2022 Membership Updates

Tiges top the charts yet get 28k to their home game where were the other 65,000 members
Crows got 30k+ from their 40,000 members to home game against freo last week.
Covid is pretty much the reason.

• Vaccination requirements
  • Routines disrupted
  • Anxiety being in crowded spaces.

I mean it's not a 'Richmond' issue, St kilda and Collingwood merely got 40,000 too.

Pretty annoying for things to be spun into a 'Richmond' issue - record low crowds all round. It will take months, maybe years to build trust in crowds again. Victoria was smashed with lockdowns and restrictions.

Covid is pretty much the reason.

• Vaccination requirements
  • Routines disrupted
  • Anxiety being in crowded spaces.

I mean it's not a 'Richmond' issue, St kilda and Collingwood merely got 40,000 too.

Pretty annoying for things to be spun into a 'Richmond' issue - record low crowds all round. It will take months, maybe years to build trust in crowds again. Victoria was smashed with lockdowns and restrictions.
Isn’t there covid in adelaide
I think it’s more to do with fishy memberships or an uncanny ability by the marketing team to signup lots of fair weathers.
Grand final rematch from a few years ago at the 100,000 seat mcg tiges having 95000 members 28k
Crows vs freo neither team has played finals for 4+ years they’re memberships added together is less then tigers yet over 30k attend game.

I think it’s more to do with fishy memberships or an uncanny ability by the marketing team to signup lots of fair weathers.
Grand final rematch from a few years ago at the 100,000 seat mcg tiges having 95000 members 28k
Crows vs freo neither team has played finals for 4+ years they’re memberships added together is less then tigers yet over 30k attend game.

Every Richmond final at the MCG has averaged over 90,000 this century. This record is untouched- nor have Collingwood, Carlton or Essendon have come close to this.

Including,

- 91,000 against NORTH MELBOURNE 2014 Elimination Final

- 95,000 against GWS 2017 Preliminary Final
Collingwood in comparison in the 2019 Preliminary final got 68,000 against GWS at the MCG coming off a Grand final in 2018 and favouritism for the 2019 flag.

No other team can do that 🤷‍♂️

Also

- Richmond hold the record crowd for the AFL game in Tasmania, Queensland and drew over 60,000 against Essendon at Optus Stadium for Dreamtime.

But yes, please continue to analyse Richmond's post covid attendances with zero idea or research 🙂

These numbers are produced through promotion and time slot the crowds go as an event more then the love for the tigers.
Pre covid I was at the g for tiges dockers 38,000 went.
The numbers look good because of the event promotion which the afl are involved in to for fill the mcg contract obligations.
Games that are not advertised heavily or are in a Sunday slot (that some teams supporters have to put up with every week ) are very poorly attended.
Afl giving tiges more money then freo from 2012-2021 but having 100s of 1000 more members shows there’s a lot of theatre goers not as many dyed on wool supporters as they have you believe

Every Richmond final at the MCG has averaged over 90,000 this century. This record is untouched- nor have Collingwood, Carlton or Essendon have come close to this.

Including,

Collingwood in comparison in the 2019 Preliminary final got 68,000 against GWS at the MCG coming off a Grand final in 2018 and favouritism for the 2019 flag.

Also

- Richmond hold the record crowd for the AFL game in Tasmania, Queensland and drew over 60,000 against Essendon at Optus Stadium for Dreamtime.

But yes, please continue to analyse Richmond's post covid attendances with zero idea or research 🙂

You might want to do your research. First of Collingwood v gws in the preliminary final Drew 77,828 in pouring rain. Collingwood is 9.2 million in total home and away attendance’s in front of Richmond. Also In 2019 Collingwood was 1st In attendance’s after the home and away season and is the only club to draw over 1.2 million people during the home and away season which the pies have done on 6 occasions including drawing 1,306,604 people in 2010!!

Not sure Sunday Afternoon is really that much of a toxic timeslot anyway

It didn’t stop 38,200 turning to what was billed 17th vs 18th in round 1 (which was only 3-4k lower than the average MCG attendance between the teams over the past decade)

Based on ticket sales and availability this Sunday’s game might get to 60,000 as well.

That said it is the 1.10pm slot and not the 3.20 slot (albeit during daylight savings)

Over the past decade comparable Sunday MCG games have drawn strongly - more so than Saturday Night games.

What is pretty obvious is that Richmond fans (after 5-6 seasons as a legitimate contender) have a bit of match day fatigue which happens to all clubs who have spent 5-10 years at the top end of the tree

You might want to do your research. First of Collingwood v gws in the preliminary final Drew 77,828
Whilst Richmond got 95,000 at the G.

Just confirming, is 95,000 more than 77,000? Let me know.

Also - your final against West Coast in Melbourne, 68,000 - Richmond have eclipsed Collingwood and you are wasting your time with your delusional posts. Join your mate pieslebo- he thankfully went away

Whilst Richmond got 95,000 at the G.

Just confirming, is 95,000 more than 77,000? Let me know.

Also - your final against West Coast in Melbourne, 68,000 - Richmond have eclipsed Collingwood and you are wasting your time with your delusional posts. Join your mate pieslebo- he thankfully went away

The 2011 final is not a fair comparison.

The average MCG attendance for all finals was significantly larger in 2015/2019 than it was in 2007/11.

Otherwise you will argue that Melbourne is larger than Collingwood on the basis of their 90,000 plus finals against Geelong and Hawthorn in 2018 which is a farcical argument.

Evidently in 2006 - before the golden era of MCG finals crowds - