List Mgmt. 2022 Draft Thread

I get the feeling that the dogs might rank busslinger higher.

Basically all depends on what Gold Coast select, Dom confirmed some are still undecided higher up in draft.

If Gold Coast select Ginbey, then West coast will select Busslinger.

If Gold Coast select Hunfrey, then Busslinger is ours I would think

I get the feeling that the dogs might rank busslinger higher.

Basically all depends on what Gold Coast select, Dom confirmed some are still undecided higher up in draft.

If Gold Coast select Ginbey, then West coast will select Busslinger.

If Gold Coast select Hunfrey, then Busslinger is ours I would think

West Coast will almost definitely take a mid with their first pick. If Ginbey isn't there, I suspect they'll go Allan.

Sen Mock draft has us talking

Pick 12​

Elijah Hewett (Western Bulldogs)

The Western Bulldogs haven’t taken a midfielder in the first round of the draft since 2018 and before that, Marcus Bontempelli in 2013.

The club no doubt has a packed on-ball unit, but with the need to refresh and continue preparing for the future, Hewett could be the best available at the time.

Hewett, out of Western Australia, has already proved he can match it with the bigger bodies when playing WAFL for Swan Districts and holding his own.

He’ll continue improving and the Dogs could look to develop him with the view of being one of the club’s leading midfielders in five years time.

Seb Mottram

Huge talent, but I reckon he's going to be one of West Coast's leading midfielders in five years time.

Found this interesting

Pick 1​

Will Ashcroft (Brisbane Lions)
Matching GWS’ bid

We know the Giants are keen on tall forward Aaron Cadman, but Will Ashcroft has long been considered the best player in this draft crop.

A prolific midfielder that looks destined to become one of the competition’s elite, GWS would be mad to not make Brisbane pay up full price for their father-son prospect.

Ashcroft will be a Lion, and as the best player in the draft, should go at pick one.

Lachlan Geleit

Pick 2​

Aaron Cadman (GWS Giants)

This one is no real secret. The Giants traded up the draft order to select Aaron Cadman, who they clearly deem to be a key forward worth going all-in on.

The talented GWV Rebels player has been likened to Jeremy Cameron with his ability to play on the wing, win ball up the ground and still be an imposing forward threat.

He makes perfect sense for GWS, who need a star key forward.

Nic Negrepontis

Pick 3​

Harry Sheezel (North Melbourne)

The Kangaroos need class and Harry Sheezel is just that.

He possesses poise and balance as a midfielder/forward and has the ability to just make things happen inside forward 50.

The Sandringham Dragons talent is a proven goalkicker at junior level and the Roos will be eager to bring his firepower to Arden Street.

Essendon and Hawthorn have both been keen but it would be a major surprise if he didn’t end up in royal blue and white.

Andrew Slevison

Pick 4​

George Wardlaw (North Melbourne)

George Wardlaw may have endured an injury-interrupted 2022 season, but his highlights package would have Roos fans salivating.

With North Melbourne hopeful of building a list that can contend in years to come under Alastair Clarkson, the club needs a more consistent performance out of the middle.

Wardlaw is a strong, powerful midfielder who would be expected to start in the Roos’ midfield next year and have an immediate impact.

The club also can’t afford another draft error, and Wardlaw – a local Melburnian – appears one of the best chances to become an AFL star.

Seb Mottram

Pick 5​

Mattaes Phillipou (Essendon)

The South Australian may have the highest upside of this crop, and that’s what Essendon should be aiming for with this pick.

While the likes of Elijah Tsatas, Bailey Humphrey and Jhye Clark are still on the board, the Bombers have long possessed average-to-small-sized midfielders and Phillipou could offer them that bigger body.

With an ability to hit the scoreboard as well, the 190cm Phillipou could be the game-breaker the Bombers desire.

He’s not lacking in confidence and as he’ll still be 17 by the time he’s drafted, could have considerable improvement in him.

