25. Dean Kent - Link
38. Oscar Clavarino - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link
42. Max Heath - Link
45. Sam Alabakis - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

This is the last year of his contract
Id prefer him to McKernan but at 30 he is getting on.
Would prefer someone a bit younger who we would get more than 2 years from.

Otherwise convince Paddy to stick around and hope we can develop Max Heath in that role. Stick him in the gym every time he comes into the club to bulk up over the rest of this year and next.

Geelong had more than Bracks as a supporter. Here is a list senior Victorian State politicians who were fanatical Geelong supporters at the time they organised the funding and planning approvals to rebuild Kardinal Park.

Steve Bracks - ALP Premier.

Rob Hulls - ALP Deputy Premier, Planning Minister and Attorney General.

Robert Doyle - Lib Opposition Leader

Ted Baillieu - Lib Shadow Planning Minister, Opposition Leader, then Premier.

Denis Napthine - Lib Opposition Leader, Shadow Treasurer, Treasurer, then Premier.

Jacinta Allan - ALP Minister for various portfolios.

At one point the Premier, Deputy Premier, Opposition Leader, Treasurer and Shadow Treasurer were all Geelong supporters (between 1999-2003).

Fair dinkum, they were kissed on the d**k when you also remember all of the father and sons that fell into their lap on the cheap. They were blessed.

Knowing a couple of politicians I would suggest that most have clubs that they support but they are pretty much a passing interest. Most only see votes and pork barrelling a stadium is more about looking busy instead of making the region feel forgotten. Ford leaving made a lot of ripples in state and federal politics. If a politician puts money into Geelong I'd look at their property portfolio not their football team...that or who the developers that fund their party.

I tell you who we should go after. Will Powell from the suns. Speculative first round pick but I can see why they took him. Pacy, skillfull, corageous and great in the air. Can play half back, wing and even in the middle. Not sure on his contract status, and not sure if the suns would be willing to trade him, but he looks a star in the making.

actually I take that back! Just saw he recently resigned until 2025! Lol

Knowing a couple of politicians I would suggest that most have clubs that they support but they are pretty much a passing interest. Most only see votes and pork barrelling a stadium is more about looking busy instead of making the region feel forgotten. Ford leaving made a lot of ripples in state and federal politics. If a politician puts money into Geelong I'd look at their property portfolio not their football team...that or who the developers that fund their party.

All of those listed politicians had reserved seating every week. They never missed a game and were proud of it. They were as keen as we are and not casual supporters. Baillieu and Bracks were mates and used to sit together.

There was coverage of a Geelong home game in 2001 that had them all sitting together with their scarfs and stuff. It was nauseating. When it came to funding the redevelopment of Kardinia Park they were all on a unity ticket.

So, this loss to Adelaide probably confirms we’ll get a top 5 pick, which makes the potential for band 1 compensation all the more alluring.
Alluring yes, likely, not really.

Billings is struggling to get a kick at the moment. No one will be wanting to pay him that kind of money.

Players that should be on the table

Coffield
Battle
Seb Ross
Billings
Webster
Dunstan
Lonie
Ben long

grab whatever currency you can with the names above & start the rebuild already
Not one player on the list should feel safe

Would be happy with pick 39 for billings, its overs

I tried to tell people there are rumours that he's meant to be an uber flog....not just too much of a flog for just any club either. This is the club that don't draft kids unless they turn up to the interview without a shirt on and if it doesn't look like their hair was cut by their cellmate who hadn't seen the outside world since the 80s they aren't even considered. Seriously it sounds like he has some attitude problems which for them to not want him must be beyond the pale. They have Libba and Bruce as role models.
I love how sometime when I’m skimming down the page and I start reading a wall of text and my kind goes “who write this post? I bet it was Gringo” 🤣

It will hurt a bit to lose Billings for unders and there will be plenty of posturing during the trade period but just as it hurt Adelaide to lose Crouch to us, these things even out.

Why would we lose Biilings for unders? If free agency compensation is inadequate because the contract offer from another club is too low, then we match the bid. He is still a very good player and is only 26.

As a free agent Billings is a free hit (trade wise). I can see at least both North and Hawthorn having a close look at him. North in particular have so much room in their cap that they have to find something to spend it on to get to the minimum of 95%.

You just never know how everything will play out.

Not sure we're to put this, but surely we need a full review of the footy department.

- Fitness
- Player development and recruitment
- List strategy
- Line coaches, in particular the Forwards is pitiful. No cohesion, shambolic bombing entries, inaccurate kicking, no confidence and most importantly can't regularly kick a winning score.

At least Carlton are being proactive about their poor season and ongoing problems, what are we actually doing about it???

On Pixel 4a using BigFooty.com mobile app

Jack Steven was traded for pick 58

Josh Bruce for picks 32 and 51

Nick hind for pick 67

So billings should net us a pick between 40 and 50

On DUB-LX2 using BigFooty.com mobile app
Laugh
Jack Steven was traded for pick 58

Josh Bruce for picks 32 and 51

Nick hind for pick 67

So billings should net us a pick between 40 and 50

On DUB-LX2 using BigFooty.com mobile app
Laughable,surely you must think it's April 1, top 20 pick minimum

Why would we lose Biilings for unders? If free agency compensation is inadequate because the contract offer from another club is too low, then we match the bid. He is still a very good player and is only 26.
I guarantee you in the lead up to trade week his agent will leak a story about how Jack wants a fresh start and how the onus is on on StKilda to get a deal done.

From that point on, you will get unders.

Also, what part of his resume makes people think a team will offer him huge money, a 4th place finish in the B&F in 2019?