List Mgmt. 2022 draft pool.

I am not trying to hype Gibcus but when was he uncomfortable forward?

To me Gibcus has a freak leap, good kick and good straight kick. In theory and his efforts at the SCG even for only a number of minutes, him hanging around half forward( we should all acknowledge its team football and we are not trying to take away from Lynch, JR and the others) is a bloody hard matchup for opponents.

Put it this way, I would prefer Sam Reid drifting around half forward than Gibcus if I was a back. Gibcus to me threatens the possibility of a number of goals as well as assists if I was defending him. Sam Reid is more a ruck/forward these days and I would not put Gibcus in the ruck.

Gibcus floats in the air more than Balta, I think he is a bigger marking threat than Balta in the forward line. Balta can mark to obviously but Balta uses his athleticism and power more and in that sense I think he is more suited as a back where he can win contests through strength and athleticism. I think Balta is a more natural key back even though he can rebound. Balta would be a little more like Lynch in how he would contest the ball in the forward line so less complimentary forward I think. This might come down to his vision to but Gibcus could be a more versatile marker able to mark in different ways and creating a bigger matchup problem for defences

Gibcus, without putting pressure on the guy, could be something more unique. He does not need to put massive weight on. He could drift around taking marks a bit like Royce Hart at half forward and simply see how he develops from there. I am not saying Gibcus will definitely be a super star forward like Royce but I think he has a few attributes that could help him a long way be very competitive in the forward line.

I would love to see Dusty CHF and Gibcus on a half forward flank. Dusty is the ground ball strength goal kicking maestro and Gibcus is more a aerial specialist that could really complement a Dusty at CHF or even a Taranto. I am not sure how oppositions would combat such a forward setup because it would allow Lynch to lead up from FF centrally without a key in the way while JR does his things with the small forward specialists.

The way Gibcus moves I am not sure he is definitely a back or forward. Having said this because he has such a great leap and is a good kick and good kick for goal he could be a dangerous addition to a forward line similar to a Gunston but in his own way. The trick is finding a role that works for the rest of the team making the overall combination better and more lethal. When I see Gibcus move I see lightness and composure for a guy his height. I think either way he is a matchup problem for oppositions because I think with Gibcus it will come down to smarts and craft and he will probably have to find his own way utilising his own strengths. The way Gibcus ends up playing would be slightly different than most and that is a good thing because we want him to maximise his strengths and compliment our teams other strengths. The thing is Gibcus brings the ball to ground eve without marking and Dusty and Bolton can swoop around half forward and be deadly dangerous. Also Gibcus gets the ball with his mobility and releases it to the likes of Bolton, Dusty and or Taranto and others in better positions and can opposition defences combat this effectively?
How the **** do you find the time to write a written essay full of absolute bullshit

Gibcus is a Lever clone, he will have the Grimes role as the interceptor in the backline. Premierships are built from defence. Once Grimes, Tarrant and Vlastuin have retired, he will be needed in defence. I can see the backline looking like this;

Gibcus Miller Brown
Short Balta Rioli

It is not viable for RFC to be the Australian crocket team, old and unwanted.

RFC needs to stay fresh, be innovative and try and be relevant to keep the fans interested so they have reason to believe going forward and not wear diapers.

If one plays Gibcus as a limited Lever may as well whack the players over the head with a baseball bat

It is not viable for RFC to be the Australian crocket team, old and unwanted.

RFC needs to stay fresh, be innovative and try and be relevant to keep the fans interested so they have reason to believe going forward and not wear diapers.

If one plays Gibcus as a limited Lever may as well whack the players over the head with a baseball bat
English please

To me Gibcus has a freak leap, good kick and good straight kick. In theory and his efforts at the SCG even for only a number of minutes, him hanging around half forward( we should all acknowledge its team football and we are not trying to take away from Lynch, JR and the others) is a bloody hard matchup for opponents.

Put it this way, I would prefer Sam Reid drifting around half forward than Gibcus if I was a back. Gibcus to me threatens the possibility of a number of goals as well as assists if I was defending him. Sam Reid is more a ruck/forward these days and I would not put Gibcus in the ruck.

Gibcus floats in the air more than Balta, I think he is a bigger marking threat than Balta in the forward line. Balta can mark to obviously but Balta uses his athleticism and power more and in that sense I think he is more suited as a back where he can win contests through strength and athleticism. I think Balta is a more natural key back even though he can rebound. Balta would be a little more like Lynch in how he would contest the ball in the forward line so less complimentary forward I think. This might come down to his vision to but Gibcus could be a more versatile marker able to mark in different ways and creating a bigger matchup problem for defences

Gibcus, without putting pressure on the guy, could be something more unique. He does not need to put massive weight on. He could drift around taking marks a bit like Royce Hart at half forward and simply see how he develops from there. I am not saying Gibcus will definitely be a super star forward like Royce but I think he has a few attributes that could help him a long way be very competitive in the forward line.

I would love to see Dusty CHF and Gibcus on a half forward flank. Dusty is the ground ball strength goal kicking maestro and Gibcus is more a aerial specialist that could really complement a Dusty at CHF or even a Taranto. I am not sure how oppositions would combat such a forward setup because it would allow Lynch to lead up from FF centrally without a key in the way while JR does his things with the small forward specialists.

