List Mgmt. 2022 Draft Thread

Today in the rumor thread has Giants wanting to trade out 19 and 31 as they're not going to use them.

Hypothetically dogs could trade 39 to hawks for 52 and their future 4th (tied to lions according to Fox sports) then trade 11 and 52 and 1 of the future 4ths for 15 19 31. Trade 31 away for a future 2nd from a team.
I genuinely don’t know how people come up with this stuff.

There's a young Tasmanian small forward who played for North Launceston this year, I believe we're one of a few clubs who've put some work into him. People in Tassie think he's a chance of a rookie selection but unlikely to get picked up in the draft.

Seth Campbell? Big fan. Looks exactly like a short Ryan Gardner.

4689B100-5E7D-4B5C-9384-03A39BA0ED68.jpeg

HUN has us taking Phillipou & George with our first 2 picks
Cartwheels.
West Coast's pick 20 (just before ours) is my tip - they've interviewed George a bunch of times.

Cartwheels.
West Coast's pick 20 (just before ours) is my tip - they've interviewed George a bunch of times.

D Jones, Hewitt, Allan; are all expected to go in that range. I would be surprised IF WC passed on all of those 3 players for a Victorian.

WC prefer WA players as they take unders in contract negotiations to stay in WA. It allows them to have more star level players in their primes….

IF George, Clarke, Weddle & Hayes are gone; & WC pass on D Jones, although he is short, I would draft him.

D Jones, Hewitt, Allan; are all expected to go in that range. I would be surprised IF WC passed on all of those 3 players for a Victorian.

WC prefer WA players as they take unders in contract negotiations to stay in WA. It allows them to have more star level players in their primes….

IF George, Clarke, Weddle & Hayes are gone; & WC pass on D Jones, although he is short, I would draft him.
I'd be so happy with Jones at pick 21. Not saying he's that likely to go earlier, but he's one of my favourites.

I wouldn't be surprised at all if Darcy Jones is a big bolter on the night. Height is a silly reason to have him so low on your draft board after watching what guys like Shai Bolton and Lachie Neale have done recently. Also, he's only 175cm, it's not like he's sub 170.

I'd have him around the mark for our first but think a couple will be available who are a bit ahead of him just by virtue of being harder to find like Busslinger, Hollands or Phillipou.

I wouldn't be surprised at all if Darcy Jones is a big bolter on the night. Height is a silly reason to have him so low on your draft board after watching what guys like Shai Bolton and Lachie Neale have done recently. Also, he's only 175cm, it's not like he's sub 170.

I'd have him around the mark for our first but think a couple will be available who are a bit ahead of him just by virtue of being harder to find like Busslinger, Hollands or Phillipou.

If he was there at 21 I'd take him but I also reckon he'll go high.

Hey guys, long time reader first time posting. Always tune in around draft time because I’m both a bulldogs and draft loving nuffy. Finally took the time to sign up so I can post. Love all of the discussions, even if it is all out of our hands in the end.

Completely agree with the sentiments that KPD, Wing and Small Pressure Forward are our 3 priorities. Although medium forward with genuine forward craft would also be worth their weight in gold for our team IMO. Its really only Weightman and Jamarra who have genuine forward craft. It also doesn’t help that Matt Spangher is coaching the forward line given that he was a journeyman who never played there.

Pretty sure best available at 11 will also fill a need which is great. Busslinger, Hollands fill needs and it would be a tough choice out of the two. Busslingers smaller sample size worries me and would have to trust the club if they went that way. Hollands will be an elite winger at next level, something we were crying out for before the loss of hunter. I would not be too suprised if Bailey Humphry made it to us at that selection, or Dan Mackenzie. In which case I’d want us to take them as Humprhies is a contested bull who rests well forward and Mackenzie is a beautiful kick which you can never have enough of.
Can’t see Mattaes Phillipou making it to 12 unfortunately, he would be my dream pick. Body is built for AFL and has the confidence and ability to match. Some of his goals on the run and in traffic are very special. Great mark too. I just cant see st kilda not taking the punt on him given how much star quality they lack. Also Carlton (which would really infuriate me).

