Review 2022 AFLW Draft - Winners and losers, re-do the draft, who won?

How To Watch
The 2022 NAB AFLW Draft will be broadcast live, free and exclusively on womens.afl and the AFL Women's app from 7pm on Wednesday, June 29.

Hopefully the live stream will be in here:

Have a go at tipping the first round - the winner gets a 12 month Premium Platinum membership (no ads!) Entries close before the first pick is called.
The Inaugural BigFooty Official AFLW Draft Tipping Competition

I'll update the spreadsheet above on the night, with the names of each new AFLW player. (I still need to add the player names columns but it'll be there!)

If you would like to embed a copy of this on your board you can use the code below:
Code:
[MEDIA="googlespreadsheetnew"]1C4Rc0blxxymI5RFAacafqFRx5TebaR1K7rTTH0MfGcU[/MEDIA]

Nov 7, 2017
GWS
Manchester City, Collingwood AFLW
Welcome all to the Women's Draft, Sign & Trade board Draft thread.

SANFLW FIXTURE

SANFLW LADDER

SANFL State Talent Hub Members;

Dakota Williams163Central
Georgia Mckee142Central
Jessie Sandford165Central
Charlotte Riggs180Central
Sarah Goodwin167Glenelg
Ella Boag170Glenelg
Poppy Scholz180Glenelg
Matlida Scholz186Glenelg
Piper Window165Glenelg
Violet Patterson168Glenelg
Hannah Ewings167North
Amelie Borg177North
Elaine Grigg169North
Timeka Cox176North
Molly Brooksby170Norwood
Ella Strudwick160Norwood
Elle Lineage170Norwood
Jayde Hickey178Norwood
Lana Schwerdt163Norwood
Rosie Boon178Norwood
Sachi Syme165Norwood
Brooke Boileau172South
Shae Archbold173South
Emily Franklin166South
Jemma Ellis173South
Emily Smith172South
Maya Overall167South
Millie McCarthy180Sturt
Tiah Hough156Sturt
India Rasheed174Sturt
Lily Whitcombe173Sturt
Tahlia Walker172Sturt
Lucy Boyd172West
Grace McNicol170West
Charlie Scutchings171West
Keeley Kustermann166West
Bethany Sigley176West
Shineah Goody166Woodville-West Torrens
Marlie Fiegert171Woodville-West Torrens
Jemma Whitington-Charity170Woodville-West Torrens
Chloe Whitington-Charity173Woodville-West Torrens
Cheryllee Waters164Woodville-West Torrens
Astrid Gooley179Woodville-West Torrens

National Academy Members;

Hannah Ewings (North Adelaide)
Keeley Kustermann (West Adelaide)

2023 eligible;

Shineah Goody (WWT Eagles)
Lauren Young (West Adelaide)

Aug 23, 2010
Information Superhighway
Exers, Gryffindor, Rich+Ess AFLW, Tassie
Welcome all to the Women's Draft, Sign & Trade board SANFLW thread. This thread will be an info centre for all things SANFLW and the draft prospects related to the competition.

FIXTURE

LADDER

SANFL State Talent Hub Members;

Dakota Williams163Central
Georgia Mckee142Central
Jessie Sandford165Central
Charlotte Riggs180Central
Sarah Goodwin167Glenelg
Ella Boag170Glenelg
Poppy Scholz180Glenelg
Matlida Scholz186Glenelg
Piper Window165Glenelg
Violet Patterson168Glenelg
Hannah Ewings167North
Amelie Borg177North
Elaine Grigg169North
Timeka Cox176North
Molly Brooksby170Norwood
Ella Strudwick160Norwood
Elle Lineage170Norwood
Jayde Hickey178Norwood
Lana Schwerdt163Norwood
Rosie Boon178Norwood
Sachi Syme165Norwood
Brooke Boileau172South
Shae Archbold173South
Emily Franklin166South
Jemma Ellis173South
Emily Smith172South
Maya Overall167South
Millie McCarthy180Sturt
Tiah Hough156Sturt
India Rasheed174Sturt
Lily Whitcombe173Sturt
Tahlia Walker172Sturt
Lucy Boyd172West
Grace McNicol170West
Charlie Scutchings171West
Keeley Kustermann166West
Bethany Sigley176West
Shineah Goody166Woodville-West Torrens
Marlie Fiegert171Woodville-West Torrens
Jemma Whitington-Charity170Woodville-West Torrens
Chloe Whitington-Charity173Woodville-West Torrens
Cheryllee Waters164Woodville-West Torrens
Astrid Gooley179Woodville-West Torrens

National Academy Members;

Hannah Ewings (North Adelaide)
Keeley Kustermann (West Adelaide)

2023 eligible;

Shineah Goody (WWT Eagles)
Lauren Young (West Adelaide)

142cm?

