Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
You never really know who will draft come draft day, but often our pick has someone strange dropping down the order.
Mattaes Phillipou - He is a mid/forward that is very skilled and a quality left footer.
Jhye Clark - An inside bull that is likely to go higher on draft day, but I would not mind getting my hands on him
Ginbey - Coming home with a rush at the moment, was playing a heap across the half back line but has become a bull inside midfielder and close to WA's best prospect.
Jakob Ryan - Pick 28 range, this kid was high on my radar and he is dropping down the order, I would strongly consider him if he drifted down the rankings.
Hagan - I know he is short, but he is a leader, great kick, high footy IQ and just a great player that plays well at all levels. He reminds me of a Liam Baker for Richmond, a player that is under rated at the draft table, but long term you just want a player like this across all lines of the field.
Actually good point Jones maybe ahead of Hagan in my rankings. I would have to agree with your sentiment, I try and stay away from short guys, but I feel that footy IQ is becoming more important and short guys are not completely lost to the system.Generally not drawn to sub 180 guys, but this year, there are a number of interesting players that have very good footy IQ and versatility
Drury, Long, Hagan, Jones
Brayden George, look no furtherMartin is regularly injured and has inconsistent output when he does play. His best is phenomenal, but we only see it 3 games a year.
JSOS is a utility, and more a defensive one at that. He's a hard worker, but dynamic he is not. Room for another medium alongside him with complementary skills.
Honey is a rookie pick who has played 11 games in 3 seasons. Has a great athletic profile, but his output is spotty and he's been prone to injuries as well.
McGovern much more suited to the backline interceptor/distributor role.
A first-round grade medium forward who is dangerous in the air and on the deck would be well worth a look. Could take Martin's spot when the guy is injured, or even replace Owies who hold his own more on workrate and smart positioning than pace or skill. Guarantee everyone here would be frothing over the prospect of a fit Cunners coming back into the seniors - given he keeps falling apart it makes perfect sense to draft a replacement.
Reckon we're much more likely to find a high quality specialist forward at our pick (10-12) than we are a KPP. Speed (of movement and of thought), strength (of body and of character) and skills should be top of the priority list. Start drafting kids who can run, kick and tackle, intergrate them into the side wherever they're suited.
Actually good point Jones maybe ahead of Hagan in my rankings. I would have to agree with your sentiment, I try and stay away from short guys, but I feel that footy IQ is becoming more important and short guys are not completely lost to the system.
I do feel like we have a few short guys and would not want to many more on our list as they have limited positional scope.
The Massimo D'Ambrosio effect?Generally not drawn to sub 180 guys, but this year, there are a number of interesting players that have very good footy IQ and versatility
Drury, Long, Hagan, Jones
The Massimo D'Ambrosio effect?
Might need to plan around these two for 2024. Exciting prospects.
Carlton father-son twins catch Kevin Sheehan's eye in Under-16 Championships
Carlton fans should start to get excited about a pair of father-son prospects coming through the system.www.sen.com.au
Sounds like George to me. In between Greene and DeGoey for height (186) but has similar attributes to both.The closest player to Toby Greene please, a player who is an animal, can take a grab, could find the goals with his eyes closed and can run through the middle.
Get George thenSounds like George to me. In between Greene and DeGoey for height (186) but has similar attributes to both.
Sounds like George to me. In between Greene and DeGoey for height (186) but has similar attributes to both.
Just quoting myself from before the Collingwood game. If we kick straight, we're in the finals. Blokes who are willing and able to seize opportunities in front of goal is the lowest hanging fruit for our rise up the ladder.I think having blokes who are dead eye dicks in the forward 50 is a need for us. Particularly guys who can kick goals from 50m+. It really makes everyone else’s life much easier if your forwards are converting their opportunities and currently I think we have room for improvement in that area. I also think if we improve that area of our game that will have the biggest impact on our win/loss ratio.
The reason he is likely to slide to our pick is that he has been injured this year (I know, that’s the last thing we need more of) but he should be back to play a couple of games before the season is up.
yup either lad would be a positive to our starting 22, my favorite is Humphrey but very happy with either lad , its just the way Baily goes about his footy something special, there are some rough edges but they're both young and either really would be excellent an prospect.I’m not smaaaaaaart enough, but could someone sticky a poll to the start of this thread and add players names along the way that will go Top 15-20 that we can mull over and discuss/compare research ourselves or with the help of those like Arrow (I appreciate you mate)
Start with Brayben George and Bailey Humphrey. Both touted to have DeGoey/Greene attributes.
Sorry - PLEASE - I always forget to say please. Thanks.
Great update, we should be aggressive to upgrade our list were possible so yes to trading next 2023 1st rounder if necessary.These are our provisional picks for 2022:
10, 28, 62, 64, 82.
I can also see us getting a pick in 3rd round as compo for Jones (probably end of 3rd, around 55, but if we're lucky, beginning of 3rd, 36 [unlikely]).
Depending on McStay compo from Pies, I reckon Brisbane will probably be talking with GWS and GC re pick trades for Ashcroft.
My guess is that we will take 3 players in drafts. Is there any realistic way we can improve our draft hand, without trading away future picks? Or would we want to try and strengthen our draft hand for next year?
Here is provisional draft order as it stands around now...
View attachment 1489385
I think the two players that look like really good run and carry prospects will be long gone unfortunately. Tsatas will probably go in the top four live picks (should be in the mix for pick one IMO). McKenzie will go somewhere between 5-10. Ollie Hollands is more a Cottrell style player, good all round prospect though.Haven’t kept up with the draft this year, but we need two things, both long term and short term.
- Elite decision making
- speed (both of mind and hand/foot. With a preference for someone who can apply that in the front half of the ground)
Re foot speed:
I’m not talking about a Lachie O’Brien 800m running speed. I’m talking about someone who when the ball in 15m away is the first one to it, and the first one out of there. Someone who apply pressure with speed, someone who has an electricity about them.
Just about every other football quality, you can improve, but those two things you either have or don’t. And we have far too many players with neither.
I’d kill for someone like Liam Ryan or Shai Bolton.
Arr0w Sin City LemmingMaster
Any who fit this bill?
Thanks in advance
I posted earlier in this thread that I reckon a dynamic game breaker type is the sort that can thrive under Voss and that’s exactly what those two are. I just feel that Humphrey can do everything that George can do in the forward line but has a dominant midfield game on top of it while George at the moment is more of a medium forward only. This could well lead to Humphrey going before our pick though, he looks like a terrific prospect to me. I would like to see us add another player who can tear a team to pieces though.I like George or Humphrey with our first round pick. I'd be happy to recruit Breust for a couple of seasons too.
End of 3rd isn't a possibility.These are our provisional picks for 2022:
10, 28, 62, 64, 82.
I can also see us getting a pick in 3rd round as compo for Jones (probably end of 3rd, around 55, but if we're lucky, beginning of 3rd, 36 [unlikely]).
Would that mean potentially #47 for Jones?End of 3rd isn't a possibility.
Band 5 is lowest compo, tied to our 3rd rounder.
If we get compo (and we should), yeah, it would be #47, or if we get really luck #37 (Band 4).Would that mean potentially #47 for Jones?
AFL has confirmed compo. Jones will be categorised as an UFA. I reckon pick 47If we get compo (and we should), yeah, it would be #47, or if we get really luck #37 (Band 4).