Lachlan Geleit

Pick 6​

Bailey Humphrey (Gold Coast)

Bailey Humphrey could be a great final piece of the puzzle for Gold Coast as an impact player inside 50 and through the midfield.

He could slot comfortably into the half-forward line for the Suns next year and give them a dynamic option to replace the x-factor lost by the departing Izak Rankine.

If the Suns are picking only on best available talent, Humphrey is a great option here at pick six.

Nic Negrepontis

Pick 7: Jhye Clark (Hawthorn)

The Geelong Falcons and Vic Country skipper is exactly the type of player that Hawthorn could plug into its midfield for the next decade or so.

He is an in-and-under player who runs both offensively and defensively, possesses plenty of courage and wins his own ball.

Clark has been heavily linked with hometown club Geelong, especially given his ties to retired premiership captain Joel Selwood and the similarities in which they play.

The Cats would love to take Clark but the Hawks could scupper their plans and snap him up the pick prior, ironically at number 7 where Selwood was drafted in 2006.

Andrew Slevison

Pick 8​

Elijah Tsatas (Geelong)

If Elijah Tsatas gets as far as pick 8, Geelong would be over the moon.

Tsatas was a top-five prospect in many phantom drafts given his attributes inside and outside the contest. He’s also a hard-at-it midfielder with the ability to run and carry the footy, a rare mix of skills for a youngster.

The Cats have few deficiencies on their list and if they miss out on Jhye Clark, will likely look to take the best player available, in this case, Tsatas.

Seb Mottram

Pick 9​

Reuben Ginbey (West Coast)

The highest-rated Western Australian in this year’s draft, many think Reuben Ginbey was the reason behind West Coast dropping back in the order from pick two.

If the big-bodied midfielder is available, West Coast will surely snap him up, particularly as their on-ball stocks begin to age.

Was a standout at the draft combine and the Eagles would be thrilled to pick up a player that won’t be affected by the ‘go home’ factor.

Lachlan Geleit

Pick 10​

Cameron Mackenzie (St Kilda)

This would be a great situation for the Saints, landing their own Academy player despite not being able to match a bid on him since those rules changed.

Mackenzie has developed into a damaging midfielder who can win the ball and use speed and agility on the outside to do some damage.

St Kilda has consistently sought after match-winning talent and an elite kicking outside midfielder already familiar with the club would be a perfect outcome.

Nic Negrepontis

Pick 11​

Oliver Hollands (Carlton)

Carlton could do with a player like Oliver Hollands.

He has a huge aerobic tank allowing him to run all game as a wingman who can push into other areas of the ground. His versatilty in that he can operate through the midfield and off half-back would no doubt be attractive to the Blues.

St Kilda is also keen on Hollands so if they opt to go with Cameron Mackenzie or someone else with their pick prior, then it leaves the door wide open for Carlton to pounce.

Hollands is the younger brother of talented Gold Coast youngster Elijah who was taken with pick 7 in 2020.

Andrew Slevison

Pick 12​

Elijah Hewett (Western Bulldogs)

The Western Bulldogs haven’t taken a midfielder in the first round of the draft since 2018 and before that, Marcus Bontempelli in 2013.

The club no doubt has a packed on-ball unit, but with the need to refresh and continue preparing for the future, Hewett could be the best available at the time.

Hewett, out of Western Australia, has already proved he can match it with the bigger bodies when playing WAFL for Swan Districts and holding his own.

He’ll continue improving and the Dogs could look to develop him with the view of being one of the club’s leading midfielders in five years time.

Seb Mottram

Pick 13​

Jedd Busslinger (West Coast)

Another West Australian prospect for the Eagles to select, Jedd Busslinger has been described as the best key defender in his draft group.

With Reuben Ginbey likely already selected by the Eagles by this stage, Busslinger is another local product that the club would love to get their hands on.

Standing at 196cm, Busslinger is assured defensively and has some genuine attacking tricks with lovely kicking skills and intercept ability.

A no-brainer as the last West Australian available that’s considered a first-round prospect.

