VFL 2021 VFL R3 v GC (Fri 30-Apr 4pm @ Olympic Park) - [live stream]

Sep 28, 2006
QLD
LA Lakers,NE Patriots,Liverpool FC
Sier's frustrating. He's only involved in the play when it's a clearance situation and he's hunting the ball. He's very very good at it. He's completely lost on the outside, in transition or when he doesn't have the footy. Which is coaching, fitness or both. My bet is on both.
He’s been in the system for 6 years now Quicky. He’s had plenty of coaching. He doesn’t have the ‘want’ IMO. Fitness and desire. He has all the tools. 191cm, 90+kgs and can win the ball in tight.....when he wants too.
Compare his game to Reef, who busted his backside but doesn’t have anyway near the fitness that Sier ‘could’ have after 6 pre-seasons. Reefs had half pre-season and his incremental improvement from each game he’s played is really good. Reef has that desire and in fairness, more game nous/footy IQ than Sier, which is not Siers fault.

May 27, 2008
Wherever I May Roam
Socceroos, Melbourne Victory
He’s been in the system for 6 years now Quicky. He’s had plenty of coaching. He doesn’t have the ‘want’ IMO. Fitness and desire. He has all the tools. 191cm, 90+kgs and can win the ball in tight.....when he wants too.
Compare his game to Reef, who busted his backside but doesn’t have anyway near the fitness that Sier ‘could’ have after 6 pre-seasons. Reefs had half pre-season and his incremental improvement from each game he’s played is really good. Reef has that desire and in fairness, more game nous/footy IQ than Sier, which is not Siers fault.

That's likely also. I wouldn't discount the impact of coaching and development affecting his game though. I feel we've done that poorly in recent years, particularly the midfield.

Jelly Bean

Dec 12, 2010
That is without question Henry,s best trait that he is a 1 grab specialist, I can see 3 or 4 these youngsters playing a decade for us, happy days indeed.

It is therefore amazing at how many uncontested marks he dropped in his first two senior level games.

Billys Back

Feb 5, 2020
It is therefore amazing at how many uncontested marks he dropped in his first two senior level games.
Nerves maybe?
I’m not sure I would even count pre-season games as senior level. But if we do, his first game he took an absolute ripper of a mark.
I’m not sure if you watched the game yesterday but is marking was excellent. Many contested and not at all easy.

May 25, 2006
Beach
Timmy he's been in the system for 6 YEARS - his talent and heft are undoubted but he has yet to produce anything like a full effort game.

Not for me.

I’m not the least bit interested in how long he’s been on the list. He’s on the list. That’s what matters. Whether he’s still here next year is a decision for down the track. right here right now he’s an inside mid we need, especially with Adams Elliott Greenwood out (and DeGoey and Mayne in recent weeks)

ipswichpies

Jul 6, 2011
queensland
Crystal Palace
I think we can forgive him though because as you say they were his first games at that level, I do think that would not affect his confidence in his next chance at the caper. I think if he keeps playing and marking as he is he will get more games and soon.

Billys Back

Feb 5, 2020
I’m not the least bit interested in how long he’s been on the list. He’s on the list. That’s what matters. Whether he’s still here next year is a decision for down the track. right here right now he’s an inside mid we need, especially with Adams Elliott Greenwood out (and DeGoey and Mayne in recent weeks)
If we continue to search for points to match Daicos, Sier and Lynch maybe 2 players who we could snag 3rd round picks for. Lynch may be a little high, however, as a ruckman someone may pay up if they are desparate.

I don’t know. I just watched it on the live stream through Collingwood (posted on here). Not sure if you can watch a replay through it

Replay might come later but no Reply on Collingwood Website at the Moment

jonmacTrag

May 27, 2020
I'm not a fan of gifting games to blokes who have a consistent record of failing to meet minimum standards so it's still a big no from me.

Jul 25, 2008
The Linc
Oakland Raiders
Clearly we all have our pet favourites coz I thought Brown has very little influence on today’s game - much less so than Sier. Sier did fumble a few ground balls but he reads and roves ruck taps off the hand better and cleaner than anyone we’ve had in years. In the case of Brown, yes he shows some glimpses but gee slow, floaty kicks clearly seem to be a family trait.

Sier fumbled a lot that was accurate, but Brown is the ultimate tease and in no way warrants being considered ahead of Sier. In year 4 you can’t be senior relevant while running through the middle at VFL level picking up 15 possessions because that doesn’t escalate at senior level...

Dib looks a star. Do not need to recruit any more small forwards / mids. He and Nicky D will do.

Do we have any claims on Dib? Or do we have to bid on him in the draft like every other team?

Mate I’m not going to complain about the Collingwood VFL guys putting content onto their Twitter given how lax they have been prior to this year.

We have a new President now.

Sure, Korda hasn’t been sitting on the sidelines at VFL games with the passwords to the Twitter feed. But we can reasonably expect changes to approach and priorities to percolate all the way down to the lowest layers of the club. Even the boot studder will be threading up the lad’s laces with a different pattern.

Agree with you, no point complaining about the way things were done. Best we can do is enjoy and compliment the changes we’ve been crying out for.