38. Oscar Clavarino - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link
42. Max Heath - Link
45. Sam Alabakis - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

T
And people bag us for Hannebery!!!

Essendon coughed up a mid 20"s pick, a 4 year deal (on comparatively big $) for relatively untried player who already had an issue with soft tissue injuries. Not looking like a great deal ATM!!

As for Treloar - Crouch was in the bag before Treloar became an option - not relevant.

Crouch was a great get.

True!

And yes Crouch was already locked and loaded given the Treloar stuff happened late in the trading period, but it was seen that because we were into Crouch, Treloar and Caldwell didn’t happen.

Plenty of players from the Lyon era had the exact same thing to say about Lyon and his favourites.... one big difference, Lyon got us to 3 top 4's, Grand finals in two seasons and another finals appearance.

Even without the ultimate success, his 'favourites' routine is cut more slack than Richo's because of the success he did have.
Every single coach in the AFL has favourites who will get more benefit in their performance than others.

By far the biggest stuff up of the rebuild. People talk about how important coaches, president, development and everything else is but the most important person at a footy club is the recruiter. Nobody can do anything with ordinary players.

I remember suggesting going after a proven recruiter when Trout got moved on but I got a lot of “we’ll be right”. It’s too important of a position to hope someone is good at. The new guys started well but they look like they’ve lost their way a bit since the draft last year. I’d still be going all out for a proven gun recruiter if it were up to me.
Perhaps those successful recruiters were asked and they declined. Perhaps they wanted to go to clubs with decent budgets. Perhaps they wanted to go anywhere else than a club that's won 1 premiership more than 50 years ago...

I’m not going to comment who mate. Probably not fair. The player and coach are no longer here.

The player I'm talking about was on the list for 3 years and by the end he was glad to get out and go back to the state leagues because of the frustration he felt. By the end he was angry with his development but mostly felt like the goal posts kept shifting on him which was just unfair. He would meet a set of metrics that were given to him, work on all his weaknesses and then get told he had new ones to meet. There were injuries that gave him spots but he was left out even then. Probably a symptom of playing footy on the fringes but they should have at least been honest with him.

because collingwood

its laughable how much the AFL picks and chooses when to apply its own rules

McLaughlin is an idiot, he doesn't understand rules and systems at all.
He thinks its fine that the boss just makes it up on the fly.

It seems bizarre that we didn't go after a pro recruiter like Stephen Wells. If I was in rebuild mode the most important person in the club is your recruiter. Trout had been an assistant coach, took leave for personal reasons and came back and was given the head recruiting role with no experience. Pretty bizarre stuff. He was given 7 years with no evidence of improvement. It's not his fault that they gave him a job that wasn't his strength, it was really poor management by the club. I was hoping that Bassat having a business that literally is a recruitment company, would be able to fill a lot of internal roles with expert staff.

We couldn’t afford the A graders.

And none of them would have wanted to work out of flipping Seaford.

Trout was cheap & safe.

No matter the outcomes of his picks in hindsight, the only one he really fkd on his own was Dmac ahead of Touk Miller. They’d all agreed in Touk & Trout went rogue. Touk would be bloody handy now.

All the other selections were kids who’d expected to go around that pick. His biggest weakness was probably that he was too conservative.

As others have said, development has been a bigger issue IMO. And luck.

flipping footy gods hate us.

Plenty of players from the Lyon era had the exact same thing to say about Lyon and his favourites.... one big difference, Lyon got us to 3 top 4's, Grand finals in two seasons and another finals appearance.

Even without the ultimate success, his 'favourites' routine is cut more slack than Richo's because of the success he did have.

What is stability under finals conditions is good management but while rebuilding it really is about developing and giving opportunities to a whole range of players. Guys played out years in the VFL under Richo and we were a bottom 8 side. Part of it was possibly that he'd told them he could make finals with what he had so had to keep up around mid table.

The player I'm talking about was on the list for 3 years and by the end he was glad to get out and go back to the state leagues because of the frustration he felt. By the end he was angry with his development but mostly felt like the goal posts kept shifting on him which was just unfair. He would meet a set of metrics that were given to him, work on all his weaknesses and then get told he had new ones to meet. There were injuries that gave him spots but he was left out even then. Probably a symptom of playing footy on the fringes but they should have at least been honest with him.

Two sides to everything.
Apparently Rob Eddy ( or was it Eddy Robberts? ) had a real chip on his shoulder about being de-listed, but the fact is , he wasn't very good.

Players who have gone on to do well at State level?
Dunell, Freezer, Eli.

How is it allowed to be outside the cap?
It wasn't "outside the cap" but it was outside the issues related to their cap from now on.

His settlement was paid purely out of 2019/2020 money so had no relevance to Collingwood's need to offload players to meet salary cap requirements for this year and onwards.

