BigFooty Official 2021 OFFICIAL BIGFOOTY PHANTOM DRAFT

PICKS AND ORDER
Nov 7, 2017
GWS
Manchester City, Collingwood AFLW
IF YOU WANT TO READ THROUGH THE THREAD AND ONLY SEE THE SELECTIONS RATHER THAN COMMENTARY FROM NON-DRAFTERS, CLICK 'READER MODE' NEXT TO YOUR 'WATCH' BUTTON

Pick 1 - North Melbourne - Jason Horne-Francis
Pick 2 - Western Bulldogs MATCHED BID - Sam Darcy
Pick 3 - Collingwood MATCHED BID - Nick Daicos
Pick 4 - GWS - Josh Gibcus
Pick 5 - Gold Coast Suns - Neil Erasmus
Pick 6 - Adelaide - Finn Callaghan
Pick 7 - Hawthorn - Ben Hobbs
Pick 8 - Fremantle - Josh Rachele
Pick 9 - Richmond - Josh Ward
Pick 10 - Fremantle - Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera
Pick 11 - St Kilda - Matthew Johnson
Pick 12 - West Coast - Josh Goater
Pick 13 - Essendon - Tyler Sonsie
Pick 14 - Port Adelaide - Josh Sinn
Pick 15 - GWS - Mac Andrew
Pick 16 - Brisbane - Jye Amiss
Pick 17 - Richmond - Jacob Van Rooyen
Pick 18 - Sydney - Darcy Wilmot
Pick 19 - Melbourne - Campbell Chesser
Pick 20 - Brisbane - Mitch Owens

Pick 21 - Fremantle - Mitch Knevitt

Pick 22 - North Melbourne - Tom Brown
Pick 23 - Hawthorn - Rhett Bazzo
Pick 24 - GWS Giants MATCHED BID - Josh Fahey
Pick 25 - Geelong - Arlo Draper
Pick 26 - Hawthorn - Conor Macdonald
Pick 27 - Carlton - Angus Sheldrick
Pick 28 - Richmond - Zac Taylor
Pick 29 - Richmond - Cooper Murley

Pick 30 - Richmond - Blake Howes
Pick 31 - West Coast Eagles - Toby Conway
Pick 32 - Geelong - Sam Butler
Pick 33 - Sydney - Ned Long
Pick 34 - Geelong - Leek Alleer
Pick 35 - Adelaide - Matty Roberts
Pick 36 - Geelong - Brady Hough
Pick 37 - West Coast Eagles - Jesse Motlop

Pick 38 - Melbourne - Judson Clarke
Pick 39 - Sydney - Paul Curtis

Pick 40 - Brisbane - Alastair Lord
Pick 41 - North Melbourne - Jack Williams
Pick 42 - North Melbourne - Arthur Jones
Pick 43 - Melbourne - Charlie Molan
Pick 44 - Collingwood - Kai Lohmann
Pick 45 - Geelong - Kade Dittmar
Pick 46 - Essendon - Shay Linke
Pick 47 - Brisbane - Hugh Jackson
Pick 48 - Collingwood - Taj Woewodin
Pick 49 - Essendon - Corey Warner
Pick 50 - Melbourne - Youseph Dib
Pick 51 - Collingwood - Lachlan Rankin

Pick 52 - Hawthorn - Joshua Browne
Pick 53 - Brisbane - Miller Bergman
Pick 54 - Fremantle - Anthony Caminiti
Pick 55 - St Kilda - Bailey Rogers
Pick 56 - Port Adelaide - Sam Breuer
Pick 57 - Carlton - Luke Polson
Pick 58 - Western Bulldogs (Darcy bid residual points) - Morgan Ferres
Pick 59 - Hawthorn - Jake Soligo
Pick 60 - St Kilda - Jack Avery
Pick 61 - St Kilda - Charlie Dean
Pick 62 - West Coast - James Tunstill
Pick 63 - Fremantle - Eric Benning
Pick 64 - Sydney - Justin Davies
Pick 65 - North Melbourne - Sam Banks
Pick 66 - Port Adelaide - Harvey Harrison
Pick 67 - Port Adelaide - Oscar Adams
Pick 68 - Adelaide - Jordan Lukac
Pick 69 - Brisbane - Marcus Windhager

(Selections to meet minimum of 3 criteria) note: this is for the phantom only, in the real draft rookie upgrades and such will happen to meet the minimum criteria

Pick 70 - Gold Coast Suns - Jase Burgoyne
Pick 71 - Carlton - Isaac Birt
Pick 72 - Gold Coast Suns - Ethan Regan
Pick 73 - Western Bulldogs (Darcy bid residual pick) - Luke Nankervis
Pick 74 - Western Bulldogs (Darcy bid residual pick) - Hugh Stagg
Pick 75 - Western Bulldogs (Darcy bid residual pick) - Dante Visentini
Pick 78 - GWS (list spots left after Fahey bid) - Ronald Fejo Jnr

