List Mgmt. 2022 Draft Thread

He's one I've mentioned earlier in the thread as someone that would be a good fit for us. He's a safe bet and may not end up a star, but I don't see why he couldn't get up to a similar level to an Ed Langden. His kicking is a bit inconsistent, but he has the confidence and ability to hit some difficult kicks when given time and space also.
The AFL at the moment is really poor for quality on the wings. Many of them are either primary defensive specialists, high-volume accumulators who don't use the ball particularly well, or flaky outside types with all the speed and skill in the world but struggle to have a consistent impact. I think safety isn't a dealbreaker for a wingman unless they're being taken in the top 5-10. In fact, I would love a bit of safety on the wings. Not sure I can stomach another year of rotating Hannan/Scott/McNeil/McComb/Macrae through a wing.

Feels like another that will be gone just before our pick 21.
I'm holding hope that Sydney or GWS are super keen for a slider at 11 on the night and offer us 14 & 17 or 15 & 18 for 11 & 39.

Not an unreasonable proposition. Getting a third pick inside of 21 seems like it would be a great outcome for us this year

Wasn’t there a random post on here stating this? Sounded like someone who knew him/had an issue with him.
no issues. just went to school with him until he dropped out, was notorious for being a menace and whilst his dad was a gun for port Melbourne I don't know if I would take him based on his personality, might be a gun, might also **** the culture so...

The AFL at the moment is really poor for quality on the wings. Many of them are either primary defensive specialists, high-volume accumulators who don't use the ball particularly well, or flaky outside types with all the speed and skill in the world but struggle to have a consistent impact. I think safety isn't a dealbreaker for a wingman unless they're being taken in the top 5-10. In fact, I would love a bit of safety on the wings. Not sure I can stomach another year of rotating Hannan/Scott/McNeil/McComb/Macrae through a wing.

People cry about us not having a good developing KPD. Me included in that.

But we haven’t had a decent wing since maybe Eagleton. Perhaps there have been others but he was great.

It’s a huge need, just like a pressure forward and a KPD.

People cry about us not having a good developing KPD. Me included in that.

But we haven’t had a decent wing since maybe Eagleton. Perhaps there have been others but he was great.

It’s a huge need, just like a pressure forward and a KPD.
God I'd love for us to have someone who could receive on the outside, get some separation and then consistently nail the delivery into the forward 50.

I’d take an inconsistent but long raking kick for deeper entries at this point.

It’s been such a huge weakness to surround our gun midfield with absolute plodders who can barely kick 50m, never mind hit a target, on the outside like McComb, Mcneil, Hannan, Rourke, and even Hunter. In what world is shuffling inside mids who can’t kick to the wing a good idea?

It’s probably a bigger weakness than small forwards for mine. Baz/Adzy need to rotate through there again this year and spend a lot of time there. Williams needs to get fit and make one wing his own, and Bedendo needs to play senior footy.

I've watched a 90 second highlight clip on all of Hewett, George and Hollands.

Hollands: Too vanilla. My third pick of the three.

George: Seems to mostly be taking set shots. Pass.

Hewett: Gun.
Hewitt is super hot and cold watch the vic country vs wa game hollands plays better as an inside mid in that game than Hewitt does

Brother, I have a full time job and two kids under the age of three. I don't have the time to watch teenage children playing entire games of football. 90 seconds is the best I can do.

Nobody massively excites me at 11 I'm realising. Any way we could trade 11 and 39 for ~16 and ~25? Is that realistic?

We should be able to get better than 16 & 25, for 11 & 39. Moving up to 11, is more valuable than what you think it is.
Realistic options:
14 & 17 (with us adding something like a future 2nd round pick)
18 & 19 (about right)

We should be able to get better than 16 & 25, for 11 & 39. Moving up to 11, is more valuable than what you think it is.
Realistic options:
18 & 19 (about right)
Having 18, 19 and 21 would be fun.

Is the 19 the first pick of the second round regardless of whatever FS or other draft swaps happen?

Having 18, 19 and 21 would be fun.

Is the 19 the first pick of the second round regardless of whatever FS or other draft swaps happen?

It would be fun. With a WC pick at 20, so you would take a WA prospect first, if you rated one in that range.

Then take the next pick at 19, then WC will take theirs and then be open to trade pick 21 for a future first IF someone is desperate. Otherwise, just finish your draft there.

It would be fun. With a WC pick at 20, so you would take a WA prospect first, if you rated one in that range.

Then take the next pick at 19, then WC will take theirs and then be open to trade pick 21 for a future first IF someone is desperate. Otherwise, just finish your draft there.
Clubs will come hard for the first pick of the second night aswell

I'm a huge fan of Hewitt, the kid is skilled on both sides (by hand and foot), great footy awarness and is explosive and knows how to finish. Has all the tools imo and would complement our mids nicely.

Realistic options:
18 & 19 (about right)
That could give us the potential to land 3 guys who could potentially impact in their first year.
Clark as a small forward, Weddle as a defender and maybe Hotton on the wing.

There was also a suggestion on the draft rumor thread that Adelaide might look to trade back into the top end of this draft if a certain player was available at a pick they could trade for. If that player happened to fall to our first pick it might give us the opportunity to increase our 2023 hand further.

Hewett would slot into our midfield nicely but hasn’t their been talk he might be a flight risk? That would be my only concern. Seems like WC are right into him.

Hewett is only there IF WC pass on him with their first pick. WC would have to have a really good explanation to the player about it…. So, I doubt he would be too big of a risk.

I'm a huge fan of Hewitt, the kid is skilled on both sides (by hand and foot), great footy awarness and is explosive and knows how to finish. Has all the tools imo and would complement our mids nicely.
Granted this only comes from reading reports, but I thought he was a poor kick?

Talented kid but sounds like a grade A w***er.

Wasn’t there a random post on here stating this? Sounded like someone who knew him/had an issue with him.

no issues. just went to school with him until he dropped out, was notorious for being a menace and whilst his dad was a gun for port Melbourne I don't know if I would take him based on his personality, might be a gun, might also * the culture so...
Charlie’s a ripper of a kid, he’s a bit of a larrikin and isn’t necessarily the academic type but he’s a ridiculously smart footballer and has grown up a lot in the last few years into a highly respectful, energetic, warm young man that’d buy right into the club’s culture and would give nothing less than 120% at all times - is good friends with Maynard I believe and there’s heaps of similarities in the way they go about things with their determination and passion on field. Would love him on the team.

Brother, I have a full time job and two kids under the age of three. I don't have the time to watch teenage children playing entire games of football. 90 seconds is the best I can do.
Did you watch 90 seconds on each or 90 seconds across 3 players. Huge relative difference so trying to get a sense of how well informed you are.

Josh Weddle highlights are up on the AFL youtube.

I think dogs need to take a tall in this draft. 3 talls gone (Schache, Cordy, Martin). 4 are 30+. If they don't get 1 in the draft I'll be ropable. I will consider Cowan as 1 though because he's prime as an interceptor with a huge leap even though he's 188cm so he's a mid that can play tall. I Think 1 tall in the draft and 1 rookie tall will even out the list.

Another youtube mock draft. This 1 the guy sounds is going based on needs and rumors.