Banter 2021 Off-Topic Chat Thread

So relatively California with 60,000 deaths we would of had 9000.
Not remotely realistic considering population density and health care systems borders.
But mathematically we could say that.
But we could say about 80% of people that died here were in aged care, 46,000 Victorians are in aged care do you think it would be realistic after lets just say 2000 lol died noone would take any measures in the aged care system?
Would that really happen?

Then you've got to consider that California actually had lockdowns?
Dunno. Someone's just going to have to make up a number.

I'm not sure what you are trying to say? That we wait until we get 2,000 deaths in aged care and then bring some measures in? Or just lockdown the aged care sector and it's a free for all with everyone else? You do realise that the people that work in aged care have lives as well outisde their work?

Who know's what the actual number would have been but it would have been far higher than what we've experienced. Surely you concede that?

I'm not sure what you are trying to say? That we wait until we get 2,000 deaths in aged care and then bring some measures in? Or just lockdown the aged care sector and it's a free for all with everyone else? You do realise that the people that work in aged care have lives as well outisde their work?

Who know's what the actual number would have been but it would have been far higher than what we've experienced. Surely you concede that?
No I was saying that's not realistic. Obviously preventative measures would be made in the system far, far before that.
But let's say no measures whatsoever were taken? In a country like Australia!
Mathematically if 46,000 are in aged care then who knows? A lot.
If the government did hotel quarantine properly, the aged care system wasn't rooted and rorted for profit, aged care workers were paid fairly and well for sacrifices they had to make, the vulnerable were protected.
No I don't think far higher at all.
Most small businesses could of carried on , arts and music would not have had to be destroyed, school could have kept going, people could of got to see dying relatives before they passed away, people could have gone to funerals and the mental health toll could have been greatly relieved.
Yeah we may not of all got to go to the footy and we miss out on the tennis. But oh well.
And what have we learnt?????
Aged care system is still rooted and rorted for profit, workers aren't paid properly, quarantine workers not even close to being paid properly and all under private contacts.
Tangibly zero done about hotel quarantine.
More lockdowns. We either don't learn or don't want to learn.
And people praise the government's here.

No I was saying that's not realistic. Obviously preventative measures would be made in the system far, far before that.
But let's say no measures whatsoever were taken? In a country like Australia!
But mathematically if 46,000 are in aged care then who knows? A lot.
If the government did hotel quarantine properly, the aged care system wasn't rooted, aged care workers were paid fairly and well for sacrifices they had to make, the vulnerable were protected.
No I don't think far higher at all.

So what preventative measures are you advocating? You inferred that you were against lockdowns.

For starters give the aged proper care they deserve, if that means less profits for owners of aged care facilities. So be it.
It should not be about profit.
Especially now.
And if people have to get tested everyday before they work there or visit. Its the way it has to be.
Same with private companies running hotel quarantine and paying people f**k all.
Not much incentive to be a hero.

Not sure which media outlet it was that earlier today posed the question, "do we need a nation wide lockdown" - duck that, it wasn't asked during any of Vic's lockdown times, but now NSW is in the shits, it's all about suggesting country wide solutions

For starters give the aged proper care they deserve, if that means less profits for owners of aged care facilities. So be it.
It should not be about profit.
Especially now.
And if people have to get tested everyday before they work there or visit. Its the way it has to be.
Same with private companies running hotel quarantine and paying people f**k all.
Not much incentive to be a hero.

I'm not sure those measures, as desirable as they are, would alone prevent mass infection of Covid. For starters, our hotels aren't purpose built to house infected patients. We need dedicated quarantine stations out of the city areas.

As for aged care - couldn't agree more re private operators - they are a scourge. For sure better practices are/were needed and I think are largely and fortunately now in place. But I don't think you can isolate these people in aged care indefinitely. They need to be vaccinated asap. Everyone does.

This Delta strain is finding it's way to those that are better hosts to spread more quickly i.e. children. If you take the emotion etc out of it, these viruses are bloody impressive the way they mutate/evolve to stay around.

What about New Zealand? Do they have less than us?
Their government is an absolute disgrace.
What does she do all day?? Play candy crush?
Terrible.
Well busy implementing the ute tax on farmers for not choosing electric options that by the way don't exist.Cost somewhere between 3 and 5 thousand bucks.

And the new hate speech laws .
Insulting words 3 years jail.
Just for comparison.
Assaulting a child 2 years.
Male assaulting a female 2 years.

I remember my dad saying, as he got older, that he no longer understood the world around him.

Now I've just heard that parents are being urged to 'ask for permission' before changing their child's nappy.

I've become my father. I'm lost.
It’s insane. How these idiots didn’t get laughed out of wherever it was when they made this statement, is beyond me. Give these do-gooders an inch, and they’ll take a mile. They are emboldened by even being listened too.

Well busy implementing the ute tax on farmers for not choosing electric options that by the way don't exist.Cost somewhere between 3 and 5 thousand bucks.

And the new hate speech laws .
Insulting words 3 years jail.
Just for comparison.
Assaulting a child 2 years.
Male assaulting a female 2 years.
Good to see the extra important things are covered.
Can't afford to rent a house there or anything but at least the electric Ute's are covered

It’s insane. How these idiots didn’t get laughed out of wherever it was when they made this statement, is beyond me. Give these do-gooders an inch, and they’ll take a mile. They are emboldened by even being listened too.

