List Mgmt. 2022 Draft Thread - Part I

Comes down to who they think won't slide past us, Carlton and the Doggies. Unless there's an interstater they really like, wouldn't be surprised to see them take Ginbey first and then one of Hewett or Busslinger - bit of speculation the Doggies would like to pounce on Ginbey
I doubt they try to be too clever

I think they just take best available with their first

GC really need a creative half forward, especially now that Rankine has left. I can't see Humphrey getting passed their pick.

However, I also reckon Essendon also have the same need up forward, and while Tippa's return has helped, I reckon they snatch Humphrey up at 5.

So now who do GC run with? I reckon they take Busslinger in a reach to fill needs, the same way they reached for Mac Andrew last year. With the retirement of Rory Thompson they have scant talls down back. Sam Collins, Charlie Ballard then...Mac Andrew (201cm)? Jy Farrar (191cm)?

By the way, I saw a neat post by PMBangers on why Tsatas could slide, see below

Accumulation, run and carry and just his power (acceleration, leap, top speed) are things that he does better than 95% of the draft class, and his balance as a midfielder is superb, can switch from a receiver to inside ball winner immediately, but also can play on the wing well, and his stoppage craft is superb.

The main things that will see him slide, if he does, would be his ball use at top speed/ under pressure and lack of defensive game. I actually think his ball use is decent out in space, can sometimes get under the ball too much on his kicks but imo that's an easy fix in a full time environment, and when he's kicking on an angle you barely ever see it which tells me he's got good technique at his core. His handballing in the thick of things can be a bit loopy too, looks like he goes 100% in getting out of a tackle and then panics with what to do afterwards.

The defensive stuff is, to be blunt, inexcusable though, there are times where he's been in the best position of his team to lay a tackle and he hasn't gone for it, that stuff I don't think is easily coached so I reckon that's the main sticking point.

Based on rumours I think Ess have shortlisted their preferred players down to Humphrey & Phillipou which suggests they are after a big bodied hybrid fwd-mid. It makes sense because they have a packed cadre of skilled midget mids, so they really need to target a mobile big mid that can impact around the ground & in the air. I really can’t see them not taking either of these two the more I think about it.

GC are renowned for being quite open about who they take early in the draft, so the rumours of them targeting Ginbey are probably accurate. Whilst they need a tall defender I reckon Busslinger is a few picks too early. Clark, Tsatas & Phillipou might scare them off due to perceived go home factor. They could surprise everyone & take McKenzie but I go back to my original point that they are fairly open about who they target, so Ginbey is probably their man.

Tsatas is an interesting one. I reckon he’s too good for the Hawks to skip over. He was discussed as a potential pick 1 early in the year & has produced really good numbers. I’d be surprised if they didn’t take him & if they went say Clark or Mckenzie instead perhaps the Cats would have a look. West Coast I reckon would have a look too & back themselves to retain him if there’s any go home factor .

Honestly reckon we will most likely land Mckenzie or Phillipou. All the rumours indicate one of those guys will be left at our pick. Clark also a possibility. Busslinger a chance too if we prefer him to the left over mid. Tsatas & Humphries very unlikely to be avail IMO.

For anyone worried about McKenzie being a bit too blue collar. He’s an absolute jet. I’ve said it before but I don’t love the Callum Mills. I think CMac is much stronger in the contest in terms of taking on and breaking tackles. I’ll say it again but he’s David Mundy 2.0 look at how he delivers the ball under pressure. Compared to Humphrey for instance. We all talk about our skills but between the two of them it’s chalk and cheese.

I think if we get one of Poo or CMac we are really well placed.

In saying that of Humphrey had a better kick he could arguably be top 3

For anyone worried about McKenzie being a bit too blue collar. He’s an absolute jet. I’ve said it before but I don’t love the Callum Mills. I think CMac is much stronger in the contest in terms of taking on and breaking tackles. I’ll say it again but he’s David Mundy 2.0 look at how he delivers the ball under pressure. Compared to Humphrey for instance. We all talk about our skills but between the two of them it’s chalk and cheese.

