Discussion 2021 Pre-Season Community Series

Here are all the practice match video links. It's nice to have them all in one place. Mix of full match video, by quarter, or by half.
I will update as today's videos become available.

Hawthorn vs Western Bulldogs - 1st Quarter - 2nd Quarter - 3rd Quarter - 4th Quarter (AFL Match Report)
Carlton vs Essendon - Full Match (4 videos) (AFL Match Report)
Collingwood vs Geelong - Full Match (AFL Match Report)
Melbourne vs Richmond - Full Match (4 videos) (AFL Match Report)
North Melbourne vs St.Kilda - 1st Half - 2nd Half (AFL Match Report)
Sydney vs GWS - 1st Quarter - 2nd Quarter - 3rd Quarter - 4th Quarter (AFL Match Report)
Adelaide vs Port Adelaide - 1st Quarter - 2nd Quarter - 3rd Quarter - 4th Quarter (Highlights) (AFL Match Report)
*Fremantle vs West Coast - Coming soon (Eagles Highlights) (Dockers Highlights) (AFL Match Report)
Brisbane vs Gold Coast - 1st Quarter - 2nd Quarter - 3rd Quarter - 4th Quarter (AFL Match Report)

*still waiting for match videos.

1614428467803.png

Just to put it out there:
  1. Hold fire on changes: Unless injury-forced or changes in rookies, hold off making changes until after the official hitouts;
  2. Monitor roles: Callum Mills / Duggan - they've given us reason to believe in #moremidtime, for example. Paddy Dow looked handy, but will we see him in a more marginal role in the official hitout?
  3. Think about risk: Daniher, Impey, Ziebell, Zilliams (admittedly as a premo): It looks great on paper and they've only got to give us 6-8 games to work out OK, but a rookie has to do even less (20-25pts less and they're still giving you the same cash output). So shaving one might allow you to lock in / upgrade one more topliner;
  4. Don't be too pessimistic on the rookies: Every year we stress about the impending Great Rookie Drought, every year enough get a run to allow a more G&R-ish team for those so inclined;
  5. Have a quick look at your breakdown: How many genuine keepers (top 6-8 FWDs, top 8-13 MIDs, top 2-3(?) RUC?). 13 would be impressive this year (I can't manage it), 12 seems about right, 9-10 a touch light.
  6. Think about overall trends: You'd think most MIDs aren't great value this year to start, DEFs much more so, FWDs a lucky dip / run of the injury gauntlet. RUCs likely a touch overpriced, but the top 2 are just so captainable and potentially 15-20 ahead of anyone else in the line.
  7. Start thinking about rd 1 lockouts: Hopefully sides do the right thing by us and announce the kids debuting nice and early, but be prepared for different eventualities. Watch out for strategy tidbits the top coaches are thinking of employing to minimize the chance of non-selections putting them behind the eight ball.

Withers is a lock to play every game for the next two years. Exactly the type we trade for, good age, a spot for him, Best 22 for sure.
Yeah, the role seemed nice today. He was a touch off on the accuracy front(?), but the role looked to be good. Think I'm looking much harder at Duggan, though.
Really like the role as reported and he's just an absolute goer.
Tiny bit spooked on Harmes for now.

Yeah, the role seemed nice today. He was a touch off on the accuracy front(?), but the role looked to be good. Think I'm looking much harder at Duggan, though.
Really like the role as reported and he's just an absolute goer.
Tiny bit spooked on Harmes for now.
Mate Duggans mullet is tougher than Harmes. He sexy in your backline.