Lachlan Geleit

Pick 14​

Matthew Jefferson (Melbourne)

Melbourne needs a key forward and Matthew Jefferson will be the best one on the board at their draft spot – assuming they don’t trade up, as is rumoured.

Jefferson is a 195cm key forward who excels on the lead and could spend a year learning under the likes of Ben Brown and Tom McDonald before taking over long term.

The Demons can afford to look to the future with their draft pick and need to address key forward depth beyond 2023.

Nic Negrepontis

Pick 15​

Lachie Cowan (Sydney)

The Swans certainly have one of the most balanced best 22s across the league and could go a number of different ways with their two early picks.

But Lachie Cowan suits the Swans. A big-bodied half-back with a booming left foot who also can push into the midfield, Cowan would slot in nicely with the Swans' quick style of play.

He was a joint winner of the Morrish Medal in the NAB League to suggest he’s got the talent to make an immediate impact and given he’s a Tasmanian, the Swans won’t have to worry too much about the go-home factor for at least a few seasons.

Seb Mottram

Pick 16​

Jaspa Fletcher (Brisbane)
Matching GWS’ bid

A definite top-15 pick in the eyes of many draft experts, it’s unlikely GWS would let Fletcher slide even further than pick 16.

Brisbane did plenty of work throughout the trade period to secure enough draft capital to feel comfortable matching bids for Fletcher and Will Ashcroft and both will become Lions.

Fletcher is a talented midfielder who has the versatility to feature in several roles and push forward to hit the scoreboard.

Seb Mottram

Pick 17​

Alwyn Davey Jnr (Essendon)
Matching GWS’ bid

After losing Bobby Hill in the trade period, GWS would love to get their hands on the top-rated small forward of this draft crop in Alwyn Davey Jnr.

Unfortunately for them, Essendon has already committed to matching a bid for the father-son prospect and their bid sees the goalsneak join the Bombers inside the first round.

Davey will end up at the Bombers, it’s just a matter of when and this seems to be about his draft range.

Lachlan Geleit

Pick 18​

Edward Allan (GWS)

A tall midfielder who excelled at the draft combine, Ed Allan is a player bolting up draft boards.

His size coupled with his speed and agility make him a tantalising prospect and the Giants could do worse than taking a flier on the West Australian.

With the Giants already adding a key forward, they should have a look at the high-upside midfielder.

Nic Negrepontis

Pick 19​

Lewis Hayes (Collingwood)

Collingwood would love a promising key defender on their list and Lewis Hayes fits the bill.

He has plenty of defensive capabilities but is also adept at the intercept side of the game which has become so important in recent years.

The Magpies recruited Billy Frampton in the trade period as a potential quick fix in a key defensive post to play alongside Darcy Moore, Jeremy Howe and Nathan Murphy, with Hayes potentially seen as one for the future.

Hayes is the younger brother of Port Adelaide ruckman Sam.

Andrew Slevison

Pick 20​

Harry Barnett (Sydney)

Could the Swans take a slight risk with their second pick and go with a ruckman?

Harry Barnett is considered by many to be the best ruck available in this year’s draft crop and the Swans have been showing interest.

There are similarities to Brodie Grundy who was taken with pick 18 in 2012.

The Swans could add a quality big man with scope to take over from Tom Hickey and Peter Ladhams in the coming years.

Andrew Slevison

Pick 21​

Josh Weddle (GWS)

The athletic defender has been touted to go earlier in the piece and the Giants would be happy to see his name on the board at pick 21.

The Vic Metro product starred at the combine as he finished top 10 in the 20-metre sprint, 2km time trial, vertical jump and running vertical jump.

Combine that athleticism with strong defensive abilities and the Giants will be glad to pick up a player with an impressive upside.

