25. Dean Kent - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – tbc (approx. Friday November 19)

List Lodgement 1
tbc (approx. Thursday October 28)

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
tbc (approx. Friday October 29 - Monday November 8)

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
tbc (approx. Tuesday November 9)

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
tbc (approx. Wednesday November 10 - Friday November 19)

Last edited by a moderator:
We’re looking for a number 1 ruck with at least 5 years of footy left in him. Looking at every clubs ruck stocks to see what we may shake loose. If that fails then we will sign best available to a short term contract and look again next year. The club is worried we only have one AFL standard ruck on our list who has at the most 15 games left in his career.

Yeah interesting.

Adelaide: O'Brien, Strachan
Brisbane: McInerney, Fullarton, A Smith
Carlton: Pittonet, De Koning
Collingwood: Grundy, Cameron, Cox, Lynch
Essendon: Draper, Wright, Phillips, Bryan
Fremantle: Darcy, Meek
Geelong: Stanley, Ratugolea, Blicavs, Fort
Gold Coast: Witts, Z Smith, Moyle
GWS: Mumford, Preuss, Flynn, Briggs
Hawthorn: McEvoy, Ceglar, Reeves
Melbourne: Gawn, Jackson
North Melbourne: Goldstein, Campbell, Xerri, Edwards
Port Adelaide: Lycett, Ladhams, Hayes
Richmond: Nankervis, Chol, Ryan
Sydney: Hickey, Naismith, McLean, Sinclair
West Coast: Naitanui, Vardy, Williams, Jamieson
Western Bulldogs: English, Martin, Sweet

Can't see many who fit that category who are also gettable. I'm sure we could end up with someone the calibre of Archie Smith, Mason Cox, Andrew Phillips, Darcy Fort, Zac Smith, Callum Sinclair. Not sure any of them would be worth the effort vs Hunter though.

Best we could get I reckon would be Pittonet or Ceglar calibre - which is to say not that great - but even those guys only by overpaying significantly.

Can't see a lot of gettable ones that are going to magically make us better there.

Yeah interesting.

Can't see many who fit that category who are also gettable. I'm sure we could end up with someone the calibre of Archie Smith, Mason Cox, Andrew Phillips, Darcy Fort, Zac Smith, Callum Sinclair. Not sure any of them would be worth the effort vs Hunter though.

Best we could get I reckon would be Pittonet or Ceglar calibre - which is to say not that great - but even those guys only by overpaying significantly.

Can't see a lot of gettable ones that are going to magically make us better there.
Didn’t someone mention Ladhams at one stage?
Or maybe it was just their wishful thinking?

Yeah interesting.

Marshall is better than most of them. While tap work isn't his strength, the impact he can have on a game with his clearece and around the ground work is one of the best in the comp.

Anyone we get would ideally be back-up only. Unless they have close to Ryder's level of tap work, we are better playing Marshall alone.

For me
It’s Hayden McLean
Or Matt Flynn as a second ruck
swans will try to move on Reid but no one will want him
I was pretty impressed by what I saw from Flynn, can't see the giants letting him go though.

Mabior Chol is more than capable of backing Paddy Ryder up. Plays with good energy after the hitout I think he would offer a bit in the middle in terms of run and carry from congestion.

Nick Bryan at Essendon and Darcy Fort at Geelong might might be receptive to an approach.

I was pretty impressed by what I saw from Flynn, can't see the giants letting him go though.

Mabior Chol is more than capable of backing Paddy Ryder up. Plays with good energy after the hitout I think he would offer a bit in the middle in terms of run and carry from congestion.

Nick Bryan at Essendon and Darcy Fort at Geelong might might be receptive to an approach.
I have heard nick bryan might be looking elsewhere but has a contract until 2023.
I would be happy with McLean

just not sure chol would be keen on us u less we pay a little overs which I’m not sure he is worth.
McLean was impressive at swans. Should be looked at, he would come, swans only offering a Mars bar, can of coke and 3 licorice straps

Given his age and attributes, he can a) Learn from Paddy and really improve his ruck work, or b) Potentially play at CHB.....I understand its a bit of a gamble, and I concede, I haven't see enough of him to know if its even a possibility, but it may just be worth a crack. He could rotate ruck/fwd/CHB for a few years until Heath is ready and then settle in at CHB?

This is exactly what we need to do and Chol would fit in the team really well.
SIGN HIM UP!!!!!

i hear Sydney wanted to extend Buddy's contract as a way of smoothing it over in the final years when he gets paid the most, given it was back ended.

only problem is the AFL stepped it and wouldn't allow it, as it means they manipulated the draft, as that large contract was the only reason hawthorn couldnt match.

if they aint losing a handful of players, something sus is going on.
Will be really interesting after they gave Parker what he wanted

Wait. Has the dream ended?

961fd1964149292bb2fde0ecd0203cea.jpg

Yeah interesting.

Would be happy with Strachan, Flynn, Ladhams. All behind in the order at their current clubs, reckon they'd get a #1 ruck gig with us.

actually on Kent in that game. Apparently he had a chat to Bytel and when he found out that he'd never kicked an AFL goal he made it his mission to make sure he set him up for one.
Nice mission. Would prefer he chose the easier mission of putting his body on the line or not been scared of contact.

I see Luke Dunstan is no longer "de-listed" according to the AFL website.

Is it just me or is lockdown doing my head in - surely there were heaps of de-listings at this stage of the season last year.

I can't believe that a dozen clubs have done exit interviews and sent players off for the break and we have a handful of players across the comp currently having been de-listed.

I read clubs are waiting for 2022 list details from the AFL before they get into announcing delistings. I don't know if the 2022 salary cap has been announced by the AFL yet either.

The AFL need to get their shite sorted and keep us entertained with the off season shenanigans.

In today's game if a team has to deal with a big forward they will always attempt to double team the player , if the team has multiply tall forwards it them becomes a problem.
Then again a guy like Buddy Franklin is not a big pack mark so you can get away with playing a guy like Wilkie on him which we did and he did well on him.

We don't want to be left in a situation where you go into a game like Port and have only one tall back because if he goes down and Georgiades is clearly beating Wilkie (until he came off with a injury) you can be totally exposed , with them having Todd Marshall close to 2m running around the forward line as well.

What if Howard gets injured, then we'll have No really tall KPD's to play on the Gorilla's, they need to keep Clav as depth, i think, unless they draft a Talia or Blake Schlensog, for example.

Surely one of Briggs or Flynn will leave GWS, with Preuss sitting there as the logical first choice ruckman. I would be working hard on both sides, both are AFL Quality.
Or maybe they ship Preuss down to us after realising they have some good young talent. Preuss is more than capable, has played third in line his whole career and is old enough to not be a threat to Heath’s development

What if Howard gets injured, then we'll have No really tall KPD's to play on the Gorilla's, they need to keep Clav as depth, i think, unless they draft a Talia or Blake Schlensog, for example.

And I'd still keep Clav regardless. I think he'd be capable if given a block of games.

Ruckman Paddy Ryder will soon sign a one-year deal, while Category B ruckman Sam Alabakis has been delisted. – Mitch Cleary
Good to see Ryder will sign for 1 more year. And obvious the Alabakis experiment was over.

We can now add up to 2 of the NGA guys who get undrafted to the Cat B list or bring in another international experiment.

Good to see Ryder will sign for 1 more year. And obvious the Alabakis experiment was over.

We can now add up to 2 of the NGA guys who get undrafted to the Cat B list or bring in another international experiment.
So now we have Ryder, Marshall and Max Heath in development for the year.

Its clear we are looking for another ruck forward so PHunter will have to wait to see how that plays out.