2022 Federal Election Watch

Part 2 can be found here

dude if you think Australia is capable of doing this right you have no idea about how Aus Government IT "functions"

we'd chuck it all in mygov, something that was designed with centerlink in mind and nothing else, oh and that the government outsources most of the work on...

I dunno about that. MyGov isn’t the greatest example, but Australia has multiple vast databases talking to each other across immigration, visa compliance, criminal intelligence, selective national security data, customs, education and I think even tax data is rolled in there - plus permitting selective legislated reporting uploads from various public and private sectors. Combined it forms the largest complex data gathering system in the Southern Hemisphere. It is hugely protected, never goes down at all in a decade and a half of my dealings with it and is to date hack resistant (so far as anyone is aware).

I think if we really wanted to, we could develop the capability for secure voting. It wouldn’t be quick to do so obviously - the roll out of jobseeker and jobkeeper online crashes would suggest that we can’t do these things quickly. But given time and some funding, it will happen.

Don’t get me wrong, I think our system is good. I was just interested in why we couldn’t do electronic voting.

And the answer seems to be we’re not as smart as Estonia.
We can do it. It would mean going away from the MyGov platform though, as I doubt it is fit for purpose

Love election time when all these swinging voters start thinking about the "economy" (their hip pocket) and vote Liberal because they gave them a tax cut.

Same people who will then whinge about govt not doing enough to help them when there's a flood, a fire or their childcare costs are going up or they can't get a subsidy for their new ute.

Its not rocket surgery - less money in, less money able to be spent, less services.

Get a brain!!!

My solution would be to lift the tax free threshhold then lift the GST to 20% with a 30% luxury items.

Isn't that why the LNP flattened the tax rates?

The Australian Story on Cathy McGowan gave me faith in humanity. She is quietly going around on her own coin helping all the TEALS and the woman who are standing for them are impressive units that have had successful lives outside of Parliament. The cardboard cut out hacks we get from Labor and Liberals cannot compare. I love when Mon Ryan said in the debate to Frydenburg "you would not know what its like to work in a hospital" - His response?: My Dad's a surgeon, my brother is E and T specialist".....
These are the actual "real world experience" types you'd want in parliament.

The UAP grifters on the other hand...

They'll all just be voting LNP anyway, but it's a bit of hope that we might pull out of the fundie success cultists we have now.

I dunno about that. MyGov isn’t the greatest example, but Australia has multiple vast databases talking to each other across immigration, visa compliance, criminal intelligence, selective national security data, customs, education and I think even tax data is rolled in there - plus permitting selective legislated reporting uploads from various public and private sectors. Combined it forms the largest complex data gathering system in the Southern Hemisphere. It is hugely protected, never goes down at all in a decade and a half of my dealings with it and is to date hack resistant (so far as anyone is aware).

I think if we really wanted to, we could develop the capability for secure voting. It wouldn’t be quick to do so obviously - the roll out of jobseeker and jobkeeper online crashes would suggest that we can’t do these things quickly. But given time and some funding, it will happen.
we don't want to
the cost of doing it properly is prohibitive
and it's also something that is much more public, specific and easy to target than what you're talking about, whether to hack it or ddos it

police academy GIF

We can do it. It would mean going away from the MyGov platform though, as I doubt it is fit for purpose
MyyGove isn't even fit for the purposes it is currently being used for.
But it is a cash cow for consulting companies and we know how they love to come up with new ways to get more money

we don't want to
the cost of doing it properly is prohibitive
and it's also something that is much more public, specific and easy to target than what you're talking about, whether to hack it or ddos it

police academy GIF

MyyGove isn't even fit for the purposes it is currently being used for.
But it is a cash cow for consulting companies and we know how they love to come up with new ways to get more money
My Gov is horrid, but various of the linked systems within are fine. Taxation and fiscal data is gold standard in Australia, and depends on application uploads from individuals and businesses. A vastly complex system which self audits and regulates, and is stratospherically more user friendly for things like tax return applications then any form based manual system prior. It’s not beyond the capacity of Australia to create an effective online voting system. Would cost less than nuclear subs too.

My experience with Government services and IT gives me no confidence they'd do it the right way

Its not rocket surgery - less money in, less money able to be spent, less services.

Get a brain!!!

My solution would be to lift the tax free threshhold then lift the GST to 20% with a 30% luxury items.

Isn't that why the LNP flattened the tax rates?
The Coalition at least realised that we tax income too heavily, but neither party has the appetite to properly fix the tax system.

We need to cut the top personal tax rate, cut the corporate tax rate for large multinationals to be competitive with the rest of the OECD, and raise the GST

The Coalition at least realised that we tax income too heavily, but neither party has the appetite to properly fix the tax system.

We need to cut the top personal tax rate, cut the corporate tax rate for large multinationals to be competitive with the rest of the OECD, and raise the GST

we need more tax brackets going higher up
our tax system is gradually becoming less progressive
AFR can eat a massive bag of dicks

My experience with Government services and IT gives me no confidence they'd do it the right way
I work with the immigration / education database which is dependent on businesses reporting daily - so it has a public interface and has to be useable for any number of randoms stinking it up. I reckon it can be done if there is an appetite for it. Fraud prevention and detection is a biggie, but fraud can infiltrate our existing system anyway.
The appetite for it is a sticking point. And the potential cost.

However well it functioned though, I can already here the cries of the bogans “STOP THE STEAL” whenever any election doesn’t go their way. I’m curious to know how they will mentally cope with the extensions to permit phone voting. I’m almost hoping from a really good public melt from lunatics should the government be ousted. They should probably cover the shrine in something urine-proof

Agreed many of the services are below standard. I suck it up until action is taken cos one alternative is privatisation with all the associated pitfalls.

Multinationals don't pay tax - cutting their rate is irrelevant.

If you want PAYG tax payers to pay less tax, how about corporations start paying tax at all.

How many people on the top personal tax rate actually pay that rate on everything they earn?

Raise the GST - immediate impact on lower income earners.

I'm sure the Nine-owned AFR took that into consideration though, eh?

Multinationals don't pay tax - cutting their rate is irrelevant.

If you want PAYG tax payers to pay less tax, how about corporations start paying tax at all.
You will see less profit shifting if you have a more reasonable corporate tax rate

30% is way above the OECD median (which I think is around 23%)

This is a less progressive tax system.

I don't think the problem with the tax system at the moment is that it taxes the rich too much.

I think it doesn't tax foreign businesses enough (if at all).