Lachlan Geleit

A lot of Carlton fans think Hollands to them is a lock but they could surprise. I do wonder what happens if they don't take him. Elite tank and a two way runner, it doesn't show up on highlights packages but it's still damn important.
Geez Hollands sounds like Hunter

There are two. Van Es is 18 and out of NAB league. Already got a big body and heaps of potential and development ahead of him, but more raw. A real physical KPD type. Phillips is an elite interceptor at VFL level and is ready to step in and play.
Be happy with either of these with our 3rd but preparing for both being there and us taking someone random (but interesting) instead!

From what I've seen and read Alan has tested fast but doesn't really show it in games where McKenzie has shown an ability to burst away from packs.
Alan is slightly taller than the 188 cm McKenzie but that doesn't necessarily mean he plays tall or is good overhead.
Aside from that McKenzie is the best kick in the draft, can win hard balls, can accumulate and use it in the outside.
I'd take McKenzie if there. If Geelong don't take Jhye Clark I wonder who will..could slide a bit if they don't. Not really a priority for us either.

Dalrymple has said the Swans are very interested in Weddle and Barnett. But also looking at possible making draft day trades.

Looking like Weddle and Hayes will now both be gone by pick 21. Pies very into Hayes and Clarke.

The SSP thing confuses me a little bit. Surely there is not a high chance of 'missing out' on these kinds of players (and it wouldn't make that much of a difference if you did), and as delisted players it is hard to believe they are categorically better than every player that will be available at your rookie selection. So why not wait 'til the rookie draft and see who's on the board?
SSP means we can bring Baker, Rowe & whoever else to train on with us though before deciding - which is a good option IMO if we haven’t really decided on Baker as Dom suggested

Dalrymple has said the Swans are very interested in Weddle and Barnett. But also looking at possible making draft day trades.

Looking like Weddle and Hayes will now both be gone by pick 21. Pies very into Hayes and Clarke.
Yeah which is why I want Buss I just can’t see Weddle and Hayes falling to 21 and I think Van Es will be gone before 39.

I’d love to be ballsy this draft, we very rarely screw up high picks. One of Hollands/Allen at 11, trade next years pick into one of Swans for Weddle, Hotton/Jones/Clarke at 21, Van Es at 39.

Or even better Buss at 11, trade back in for Allen and then the same at 21/39. That would be my dream draft I think

Yeah which is why I want Buss I just can’t see Weddle and Hayes falling to 21 and I think Van Es will be gone before 39.

I’d love to be ballsy this draft, we very rarely screw up high picks. One of Hollands/Allen at 11, trade next years pick into one of Swans for Weddle, Hotton/Jones/Clarke at 21, Van Es at 39.

Or even better Buss at 11, trade back in for Allen and then the same at 21/39. That would be my dream draft I think
In all honestly, if Busslinger and Hollands are gone at 11. We could trade 11 and 39 for two picks in the late teens to early twenties. Potentially steal one of Hayes/Weddle. Whilst having a more balanced draft hand over all. Especially if there is a player at 11 that another team really wants. Another option would be to trade 21 up into the mid teens.

I don't care what or how we trade. As long as we do not touch any of the two first round picks next year.

I'm getting the vibe we won't CHASE a defender. Been way more links between the Dogs and forward mids, small forwards and wingers. But rather very little talk on the defender front, aside from a possible interest in bidding for Michaelanney. Like if one is there, then yay we will consider him. But we won't sell the farm to trade up for one. We could be confident in the inclusion of Jones, Darcy, and one of Bruce/Naughton, along with an improved defensive structure around the ground. Think we are going for a little more X factor in the middle, to forward third of the ground.

In all honestly, if Busslinger and Hollands are gone at 11. We could trade 11 and 39 for two picks in the late teens to early twenties. Potentially steal one of Hayes/Weddle. Whilst having a more balanced draft hand over all. Especially if there is a player at 11 that another team really wants. Another option would be to trade 21 up into the mid teens.

I don't care what or how we trade. As long as we do not touch any of the two first round picks next year.