The way Gibcus moves I am not sure he is definitely a back or forward. Having said this because he has such a great leap and is a good kick and good kick for goal he could be a dangerous addition to a forward line similar to a Gunston but in his own way. The trick is finding a role that works for the rest of the team making the overall combination better and more lethal. When I see Gibcus move I see lightness and composure for a guy his height. I think either way he is a matchup problem for oppositions because I think with Gibcus it will come down to smarts and craft and he will probably have to find his own way utilising his own strengths. The way Gibcus ends up playing would be slightly different than most and that is a good thing because we want him to maximise his strengths and compliment our teams other strengths. The thing is Gibcus brings the ball to ground eve without marking and Dusty and Bolton can swoop around half forward and be deadly dangerous. Also Gibcus gets the ball with his mobility and releases it to the likes of Bolton, Dusty and or Taranto and others in better positions and can opposition defences combat this effectively?
How can you mention Gibcus in the same paragraph as Royce Hart. He is yet to be proven and clearly showed that he did not match up to big bodied forwards. One of his last games displayed that under pressure he made that many disposal / handball errors that he almost cost Richmond the game. I dont see the potential - is he another Ben Lennon ?

Agree He made mistakes, in fact probably did cost us a game or two however; debutant as a key defender not an easy task for anyone.
Will learn rapidly and make impressions for 2023 .

Mate, I remember how bog ordinary Benny Gale was in his first year at Tigerland. And he was two or three years older than Gibcus. Even Richo was gangly and raw in his first season and definitely no certainty to make it.

That we got 18 games into Gibbo as an 19 year old first year key position player is almost unprecedented nowadays.

Open your eyes

This kid will play 250+ Games and if you cant see that then you know sh!t about football

Yet to be proven under pressure. He was like Bambi on skates in that final.
Yes he had some moments but to play so many games and under pressure as a 18 years old is immense
Nobody expects these kids that are his height and 15kgs below the required weight/strength to be commanding games
He will play 250 games and ill put money on that

Yes he had some moments but to play so many games and under pressure as a 18 years old is immense
Nobody expects these kids that are his height and 15kgs below the required weight/strength to be commanding games
They should have left him out it might have scarred him.

How the * do you find the time to write a written essay full of absolute bullshit

I do it all the time for those that have no idea :p

For a poster with a pornstar name you really do miss the mark.

I focus on winning premiership and you seem to focus on us heading towards the wooden spoon

Yet to be proven under pressure. He was like Bambi on skates in that final.

For all the mistakes he did some great pressure things in that final. So often he did a spoil or pressure act. Gibcus needs experience and development, but he has so much talent it's crazy. You cannot fault his effort. he shouldn't have played as he did in his first year.But he did and we fast tracked a likely A grade KP. Posibly cost us sometimes, But I reckon he'll be worth it down the track.

Be an interesting 2023 for Gibcus.
Not sure how much a confidence beating he took in 22.
I'm all for playing when ready but i think that game against Buddy and games after took its toll on the kid.
Hope we havn't cooked the goose that laid the golden egg.

Be an interesting 2023 for Gibcus.
Not sure how much a confidence beating he took in 22.
I'm all for playing when ready but i think that game against Buddy and games after took its toll on the kid.
Hope we havn't cooked the goose that laid the golden egg.

I suspect he has a lot of confidence in himself.

And he lost a few contests etc. But he also did some really good stuff in those last games. He was more desperate and went to good spots. But he was just too skinny and young.

His family would be salty that Elijah grew up with a poster of Dusty on his wall.

The WA state representative grew up in a West Coast Eagles family but says he has never really supported an AFL club.

He prefers to focus on the superstars of the game in a bid to hone his craft, much like he has done by closely watching Martin and the Tigers during their recent triple premiership era.

“I’m actually not (an Eagles fan). My whole family is, my extended family are members but I’ve never been,” he added.

“I’ve never really been a huge footy head. I love playing it but I’ve never watched it that much.

“When I started getting engaged with football was when Richmond were in their dynasty.

“I absolutely love Dusty and the Tigers but I never really went for anyone.

“I just watch certain players, which probably is interesting, but I just loved watching Dusty in his prime

His family would be salty that Elijah grew up with a poster of Dusty on his wall.

The WA state representative grew up in a West Coast Eagles family but says he has never really supported an AFL club.

He prefers to focus on the superstars of the game in a bid to hone his craft, much like he has done by closely watching Martin and the Tigers during their recent triple premiership era.

“I’m actually not (an Eagles fan). My whole family is, my extended family are members but I’ve never been,” he added.

“I’ve never really been a huge footy head. I love playing it but I’ve never watched it that much.

“When I started getting engaged with football was when Richmond were in their dynasty.

“I absolutely love Dusty and the Tigers but I never really went for anyone.

“I just watch certain players, which probably is interesting, but I just loved watching Dusty in his prime
Re sign Dusty for another 10.
Welcome too tigerland in 25 lad.

TLDR; Josh Gibcus as a forward:
muhammad ali GIF by PBS

17 men in history have played 250 games for Richmond. Another 16 have played 200. I'm a Gibcus fan but your throwing about of "Player X will play 200/250 games" is willy-nilly-like in its recklessness. If you're not careful someone's going to lose an eye.