That's incredibly tiny.

Saturday 11 March: WA Black 8.8 (56) drew with WA Gold 9.2 (56)

Sunday 20 March: WA Gold 3.3 (21) def. by WA Black 6.5 (41)

2022 ROOKIE ME CENTRAL NAB LEAGUE GIRLS TEAM OF THE YEAR SQUAD​

Bendigo Pioneers [3]: Octavia Di Donato, Lila Keck, Lucia Painter
Calder Cannons [2]: Amy Gaylor, Reese Sutton
Dandenong Stingrays [6]: Amber Clarke, Mackenzie Eardley, Taylah Gatt, Olivia Robinson, Charley Ryan, Emily Shepherd
Eastern Ranges [5]: Mia Austin, Mia Busch, Ava Campbell, Bridget Deed, Isabelle Khoury
Geelong Falcons [4]: Elizabeth Dowling, Keeley Hardingham, Analea McKee, Johanna Sunderland
Gippsland Power [2]: Ash Centra, Ella Stoddart
GWV Rebels [3]: Lilli Condon, Jamie-Lee Speakman, Molly Walton
Murray Bushrangers [5]: Zarlie Goldsworthy Zara Hamilton, Grace Hay, Cassidy Mailer, Keeley Skepper
Northern Knights [3]: Tarrah Delgado, Ava Jordan, Rylie Wilcox
Oakleigh Chargers [2]: Jasmine Fleming, Charlotte Taylor
Sandringham Dragons [4]: Keely Coyne, Georgia Foran, Sofia Hurley, Mia Zielinski
Tasmania Devils [5]: Brooke Barwick, Priya Bowering, Georgia Clark, Bellah Parker, Claire Ransom
Western Jets [6]: Charlotte Baskaran, Laura Elliott, Lou-Lou Field, Montana Ham, Krystal Russell, Caitlin Sargent

Pie 4 Life good to see a couple of Essendon VFLW development listed players on your list here in Di Donato and Sutton 😁 When will the final team come out?

2022 ROOKIE ME CENTRAL NAB LEAGUE GIRLS TEAM OF THE YEAR SQUAD​

Bendigo Pioneers [3]: Octavia Di Donato, Lila Keck, Lucia Painter
Calder Cannons [2]: Amy Gaylor, Reese Sutton
Dandenong Stingrays [6]: Amber Clarke, Mackenzie Eardley, Taylah Gatt, Olivia Robinson, Charley Ryan, Emily Shepherd
Eastern Ranges [5]: Mia Austin, Mia Busch, Ava Campbell, Bridget Deed, Isabelle Khoury
Geelong Falcons [4]: Elizabeth Dowling, Keeley Hardingham, Analea McKee, Johanna Sunderland
Gippsland Power [2]: Ash Centra, Ella Stoddart
GWV Rebels [3]: Lilli Condon, Jamie-Lee Speakman, Molly Walton
Murray Bushrangers [5]: Zarlie Goldsworthy Zara Hamilton, Grace Hay, Cassidy Mailer, Keeley Skepper
Northern Knights [3]: Tarrah Delgado, Ava Jordan, Rylie Wilcox
Oakleigh Chargers [2]: Jasmine Fleming, Charlotte Taylor
Sandringham Dragons [4]: Keely Coyne, Georgia Foran, Sofia Hurley, Mia Zielinski
Tasmania Devils [5]: Brooke Barwick, Priya Bowering, Georgia Clark, Bellah Parker, Claire Ransom
Western Jets [6]: Charlotte Baskaran, Laura Elliott, Lou-Lou Field, Montana Ham, Krystal Russell, Caitlin Sargent

Pie 4 Life good to see a couple of Essendon VFLW development listed players on your list here in Di Donato and Sutton 😁 When will the final team come out?
Final team will be Thursday again. Pretty much those with five or more Team of the Week nominations get in (there's 14 of them), and then 10 from the rest. We like to do it because the actual "NAB League" Team of the Year takes into account National Championships, and leans very heavily towards players who though they might get drafted, didn't have as good of a NAB League season compared to someone else, so it's rewarding those players (who are all talented in their own right) for great NAB League seasons, not just looking at what the team could e in five years on pure quality.