Regarding 21, I would actually love Weddle. Yes he might not be a key position but with his athletic traits I can see him being at least as good as both Easton Wood and Dane Rampe. Able to take small forwards as well as intercept marking and distribution. Cannot ignore that athletic profile and would give us some defensive solidity that we have lacked since Wood dropped from his very high peak.
Would also love Jacob Konstanty at this pick if available. Not a fan of Charlie Clarke, gets most of his possessions in midfield and I can just see him being Nathan Hrovat/ Mitch Honeychurch 2.0. Have not yet looked into Burgiel or Hotton as much but I like Konstanty’s athletic traits, willingness to crumb and tackle which we have lacked desperately. Think he would compliment weightman really well.

Can always get a true KEY position next year by trading out both first rounders to get a ready made such as Tom Barass (who surely doesnt want to stick around for a painful WC rebuild for the rest of his career) or McKay or someone else. Cant afford to wait for another 3-5 years for a KPD to develop by drafting one next year IMO, our list is ready to go now, or in year or so. Having said that you cant just draft any KPD, think Kieran Collins. They need to be elite athletically and aggressive. Not against Van Es if available at 39 but should be better fits for our team available at 21.

Speaking of profiles, if you havent checked out this draft e-mag from Rookie Me I highly recommend.

No affiliation at all but i love the summary of athletic traits based on testing results. They do make just about every player sound like Chris Judd or Wayne Carey so be ready to get overly excited 😂

Hey guys, long time reader first time posting. Always tune in around draft time because I’m both a bulldogs and draft loving nuffy. Finally took the time to sign up so I can post. Love all of the discussions, even if it is all out of our hands in the end.

Completely agree with the sentiments that KPD, Wing and Small Pressure Forward are our 3 priorities. Although medium forward with genuine forward craft would also be worth their weight in gold for our team IMO. Its really only Weightman and Jamarra who have genuine forward craft. It also doesn’t help that Matt Spangher is coaching the forward line given that he was a journeyman who never played there.

Pretty sure best available at 11 will also fill a need which is great. Busslinger, Hollands fill needs and it would be a tough choice out of the two. Busslingers smaller sample size worries me and would have to trust the club if they went that way. Hollands will be an elite winger at next level, something we were crying out for before the loss of hunter. I would not be too suprised if Bailey Humphry made it to us at that selection, or Dan Mackenzie. In which case I’d want us to take them as Humprhies is a contested bull who rests well forward and Mackenzie is a beautiful kick which you can never have enough of.
Can’t see Mattaes Phillipou making it to 12 unfortunately, he would be my dream pick. Body is built for AFL and has the confidence and ability to match. Some of his goals on the run and in traffic are very special. Great mark too. I just cant see st kilda not taking the punt on him given how much star quality they lack. Also Carlton (which would really infuriate me).

Regarding 21, I would actually love Weddle. Yes he might not be a key position but with his athletic traits I can see him being at least as good as both Easton Wood and Dane Rampe. Able to take small forwards as well as intercept marking and distribution. Cannot ignore that athletic profile and would give us some defensive solidity that we have lacked since Wood dropped from his very high peak.
Would also love Jacob Konstanty at this pick if available. Not a fan of Charlie Clarke, gets most of his possessions in midfield and I can just see him being Nathan Hrovat/ Mitch Honeychurch 2.0. Have not yet looked into Burgiel or Hotton as much but I like Konstanty’s athletic traits, willingness to crumb and tackle which we have lacked desperately. Think he would compliment weightman really well.

Can always get a true KEY position next year by trading out both first rounders to get a ready made such as Tom Barass (who surely doesnt want to stick around for a painful WC rebuild for the rest of his career) or McKay or someone else. Cant afford to wait for another 3-5 years for a KPD to develop by drafting one next year IMO, our list is ready to go now, or in year or so. Having said that you cant just draft any KPD, think Kieran Collins. They need to be elite athletically and aggressive. Not against Van Es if available at 39 but should be better fits for our team available at 21.

Speaking of profiles, if you havent checked out this draft e-mag from Rookie Me I highly recommend.

No affiliation at all but i love the summary of athletic traits based on testing results. They do make just about every player sound like Chris Judd or Wayne Carey so be ready to get overly excited 😂
Nice first post Bonti. Welcome to BigFooty.

Assuming we keep 11 and 21 then Phillipou and Weddle are my dream picks too.

Ed Allan does seem like the type we’d pounce on early. A 194cm wingman that can also play inside with blistering speed, does sound like a tantalising prospect.

