Rumour 2022 Draft Rumours

Consider posting your hypothetical Pick swaps, or opinions on what's fair, in the linked thread instead! That way, you can discuss in the proper space and this thread can remain more on topic

rumour (n)​

1. information, often a mixture of truth and untruth, passed around verbally
  2. gossip or hearsay

Last edited by a moderator:
I wasn't claiming that they rumours are true, just that they exist, there are clubs that are cautious about him, and that there is a much better chance of him sliding out of the first round than you are giving credit for.
Weren’t we being criticised 5 minutes ago for not posting rumours? How dare you derail this thread with an actual rumour that I’ve heard twice now including yesterday on the Herald Sun footy podcast. Please try harder next time.

If it was on the Hun podcast then we can add another time that I've heard it

Sorry mate i just call Balderdash on this type of unsubstantiated tripe...
Punters Pundits & Mugs on keyboards claiming inside knowledge of recruits/prospects/players and teams thinkings on the upcoming draft whilst in reality sitting on the outer.
I guess thats why its called Draft Rumours... Mitch Cleary Tom Browne Sam Manure love this stuff lol.

I’m neither hostile nor aggressive I just call out made up BS when I see it.
So if he doesn't get picked in the 1st round will you say that it's not BS?

I don't have any inside knowledge, but I've heard it from enough different places to see that there's at least some smoke.
And as mentioned by another poster above, the Superfooty podcast addressed Hewett not being in the Top 25 Phantom directly on Friday.

Might help him slide to our pick if you do, so thanks
You converting to Essendon then? We can forgive your past transgressions, I'm sure.

If North are monumentally stupid enough not to take him, he'll be welcomed at Essendon

Last edited by a moderator:
You converting to Essendon then? We can forgive your past transgressions, I'm sure.

And welcomed into the brown and gold in 2025…
To the two time reigning wooden spooners? Yeah, nah. We aren't North.

Correction: 1 time wooden spooner who add Harley Reid and start to move back up the ladder with a significant swathe of quality young players with 40-50 games together. Then start adding free agents and of course the Cheezel comes home.

The two time wooden spooners who are pinning their hopes on an 18 year old kid and maybe half a dozen decent kids, as opposed to a team that will have its highly rated KPP's starting to hit their straps whilst Sheezel is part of the best young forward line in the AFL. Sounds familiar to me.

It's all academic anyway. North aren't that monumentally stupid.

The two time wooden spooners who are pinning their hopes on an 18 year old kid and maybe half a dozen decent kids, as opposed to a team that will have its highly rated KPP's starting to hit their straps whilst Sheezel is part of the best young forward line in the AFL. Sounds familiar to me.

It's all academic anyway. North aren't that monumentally stupid.
Are you sure they aren’t that stupid? I would like to see the over/under on that…

Sheezel was likely North’s pick if we had just Pick 3.

As far as odds, 100,000 - 1?

He’s all but there already.
He was a 50/50 chance at pick 2 after an Ashcroft bid with Cadman. Yet people think he'll slip past North...

I’ve said similar things about picking up Cowan.

There’s going to be a huge pull back to Tassie to play in their inaugural side.

If they get a license the AFL likely follow a similar blueprint to GWS and GC, gift them 10 first round picks and then allow them to sign as many Tasmanian prospects as possible and compensate the outgoing club using some contrived formula - which is basically what happens with FA anyway.

So effectively the player you’re picking up goes for the same pick you’ve taken them at.

I’d be steering clear of Tasmania prospects until Tassie are at least a couple of years into their tenure.
On the contrary I'd love North to pick Cowan if he slips through to the 2nd round. Top 5 pick coming to the team who drafts him in a few years if he wants to leave.

Just hoping against hope he’s the class we need and a good hawks boy. Surely there are some under sized mids that would be preferable?

You can hope as much as you like, he’s not going to Hawthorn and he certainly wouldn’t get past Essendon.

Hawthorn have as much chance of getting Sheezel as they do Ashcroft.

You can hope as much as you like, he’s not going to Hawthorn and he certainly wouldn’t get past Essendon.

Hawthorn have as much chance of getting Sheezel as they do Ashcroft.
Yep we get it. Will have to make do with tsatas I guess. Glad we didn’t trade up to get him with eagles given he will fall to us anyway.