• Sydney Swans

Votes: 17 1.5%
  • West Coast Eagles

Votes: 15 1.3%
  • Western Bulldogs

Votes: 2 0.2%

Old system allowed clubs to rort the system. At least the new system allows a governing body to decide whether a team needs assistance or not. At least without knowing the system guidelines you don’t have the abillity to exploit loopholes etc

Yes, the afl will continually use this to prop up teams such as the Gold Coast and potentially gws, but it won’t give powerhouse clubs that have a few years down the bottom a leg up for more sustained success.

Doing away with them all together also solves the problem.

Already enough done to support under performing teams and businesses - make the draft and access to the playing pool as open as possible based on a reverse ladder draft order (and a top 4 lottery, if required).

Self quote.

I warned everyone these flogs were headed for a collapse. Their culture is a disgrace. Their own players are embarrassed to play for them.

All ur classic racist bigfooty flogs got behind the pies.
what the... how are the poster's thoughts on the pies football talent an indication of racism?

pull your head in.

Doing away with them all together also solves the problem.

Already enough done to support under performing teams and businesses - make the draft and access to the playing pool as open as possible based on a reverse ladder draft order (and a top 4 lottery, if required).

fair enough as long as all those clubs who've received Priority Picks in the past offer up some sort of compensation in the form of draft picks or salary cap concessions to those clubs who haven't received one yet
Otherwise those clubs who have are at an unfair advantage if the rule stops.
In your case u got Darling & Shuey who have helped set you up for the last decade. So if you say the rule should stop now after you've had a big benefit from it, then there should be compensation for the other clubs

fair enough as long as all those clubs who've received Priority Picks in the past offer up some sort of compensation in the form of draft picks or salary cap concessions to those clubs who haven't received one yet
In your case u got Darling & Shuey who have helped set you up for the last decade. So if you say the rule should stop now after you've had a big benefit from it, then there should be compensation for the other clubs

To clarify - ‘Darling and Shuey’ equates to pick 26 and pick 18 at the time - a few years apart (and over 10 years ago..) - so it wasn’t exactly ‘choose your future champion’ stuff, WCE just drafted well. Darling was even drafted in a year where GC pillaged the draft with the majority of first round picks, including the top 3 and a bunch of pre-selections - WCE received pick 4 (Andrew Gaff) despite finishing dead last the season before....and had their ‘compo’ pick shunted down to 26....so come on, as the rule stood at the time, it was hardly a great example of ‘compo picks gone wild’.

Regardless, just because a rule WAS in place - it’s not the same anymore already - doesn’t mean it needs to be ‘awarded’ in perpetuity, that is ridiculous.

To clarify - ‘Darling and Shuey’ equates to pick 26 and pick 18 at the time - a few years apart (and over 10 years ago..) - so it wasn’t exactly ‘choose your future champion’ stuff, WCE just drafted well. Darling was even drafted in a year where GC pillaged the draft with the majority of first round picks, including the top 3 and a bunch of pre-selections - WCE received pick 4 (Andrew Gaff) despite finishing dead last the season before....and had their ‘compo’ pick shunted down to 26....so come on, as the rule stood at the time, it was hardly a great example of ‘compo picks gone wild’.

Regardless, just because a rule WAS in place - it’s not the same anymore already - doesn’t mean it needs to be ‘awarded’ in perpetuity, that is ridiculous.

Chris Judd was a priority pick, so you can add Josh Kennedy into that equation too actually.

You can have Tom Scully, if that helps

I'm not talking about in perpetuity. I'm talking about finishing the rule .But the AFL should acknowledge that Clubs are in different cycles of development when the rule finishes. Its like raising the retirement age to 70 from 65 when you're 64 and the other clubs are 71

Yes you drafted well, but Picks 18 and 26 are not exactly from the rookie draft either. They're still pretty high picks .Plenty of excellent players have come from that draft range .
You are also still getting the benefit from those picks too. They're a lot more compensation than what North has got in the past !

Chris Judd was a priority pick, so you can add Josh Kennedy into that equation too actually.

Yeah ok..

Look, the league has already seen fit to get rid of the ‘automatic’ qualification for compo. So whatever has come before based on that rule isn’t really relevant - not that it would be relevant anyway, other than attempting to show that when WCE were s**t on the field, they qualified for picks under the old system.

It doesn’t make me change my mind either way, enough is done to support the weak in this competition - you finish last you’ll get the top pick in each round - that is a sufficient advantage and doesn’t compromise the draft with a randomly inserted additional pick for being ‘extra s**t’.

I can't see North winning more than 2 games this year (even then I can't work out who they beat)

If North do go that bad, surely they are looking at a priority pick. Unless the AFL really do want them to bomb so they can push they towards Tassie permanently

Bad weekend for North with Gold Coast, Hawthorn and Essendon all moving to 2 wins.

Next weekend could be big too, say if Collingwood were to lose to Gold Coast or Carlton were to lose to Essendon (which on exposed form may well happen).

North by contrast are playing more competitive quarters and while rank outsiders against Melbourne, do have an historically good record against them.

Then they go into a run of Collingwood, Hawthorn, Essendon, St Kilda, GWS in Tasmania, Lions at Marvel and Gold Coast in Tasmania where they will surely win their first game of the season if not two.

Between North and Collingwood.

Even an insipid Pies kicked 13 goals today, ok they were accurate, our highest goal tally is 10 and most of our games between 5-7. We won’t win a game in Melbourne, if we jag 1-2 it will be down in Tassie under crap conditions.