1. Hold fire on changes: Unless injury-forced or changes in rookies, hold off making changes until after the official hitouts;
  2. Monitor roles: Callum Mills / Duggan - they've given us reason to believe in #moremidtime, for example. Paddy Dow looked handy, but will we see him in a more marginal role in the official hitout?
  3. Think about risk: Daniher, Impey, Ziebell, Zilliams (admittedly as a premo): It looks great on paper and they've only got to give us 6-8 games to work out OK, but a rookie has to do even less (20-25pts less and they're still giving you the same cash output). So shaving one might allow you to lock in / upgrade one more topliner;
  4. Don't be too pessimistic on the rookies: Every year we stress about the impending Great Rookie Drought, every year enough get a run to allow a more G&R-ish team for those so inclined;
  5. Have a quick look at your breakdown: How many genuine keepers (top 6-8 FWDs, top 8-13 MIDs, top 2-3(?) RUC?). 13 would be impressive this year (I can't manage it), 12 seems about right, 9-10 a touch light.
  6. Think about overall trends: You'd think most MIDs aren't great value this year to start, DEFs much more so, FWDs a lucky dip / run of the injury gauntlet. RUCs likely a touch overpriced, but the top 2 are just so captainable and potentially 15-20 ahead of anyone else in the line.
  7. Start thinking about rd 1 lockouts: Hopefully sides do the right thing by us and announce the kids debuting nice and early, but be prepared for different eventualities. Watch out for strategy tidbits the top coaches are thinking of employing to minimize the chance of non-selections putting them behind the eight ball.

Did you not see the shitshow that was the 2020 Rd1 rookie class? Out of the 20 or so selected only a handful receive a pass mark. Why would we expect 2021 to be any better when a large percentage of the draftees played no footy at all last year?

I'd say this draft year rookie class is going to be quite different.
These guys haven't played football since they were 16.
No where near as many going to be ready to come in and play IMO.

Last year we had
116 games played by the first 18 draftees (Rowell, Anderson, Serong, Pickett, Day, Georgiades the best ones)
49 games for draft positions 19 - 50 (Mahoney, Rivers, Shoenburg, Coleman)
31 games from position 50+ (Riccardi, Frederick, Ruscoe)

Plus Keays, Budarick, Crocker, Close, Hibbered in the rookie draft

I wouldn't be surprised if the top end come in and plays games - but they are predominantly talls - so expect lesser scores and less value when selected for your side

I don't think we'll get as many games or relevant rookies out of the draftees 18+ and rookie draft.

We'll be mostly looking to the guys who have been on a list for a few years (Ely Smith, Luke Foley, Lewis Young) or who got to play SANFL or WAFL last year (Luke Pedlar, Tom Powell, James Rowe, Tom Highmore)

Interesting that Mills had 15 to JPKs 9 and Tom Green had 13 to Hopper's 8. Did JPK and Hopper only play half the game?
Clubs would have been experimenting yesterday ....not sure you can draw too many conclusions

Interesting that Mills had 15 to JPKs 9 and Tom Green had 13 to Hopper's 8. Did JPK and Hopper only play half the game?
You’ll get Mills much cheaper than 540k throughout the year

Here are all the practice match video links. It's nice to have them all in one place. Mix of full match video, by quarter, or by half.
I will update as today's videos become available.

Hawthorn vs Western Bulldogs - 1st Quarter - 2nd Quarter - 3rd Quarter - 4th Quarter (AFL Match Report)
Carlton vs Essendon - Full Match (4 videos) (AFL Match Report)
Collingwood vs Geelong - Full Match (AFL Match Report)
Melbourne vs Richmond - Full Match (4 videos) (AFL Match Report)
North Melbourne vs St.Kilda - 1st Half - 2nd Half (AFL Match Report)
Sydney vs GWS - 1st Quarter - 2nd Quarter - 3rd Quarter - 4th Quarter (AFL Match Report)
Adelaide vs Port Adelaide - 1st Quarter - 2nd Quarter - 3rd Quarter - 4th Quarter (Highlights) (AFL Match Report)
*Fremantle vs West Coast - Coming soon (Eagles Highlights) (Dockers Highlights) (AFL Match Report)
*Brisbane vs Gold Coast - Coming soon (AFL Match Report)

*still waiting for match videos.

View attachment 1066698

Adelaide vs Port Adelaide match is up.
West Coast vs Fremantle highlights are up.
Still waiting on footage from Brisbane vs Gold Coast, but this wasn't streamed so may not exist. May be rarer than recent Tassie Tiger footage.

Adelaide vs Port Adelaide match is up.
West Coast vs Fremantle highlights are up.
Still waiting on footage from Brisbane vs Gold Coast, but this wasn't streamed so may not exist. May be rarer than recent Tassie Tiger footage.
Couldn't find the GWS one yet either, hope they all end up on YouTube

Has Williams ever played a full season, prick has gotten injured every year I've owned him.
Played 20/22 games in 2016, 2017 and 2019