It’s a good idea. Also because not just the best 25 overall will get drafted, so things like this give some idea of the next layer of Victorian talent in the draft.

How many will get drafted do you think? As in overall national draft depth vs just Vic?

It’s a good idea. Also because not just the best 25 overall will get drafted, so things like this give some idea of the next layer of Victoria. talent in the draft.

How many will get drafted do you think? As in overall national draft depth vs just Vic?
The majority of them, even in that 50 should get drafted. They do stretch across this year, 2023, 2024 and even 2025 though as well.

I reckon 44/45 out of that 50 at least would get drafted, but still a very high possibility of even 48/49. To make it into each team they must have shown some draftable signs (performed strong enough) so they would be right up in contention.

I don't think the depth after the top 15-20 is as good as it will be in future years, but is still quite good when looking at hindsight for past years. The likes of Dandenong and Western will likely have plenty of draftees due to team success (and AFLW clubs will see if individuals can impress in their own right at the top level). There are still the most draftable prospects in Vic (there has to be with 10 teams vs max. of two in other states), but SA on a per capita rate is incredible this season.

The majority of them, even in that 50 should get drafted. They do stretch across this year, 2023, 2024 and even 2025 though as well.

I reckon 44/45 out of that 50 at least would get drafted, but still a very high possibility of even 48/49. To make it into each team they must have shown some draftable signs (performed strong enough) so they would be right up in contention.

I don't think the depth after the top 15-20 is as good as it will be in future years, but is still quite good when looking at hindsight for past years. The likes of Dandenong and Western will likely have plenty of draftees due to team success (and AFLW clubs will see if individuals can impress in their own right at the top level). There are still the most draftable prospects in Vic (there has to be with 10 teams vs max. of two in other states), but SA on a per capita rate is incredible this season.
Ya the quality will keep improving, it’s all going that way with massive investment compared to ten or twenty years ago. Another ten years will bring it to perhaps similar to the mens as long as the money is there 🤞

How do we end up with 2025 prospects in U18s? 2-3 grades higher than they should be at 14/15? Are they just that good or aren’t there enough players in the 17-18 cohort?

A little from Column A, a little from Column B. They are more than good enough to play at the level, but also the fact that the team's they are in (Gippsland and Tasmania) do not have as many talented top-age prospects. Though technically they are not supposed to play them, they can get allowances because at the end of the day it's a talent identification competition, and there's no point playing an over-ager that doesn't have value or won't get drafted, compared to a future talent.

We only just got to chat to her at the end before they pulled her into the rooms, so that was lucky 😂
If you have any more content make sure you put it in the threads too – I'm not specifically looking for anything so it's just whatever comes up on twitter when I happen to log into it.

Haha we have multiple pieces a day generally, but yeah easy. I’m doing a discussion/follow-up of Power Rankings tomorrow based around some mature age prospects. We’ve also got Roberts and Wakfer pieces to go up over the next week (and the rest of the Queensland ones).

Next week we’re starting draft profiles too. I anticipate for the AFLW Draft Guide we’ll end up having around 150 profiles (because we know there’s a large amount of talent to be included on lists) so it will naturally be the largest draft to-date for the womens.
Some full (for the ones we expect get drafted or are close), some smaller (for the mature-agers or roughies with hood
form).

Haha we have multiple pieces a day generally, but yeah easy. I’m doing a discussion/follow-up of Power Rankings tomorrow based around some mature age prospects. We’ve also got Roberts and Wakfer pieces to go up over the next week (and the rest of the Queensland ones).

Next week we’re starting draft profiles too. I anticipate for the AFLW Draft Guide we’ll end up having around 150 profiles (because we know there’s a large amount of talent to be included on lists) so it will naturally be the largest draft to-date for the womens.
Some full (for the ones we expect get drafted or are close), some smaller (for the mature-agers or roughies with hood
form).
No worries! Happy for all that sort of thing to be posted, just make sure links are accompanied by some sort of key quote or synopsis that people can respond to without having to open the links (links for further details, not clickbait). A lot of the RMC tweets tend to have that bit of context in them anyway, but yeah – rules is rules.