They want parents to ask their baby's permission, and also warn them before washing their face.

The world has gone bloody mad, and like you say, there's just enough idiots in the world to encourage them.

Not sure which media outlet it was that earlier today posed the question, "do we need a nation wide lockdown" - duck that, it wasn't asked during any of Vic's lockdown times, but now NSW is in the shits, it's all about suggesting country wide solutions
I recall that being a big talking point in India about 6-7 weeks ago, but I’m with you, that would be an overstep for us in my view.....Put faith in the elected state government’s to do their job, Gladys has been openly critical of the Victorian government’s handling of COVID (seemingly brushing over the complete failure of the Ruby Princess) & now is their time to handle an outbreak, we’ll see how it unfolds. I will happily put it out there that I’m a Labor voter with a union background, but I certainly hope for the NSW government to get it under control, as people’s lives are more important than political bias.

WTF...

A travel company has been fined thousands of dollars after three busloads of tourists turned up at a zoo in regional NSW, in breach of health orders.

When the buses - with 128 guests and staff onboard - arrived at Taronga Western Plains Zoo in Dubbo yesterday, staff called NSW Police.

Police said at least 76 people on board were not supposed to leave Greater Sydney under the current health orders.

The group had left Sydney last Friday, hours before the initial lockdown of four LGAs in the city and east, and continued to travel through regional NSW after the Public Health Orders were updated on Saturday.

When the guests started to check-in at the zoo, staff realised some had been in the Greater Sydney area on or after June 21.

"In discussions prior to their arrival, Taronga had received assurances from the group that they were compliant with NSW Public Health Orders, however at the point of check-in it was revealed that the group had in fact visited the Greater Sydney area," a statement from Taronga said.

The guests were told to go home immediately, and the tour company was fined $5000.

The company owner told police he was aware of the public health orders but decided to continue the tour as planned anyway, NSW Police Deputy Commissioner Gary Worboys said today.

$5000 fine isn't sufficient - the company owner knew exactly what they were and didn't give a shit it was against the current orders. The fact that they would have made more than $5000 is why they went ahead and didn't care about such a shit fine

What’s happened lol?
I hit post instead of scrolling, lol

Added the story, but more shit in NSW with a tour company deciding it was a good idea to continue a tour of regional NSW even after stay at home orders came in

I remember my dad saying, as he got older, that he no longer understood the world around him.

Now I've just heard that parents are being urged to 'ask for permission' before changing their child's nappy.

I've become my father. I'm lost.
If you read news dot com dot au as a satire site it makes sense.

I recall that being a big talking point in India about 6-7 weeks ago, but I’m with you, that would be an overstep for us in my view.....Put faith in the elected state government’s to do their job, Gladys has been openly critical of the Victorian government’s handling of COVID (seemingly brushing over the complete failure of the Ruby Princess) & now is their time to handle an outbreak, we’ll see how it unfolds. I will happily put it out there that I’m a Labor voter with a union background, but I certainly hope for the NSW government to get it under control, as people’s lives are more important than political bias.

I don't know anyone who disagrees with the bolded - though I feel more sorry for the folks in NSW than I do Gladys who I don't think has always helped things

The most frustrating thing about what's happening now and recently with the Melbourne/Vic lockdown is that the mistakes/errors made in other states surely shouldn't have happened if they paid any attention to the shit Melbourne has been in over the past 12 months or at the very least their own shit and learnt from it

- SA Health (or whoever) deciding that the roommate of a positive case in hotel quarantine wasn't enough of "close contact" to also be transferred to a medi-hotel... Do you need to be intimate partners before being considered a close contact

- NSW recommending but not mandating PPE & vaccines for transport workers of those going to hotel quarantine... Didn't they have the same issue last year with a driver testing positive but luckily not spreading it, seems like lesson not leant

- also in NSW, haven't they had the most or equal most breaches of hotel quarantine, but maybe until now it's been more dumb luck than anything else that it really hasn't spread from those breaches... A taxi/uber driver working for potentially 10 days while infectious but no passengers catching it from him, but here we have someone working & walking around for up to 10 days while infectious and we saw what happened

- then in Qld they have a nurse working outside the covid ward and as such she doesn't need to be vaccinated but if she was working through the doors than she would need to have been. That I find confusing as it's like 5/10m difference between vaccinated or not

- also in Qld they had domestic travelers in the same hotels as international quarantine travels, and that's led to cases in the NT and their lockdown

I feel sorry for those in WA & NT who are under lockdown situations not because of issues with their governments actions around quarantine, but because of what's happened in other states and come in with domestic travelers. It's the same situation as to what led to the last lockdown here

Vic ****ed up enough last year that the other states and territories really should have learnt from our mistakes/issues/screw ups that we really shouldn't be seeing them make the same screw ups 12 months on

Has it?

I see little tv.

As I'm now working odd morning start times I do turn on Sunrise in the morning just so I can keep an eye on clock in the corner - sometimes I pay attention to what's said, most of the time I try to ignore it