I think if we get one of Poo or CMac we are really well placed.

In saying that of Humphrey had a better kick he could arguably be top 3
I've been on McKenzie from the start.

But I'm doing that St Kilda thing where you tell yourself it's not gonna happen so you can avoid the disappointment later, but enjoy the little win if it happens.

I've been on McKenzie from the start.

But I'm doing that St Kilda thing where you tell yourself it's not gonna happen so you can avoid the disappointment later, but enjoy the little win if it happens.

To me McKenzie is a near certain good player. Good clean user, gets the ball and seems to be natural mid. He reminds me of one of those blonde Sydney guys they always seem to find. Jude Bolton, Callum Mills, Hanners etc. They aren't really match winners but just do everything to an excellent standard.

I'm torn, guys like Poo and The Bear seem more like game breakers who do the intangible stuff. Do we take the safe bet or speculate on a star with higher bust factor? I think Poo is a good in-between and Humphrey has the full on gamble factor. He could be the best in his draft or a messy not quite type.

Mate we’ve got Membrey, Battle, Webster, Hayes, Jones, Higgins etc as bogans.
Max is even borderline Eshay bah 😂

We need hard c*nts no matter the background, like Windy and Michito 😍🤤

The Shadow is proper bogan, not our Kath and Kim types. He'd open stubbies with his eye sockets. You don't have eye teeth growing out of the roof of your mouth without a lot of your life spent in a caravan park under high volume power cables.

To me McKenzie is a near certain good player. Good clean user, gets the ball and seems to be natural mid. He reminds me of one of those blonde Sydney guys they always seem to find. Jude Bolton, Callum Mills, Hanners etc. They aren't really match winners but just do everything to an excellent standard.

I'm torn, guys like Poo and The Bear seem more like game breakers who do the intangible stuff. Do we take the safe bet or speculate on a star with higher bust factor? I think Poo is a good in-between and Humphrey has the full on gamble factor. He could be the best in his draft or a messy not quite type.
Cmac has the traits to be an elite mid at afl level. Burst from stoppage, clean ball use and good above head… that to me is star factor. Just because he’s consistent at doing it doesn’t mean he’s a bit ‘vanilla’ the three players you mentioned all have the potential to be a star

What I know about the draft you could write on the back of a postage stamp and still have room. I am on McKenzie though.

Seems like you get what you see. Meat and potatoes, blue collar….whatever. I feel we are not in the position of getting ‘potential game breakers’. Let’s get a solid 200 game consistent player. Solid, dependable.

He actually sounds better than I’m making out. Got pace for starters. Sounds like he has lots of room for development. But with a very solid base. I’d rather us not go for the guy who ‘might’ be a superstar.

Been burnt with too many picks in the last few years.

What I know about the draft you could write on the back of a postage stamp and still have room. I am on McKenzie though.

Seems like you get what you see. Meat and potatoes, blue collar….whatever. I feel we are not in the position of getting ‘potential game breakers’. Let’s get a solid 200 game consistent player. Solid, dependable.

He actually sounds better than I’m making out. Got pace for starters. Sounds like he has lots of room for development. But with a very solid base. I’d rather us not go for the guy who ‘might’ be a superstar.

Been burnt with too many picks in the last few years.
I get the argument that cmac doesn’t look like a star but he is. All his touches are quality. I would rather have him get 20 damaging touches than 30 junk ones like some of these other draftees will. He is basically a jack steel clone but quicker

I agree with you in that I think McKenzie will have consistent form rather than wildly fluctuating form with a high ceiling but I reckon he will get close to Steele levels when he settles in to the level.

I read somewhere that ESS have met him a number of times & the Eagles also looking at him closely. All the other teams who have picks before ours seem to be linked to other players.
I'm bloody hoping that Essendon take him. That makes the potential of tsatas sliding to us actually possible

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

List Mgmt. 2022 Draft Thread - Part I