I'm getting the vibe we won't CHASE a defender. Been way more links between the Dogs and forward mids, small forwards and wingers. But rather very little talk on the defender front, aside from a possible interest in bidding for Michaelanney. Like if one is there, then yay we will consider him. But we won't sell the farm to trade up for one. We could be confident in the inclusion of Jones, Darcy, and one of Bruce/Naughton, along with an improved defensive structure around the ground. Think we are going for a little more X factor in the middle for forward third of the ground.
I think there’s been a fair bit of talk about defenders too though actually which I’ve been happy to hear, but yeah agreed a lot of talk on wingers and smaller forwards too so for once I’m aligned with our list managers in our needs 😂

Unfortunately I agree with those who think that Weddle/Hayes will not be available at 21. Really interested to know who we would rate out of Busslinger/Allen even though chances are one of them is gone. Really like Busslingers swagger and kicking action and Allen could be a fast 195cm winger we need. Id be happy with either but both will take a couple of years minimum. Dont mind the views of those thinking buss due to no other KP being available later, glad to hear we wont reach though and just take the best available.

I wonder if Jhye Clark could slide to us? for example if geelong pick Humphry/Ginbey. Couldn’t see Carlton taking Clark with all their inside mids. Saints might have a choice with Clark against Tsatas or Mackenzie they would probably take one of them over Clark. Outside chance but it could happen. Would be the heir to Libbas throne as the king of the coalface. No dunkley and Libba being 30+ and two acl’s mean he could use some more mates.

Hopefully there are some obscure picks like that Joe Richards in the late first round so that someone higher up the board slides out to us. We have been linked to Cowan a fair bit and after reading up on him more and watching the limited footage available I can see how it could work well for us.

Can anyone else see us liking Jacob Konstanty? Only chose footy in under 16’s so plenty of upside. Already has shown he has plenty of tricks and elite tackling pressure. Any chance he slides to 39? Highly unlikely he slides that far probably but we could be thinking that if we do keep the current picks that one of Konstanty/Jones/Clarke/Drury might slide there and if not we take best available and grab James Rowe as SPP?

Unfortunately I agree with those who think that Weddle/Hayes will not be available at 21. Really interested to know who we would rate out of Busslinger/Allen even though chances are one of them is gone. Really like Busslingers swagger and kicking action and Allen could be a fast 195cm winger we need. Id be happy with either but both will take a couple of years minimum. Dont mind the views of those thinking buss due to no other KP being available later, glad to hear we wont reach though and just take the best available.

I wonder if Jhye Clark could slide to us? for example if geelong pick Humphry/Ginbey. Couldn’t see Carlton taking Clark with all their inside mids. Saints might have a choice with Clark against Tsatas or Mackenzie they would probably take one of them over Clark. Outside chance but it could happen. Would be the heir to Libbas throne as the king of the coalface. No dunkley and Libba being 30+ and two acl’s mean he could use some more mates.

Hopefully there are some obscure picks like that Joe Richards in the late first round so that someone higher up the board slides out to us. We have been linked to Cowan a fair bit and after reading up on him more and watching the limited footage available I can see how it could work well for us.

Can anyone else see us liking Jacob Konstanty? Only chose footy in under 16’s so plenty of upside. Already has shown he has plenty of tricks and elite tackling pressure. Any chance he slides to 39? Highly unlikely he slides that far probably but we could be thinking that if we do keep the current picks that one of Konstanty/Jones/Clarke/Drury might slide there and if not we take best available and grab James Rowe as SPP?
Konstanty will go late first early second round. No way his available at 39 Drury should be still available, clarke is 50/50

I'd love him, but surer than sure he's going to GWS at 15 or 18.

I wonder if Jhye Clark could slide to us? for example if geelong pick Humphry/Ginbey. Couldn’t see Carlton taking Clark with all their inside mids. Saints might have a choice with Clark against Tsatas or Mackenzie they would probably take one of them over Clark. Outside chance but it could happen. Would be the heir to Libbas throne as the king of the coalface. No dunkley and Libba being 30+ an

He's one I think could slid IF Geelong pick someone else. He's a gun but lacking burst/pace which is something I'm hoping for.