Found this interesting:
A saints player won brownlows 57,58,59 the threepeat for brownlows all different players too.
Did it again in 65,66,67 two of them go to big Ian stew.
Then harves goes b2b in 97,98
Include a plugger Brownlow too cause why not

Only other team ever to 3peat a Brownlow was Fitzroy in the 30's with Haydn Bunton (only payed ever to average over a vote per game)

Only 4 players ever went back to back winning consecutive brownlows and only 4 players in history have won 3 brownlows.

We might have the most spoons and the lowest flags (for our time in comp) but no other team has consecutively had the best players in the comp ;)

Yep.
Tom Lynch would agree with this.

Found this interesting:
A saints player won brownlows 57,58,59 the threepeat for brownlows all different players too.
Did it again in 65,66,67 two of them go to big Ian stew.
Then harves goes b2b in 97,98
Include a plugger Brownlow too cause why not

Only other team ever to 3peat a Brownlow was Fitzroy in the 30's with Haydn Bunton (only payed ever to average over a vote per game)

Only 4 players ever went back to back winning consecutive brownlows and only 4 players in history have won 3 brownlows.

We might have the most spoons and the lowest flags (for our time in comp) but no other team has consecutively had the best players in the comp ;)
Further to thjs we also only had 10 players ever to play 200 games then late 90's we nailed our team and 21 players were added to that group.

We also only had 1 player hit 300 games since 2000's we added another 4 to that list and Lenny just missed out on 297. Not a bad effort recruiting wise

It wasn't "outside the cap" but it was outside the issues related to their cap from now on.

His settlement was paid purely out of 2019/2020 money so had no relevance to Collingwood's need to offload players to meet salary cap requirements for this year and onwards.
That meant players like Treloar had to back end their contract and get paid less during 19 and 20 so I'd say it defintiely played a role.

No doubt, all contracts affect other players - but you'd lay the majority of the ongoing salary cap issues at Collingwood on the Grundy deal.

But in the end, the Beams payout wasn't some secret back room deal signed off by the AFL. He may have been paid for part of this year but I bet he got none of his final years contract.

Perhaps a bit like Hanners?

I know stories about Ross too.

One thing I will say, Ross was ****ing direct as I’ve heard only second to a story I heard about Clarko during the very early days of his Hawks tenure.

If Ross thought you were shit and not going to cut it. You got told and it was black and white.

If you got dropped you knew why. If you got selected you knew the job you had to do.

Those on the out with Ross probably felt dirty on him. This story I know the player still does to this day. But whilst the player has improved, he was just an okay VFL player who never got an AFL game. Ross was right.

No doubt, all contracts affect other players - but you'd lay the majority of the ongoing salary cap issues at Collingwood on the Grundy deal.

But in the end, the Beams payout wasn't some secret back room deal signed off by the AFL. He may have been paid for part of this year but I bet he got none of his final years contract.

Perhaps a bit like Hanners?
No idea how it worked, but yeah it obviously would have effected deals as would have Grundy's.

Neither are the sole blame to the loss of players but both deals would have played a role I guess.

Unfortunately I see no way Hanners walks away without getting nothing for next year.

No idea how it worked, but yeah it obviously would have effected deals as would have Grundy's.

Neither are the sole blame to the loss of players but both deals would have played a role I guess.

Unfortunately I see no way Hanners walks away without getting nothing for next year.
I bet they'll ask Hanners how much would he want to be an assistant coach.

Heard he's pretty good with lines though....
Why do you need to keep inferring he does drugs?

Even if he does do them, which he probably does because heaps of players do, it's complete crap to infer he has brought some culture of drug taking to the club.

So many of the players do drugs, they are young men and it is very common in our society. I don't get why Hannebery has always been alluded to as some coke head. You should probably cast your net a bit wider if you're generally concerned about players doing lines. In fact you'd best just give up on the sport altogether if it offends you.

Why do you need to keep inferring he does drugs?

Even if he does do them, which he probably does because heaps of players do, it's complete crap to infer he has brought some culture of drug taking to the club.

So many of the players do drugs, they are young men and it is very common in our society. I don't get why Hannebery has always been alluded to as some coke head. You should probably cast your net a bit wider if you're generally concerned about players doing lines. In fact you'd best just give up on the sport altogether if it offends you.

Sorry, I should have put a lol at the end.

It certainly doesn't offend me at all, in fact couldn't care less. I was just having a bit of a joke at his expense. Similar to most other players drug habits, what they do in their own time doesn't faze me in the slightest. Mainly the pun on "line" was where I was heading with it

I bet they'll ask Hanners how much would he want to be an assistant coach.
That works if he's a good assistant coach.

With the soft cap as small as it is though we'd probably be better off paying him as a player and using him as a developmet coach?

I think Port are doing something similar with Tyson Goldsack?