Rookie Draft (1 Round for fun xx)
RD Pick 1 - North Melbourne - Jahmal Stretch
RD Pick 2 - Collingwood - Lukas Cooke
RD Pick 3 - Gold Coast Suns - Max Chipper
RD Pick 4 - Adelaide - James Willis
RD Pick 5 - Hawthorn - Toby Murray
RD Pick 6 - Carlton - Mani Liddy
RD Pick 7 - Richmond - Lewis Rayson
RD Pick 8 - Fremantle - Luca Whitelum
RD Pick 9 - St Kilda - Blake Schlensog
RD Pick 10 - West Coast Eagles - Lochie Paton
RD Pick 11 - Essendon - Dylan Landt
RD Pick 12 - Sydney
RD Pick 13 - GWS - Corey Preston
RD Pick 14 - Brisbane - Oscar Morrison
RD Pick 15 - Geelong - Kaden Harbour
RD Pick 16 - Port Adelaide - Zavier Maher
RD Pick 17 - Western Bulldogs - Zac Becker
RD Pick 18 - Melbourne - Jamieson Ballantyne

Bids in more detail
Pick 2 - GWS bid on Sam Darcy - (Requires 2014 points to match, Dogs use 23, 43, 44, 45, 52. Gain 2, 60)
Pick 3 - GWS bid on Nick Daicos - (Requires 1787 to match, Pies use 36, 38, 40, 43. Gain 3 [pretty sure this is about bang on])
Pick 24 - Geelong bid on Josh Fahey - (Requires 690 to match, GWS use 46 and 65. Gain 24. 200-odd point deficit)

Rookie Draft Pick 9 - Blake Schlensog
Sep 22, 2010
Chicago Bulls
There is still a lot of value left and I'd happily go a number of additional rounds but it's hard going past Schlensog.

Rookie draft:
#9 St Kilda - Blake Schlensog
Best position:
Key defender
Height, weight: 199cm, 99kg
Recruited from: South Fremantle
Strengths:
Versatility to impact games at either end of the field
Early reading of the ball in flight
Intercept marking
Work rate
Clean at ground level
Agility to turn on a dime and turn opponents inside-out at will
Vision
Kick placement
Competitiveness through the ruck
Rate of improvement
Weaknesses:
Consistency overhead
Older than his peers being a mature ager

Adding Schlensog along with Dean while it's a late and a rookie pick, that would make me sleep a lot better at night to have the option of either of them to pair with Howard as two AFL calibre key defenders who respectively are good enough to play in 2022 at AFL level. While Schlensog can play forward and ruck, he's by far and away best utilised in defence with how he reads it behind the ball to just about the highest level I've seen. And with that kick, and more than able defensive capabilities. With that rapid rate of improvement. I like his chances with a second shot at AFL level to make the grade.

Monocle is next.

Gratees

Jul 15, 2019
PICK 7 - Richmond Tigers - LEWIS RAYSON - 181cm 75 kg - DEF/WING

Cannot believe this kid was still here, and i was originally hoping Fejo JNR lasted till here (wishful thinking :rolleyes: damn you PMBangers).
A few good ones left on the board, and a few that came into consideration before i realised that Lewis was still available were Lochlan Paton, Noah Pegoraro, Max Walton, Karl Worner, and Mitch Cox.

But in the end i couldn't believe that Lewis was still available. He is easily in the top 5 of the entire draft crop if we were rating them on disposal efficiency and foot skills.
He is also very agile and quick, and his production numbers are outstanding.
He has a very small gap between his low numbers and high numbers as his output is a model of consistency. He never dipped below 20 disposals and averaged 26.7 disposals, 6.6 marks and 4.7 inside 50s in 14 Under 18 matches, as well as holding his own in 2 reserves matches this year.
He is a very good decision maker and intercept marker as well as displaying his leadership qualities throughout every match he plays in.
He was named in the best for SA in both matches against WA, the second of which, he captained the side due to JHF playing in the league Prelim for South Adelaide.
He is a meters gained type of player using his speedy dash from the back-line and exceptional disposal skills to deliver the ball forward with surgeon like passes or a beautiful long bomb that hits its target out in front.

Fremantle is up next with Chris25
Lewis Rayson.png

Rookie Draft Pick 10 - Lochie Paton
Rookie Draft.