He would have tonnes of development left in him considering he hardly played this year. But would be a big gamble to pick in the first round.

Ed Allan does seem like the type we’d pounce on early. A 194cm wingman that can also play inside with blistering speed, does sound like a tantalising prospect.

He would have tonnes of development left in him considering he hardly played this year. But would be a big gamble to pick in the first round.

He’s growing on me, but I think it would have to be at 21 with us already having grabbed a key defender at 12.

Assuming we keep 11 and 21 then Phillipou and Weddle are my dream picks too.
Gws are the worry for Weddle IMO.
Picks 15, 18 and 19 before our 21, its hard to imagine them not being interested in Weddle as a largely untapped (only played representative footy for the first time at 17) long term Nick Haynes replacement who can give Talyor a chop out with his intercepting and take smaller opponents.

Phillipou could be anything, it baffles me that some are saying he could drop outside top 10, only a few days off being draft eligible for next years draft. Cant see him getting through all of Essendon, Gold Coast, Hawthorn, St Kilda, Carlton. Character is being questioned I suppose but I would back Bevo’s culture in.

Busslinger is a slight worry for me, mostly due to limited sample size and how skinny he is, will take him a lot longer than Weddle to be AFL ready and if he's still not playing in 3 years, is the lure of West Coast and guaranteed playing time in your home state too much?

Don't want Hayes. Simply because he does not play as a key defender. He might be 197cm but he is basically a rebounding defender, not aggressive or physical. Being 197cm is of little benefit when you rebound out of defense as your biggest strength. In a team blessed with rebounding defenders and got more than we need in terms of passive key defenders (Keath, Gardiner) i just dont see how he would be of value to us.

My current ideal picks change almost daily however I have narrowed them down to three at each pick. Because of the evenness of the draft or more to the point amount of unknowns due to injury and lack of games over the last three years its harder then ever to get a gauge where players will fall.
I've also picked 6 players I'd like to select two out of in the rookie draft.

11 Phillipou > Allan > Hewett
21 Jones > Weddle > cowan
39 philips > Van Es > Teal

Rookies (not in order)
Toby McMullin
Brandon Leary
Shaun Bennier
Darcy Edmends
Jackson Broadbent
Kaelan Bradtke

I think these guys will be best available if their at these pick whilst also filling the 4 biggest holes I feel we have in our side currently which are Wing > small lockdown defender > key defender > small forward.

My current ideal picks change almost daily however I have narrowed them down to three at each pick. Because of the evenness of the draft or more to the point amount of unknowns due to injury and lack of games over the last three years its harder then ever to get a gauge where players will fall.
I've also picked 6 players I'd like to select two out of in the rookie draft.

11 Phillipou > Allan > Hewett
21 Jones > Weddle > cowan
39 philips > Van Es > Teal

Rookies (not in order)
Toby McMullin
Brandon Leary
Shaun Bennier
Darcy Edmends
Jackson Broadbent
Kaelan Bradtke

I think these guys will be best available if their at these pick whilst also filling the 4 biggest holes I feel we have in our side currently which are Wing > small lockdown defender > key defender > small forward.

I’ll do the same thing for top 3 for each pick, but obviously every one depends on who gets picked before it.

Pick 11: Busslinger, Phillipou, Hayes
Pick 21: Jones, Konstanty, Weddle
Pick 39: Van Es, Phillips, Binns

Jumping on Allan at 11 seems really dumb, his highlights aren't that impressive and he didn't use that speed to burst away.

Historically, winning the 20m sprint test at the combine has not been a good sign of being a good footballer. Only two guys who’ve done that in the last decade have become regular features at AFL level, Saad and Petruccelle. Ed Allan can run very fast in a straight line but I’m not especially convinced he’ll be doing the same in an AFL midfield.

Jumping on Allan at 11 seems really dumb, his highlights aren't that impressive and he didn't use that speed to burst away.
Not dismissing his ability. He has the tools to make it at AFL level and will get drafted. But I feel he is one of those "risers" who are almost become like a "cult figure". Everyone gets attached to them and they get talked up better than they are.

I would not pick him at 11 as he is no where near a top dozen player in this draft pool on ability alone. Some talk of him being pick 5 is silly. Though good for us if someone wants to reach super hard. Means we will get an extra option at our pick from the best available bunch.