Management