Pick 10. West Coast. Lochlan Paton. 182cm 75kg. Midfielder . West Perth.

download-12.jpg

Patton has been a consistently, high possession winning player in the WAFL Colts this year.
He is a player that works best in congestion and has a hunger for the contest.

He does have a tendency, at time, to be a touch over zealous with the physical side of the game, but that's not a concern for me as, I always believe, as a Coach, it's a lot easier to turn a players intensity down, than it is to turn it up.

Paton was asked to play more half forward than pure midfield for WA in the games against SA, where he was a handy avenue to goal.

A nice feature of his game are his pressure acts and in particular his tackling, he has a couple of high tackle games in the Colts one game with 12 tackles and another game with 9 tackles.

He is taken this late as he has quite a few thing in his game to work on , however I have seen enough of what I like in his game to select him.

Paton would brings a hardness to a West Coast list thats not flush with that quality and he has also shown to be a hard worker in the games I have seen him play in.

If a kid has a good work ethic, a hunger for the game and the contest, I am happy to give them the opportunity to show what they have got.
Whist I don't know him personally, I have heard from those closer to West Perth, that he is good kid and very coachable.

foj1 You are up.

The Kings Ransom

Aug 30, 2021
Gold Coast
Sadly in the rules that were distributed it was decided the Gold Coast Academy prospects were unavailable for selection.

Uwland would have been my second selection had he been available.

There is talk that GC will select 2 rookies from the academy and that Ned Stevens will be 1 of them ?? requirement because of the NT link.

Most suns fans on BF think that Uwhland and Bella are worth taking but potentially one misses out with the info we've heard.
Given you've seen a bit of Uwland, you must have seen a bit of Bella too.
Do you have an opinion on his prospects?

195cm, 2nd in the vertical standing jump a recent combine.
Played ok at VFL level this year.
4 games, 3 of them against AFL teams taking 5 marks and kicking 1 goal a game.

I think we can take them both if he can be listed as a cat b rookie??

Sep 22, 2010
Chicago Bulls
There is talk that GC will select 2 rookies from the academy and that Ned Stevens will be 1 of them ?? requirement because of the NT link.

Most suns fans on BF think that Uwhland and Bella are worth taking but potentially one misses out with the info we've heard.
Given you've seen a bit of Uwland, you must have seen a bit of Bella too.
Do you have an opinion on his prospects?

195cm, 2nd in the vertical standing jump a recent combine.
Played ok at VFL level this year.
4 games, 3 of them against AFL teams taking 5 marks and kicking 1 goal a game.

I think we can take them both if he can be listed as a cat b rookie??

Bella is a big boy. Strong contested mark and uses his body well. Can leap. He has played forward but not sure he has the speed/agility/ground level craft/endurance to make a great key forward for AFL purposes.

He's one as a key defender given his mix of attributes though who intrigues me with my view being with key defenders it's all about the intercepting/contested marking/aerial work/1v1 capabilities.

For mine Bella is worth a rookie spot given that potential to develop in defence, but he's one I'd only rookie given I've never seen him in defence and it's speculating that he could make that switch.

The rules with Cat B rookies have been outlined in the past as needing to play during the U19 Champs with the Gold Coast Academy kids, but with those guys not able to play, I'd need confirmation as to whether they would be eligible as Cat B rookies if overlooked as it would make sense for there to be an exemption to that rule this year.

Ysaye

Nov 10, 2005
It will be interesting to see the real draft, then post draft how many make it.

I think it is the same with the WA boys; I first counted 13 I thought that would definitely get drafted in the main draft (We have 17 in this Mock, which probably goes about 10 picks longer than the real thing) but taking a step back I know think that there are only 7 certainties to go in the main draft, and maybe even that is being generous.

Mar 13, 2008
Perth, Australia
I think it is the same with the WA boys; I first counted 13 I thought that would definitely get drafted in the main draft (We have 17 in this Mock, which probably goes about 10 picks longer than the real thing) but taking a step back I know think that there are only 7 certainties to go in the main draft, and maybe even that is being generous.

Erasmus, Johnson, Amiss, Bazzo, van Rooyen - they feel highly likely to be drafted.
Hough, Sheldrick, Williams - likely
Tunstall, Warner, Benning, Paton - chance....

Sep 12, 2013
10 min from Optus
Lakers Claremont
Erasmus, Johnson, Amiss, Bazzo, van Rooyen - they feel highly likely to be drafted.
Hough, Sheldrick, Williams - likely
Tunstall, Warner, Benning, Paton - chance....
I’d have Browne and Ditmar ahead of Tunstall and Warner plus Jones had a very good end to the year. I’d expect these 3 in the main draft

Rookie Draft Pick 11 - Dylan Landt

foj1

Oct 25, 2005
essendon
Pick 11 Dylan Landt 182cm 79 kg HB/ Wing
Glenelg

Dylan is fast, dynamic with a booming kick.
Dylan played his junior career at Calder and his offensive skills have always been there.
However he had no defensive intent and couldn’t win his own footy.
These areas have improved though he will have to apply ongoing focus in these areas.
Dylan is the prototype line breaking half back. Essendon were exposed for a lack of small attacking defenders when Hind didn’t play.
Dylan reminds me of Adam Saad in many ways.

Aug 23, 2010
Information Superhighway
Exers, Gryffindor, Rich+Ess AFLW, Tassie
Pick 11 Dylan Landt 182cm 79 kg HB/ Wing
Glenelg

Dylan is fast, dynamic with a booming kick.
Dylan played his junior career at Calder and his offensive skills have always been there.
However he had no defensive intent and couldn’t win his own footy.
These areas have improved though he will have to apply ongoing focus in these areas.
Dylan is the prototype line breaking half back. Essendon were exposed for a lack of small attacking defenders when Hind didn’t play.
Dylan reminds me of Adam Saad in many ways.

Landt was formerly part of Essendon's VFL side too.

foj1

Oct 25, 2005
essendon
Landt was formerly part of Essendon's VFL side too.
Yep he has played in the NT and then moved to Glenelg
I think he has AFL traits and I reckon he has improved his flaws enough.
He would be looked at pretty seriously I reckon by AFL teams.
If he got a chance he could play round one.

The Kings Ransom

Aug 30, 2021
Gold Coast
Bella is a big boy. Strong contested mark and uses his body well. Can leap. He has played forward but not sure he has the speed/agility/ground level craft/endurance to make a great key forward for AFL purposes.

He's one as a key defender given his mix of attributes though who intrigues me with my view being with key defenders it's all about the intercepting/contested marking/aerial work/1v1 capabilities.

For mine Bella is worth a rookie spot given that potential to develop in defence, but he's one I'd only rookie given I've never seen him in defence and it's speculating that he could make that switch.

The rules with Cat B rookies have been outlined in the past as needing to play during the U19 Champs with the Gold Coast Academy kids, but with those guys not able to play, I'd need confirmation as to whether they would be eligible as Cat B rookies if overlooked as it would make sense for there to be an exemption to that rule this year.
a bit of a write up in the courier mail
Agility 8.86
20m sprint 3.09
2km time trial 7.20

probably backs up your statement that agility when ball hits the ground is going to be the biggest issue.

straight line speed pretty good for a big fella and fits with him taking a few marks on the lead in games this year.

Rookie Draft Pick 13 - Corey Preston
Nov 7, 2017
GWS
Manchester City, Collingwood AFLW
Alright andleanback has had over 24 hours so they can make their selection when they want but we're going to get this moving again

Rookie Draft Pick 13 - Corey Preston - Eastern Ranges
181 cm 76 kg
Small Utility
Corey-Preston-VM-2-300x197.jpg

Strengths:
Kicking, Versatility, Goal Sense
Rationale: Despite picking up Fejo Jnr I think we could still do with some forward half cover in our small department as we only have Hill and Daniels currently on the list. The real big thing that's gotten Corey in my sights this year has been his versatility and ball use, able to impact in all thirds of the ground he's one that could address a few concerns over the course of his career and really be played wherever you need.

Where his best position is becomes the question, and has a different answer depending on who you ask but the people that would know best reckon long term he's a natural Small Forward. Not much else to say, I think he's a no fuss sort of player that gets it done.
Also considered: Karl Worner, Jamieson Ballantyne
ModernArtillery

Mar 26, 2017
Inner Sanctum
GBay-WSox-Bulls-Blackhawks-LSU-UNC
Alright andleanback has had over 24 hours so they can make their selection when they want but we're going to get this moving again

Rookie Draft Pick 13 - Corey Preston - Eastern Ranges
181 cm 76 kg
Small Utility
View attachment 1267849
Strengths:
Kicking, Versatility, Goal Sense
Rationale: Despite picking up Fejo Jnr I think we could still do with some forward half cover in our small department as we only have Hill and Daniels currently on the list. The real big thing that's gotten Corey in my sights this year has been his versatility and ball use, able to impact in all thirds of the ground he's one that could address a few concerns over the course of his career and really be played wherever you need.

Where his best position is becomes the question, and has a different answer depending on who you ask but the people that would know best reckon long term he's a natural Small Forward. Not much else to say, I think he's a no fuss sort of player that gets it done.
Also considered: Karl Worner, Jamieson Ballantyne
ModernArtillery
Very surprised Ballantyne did not go in the main draft and has not gone yet here in the rookie draft, im sure he will very soon.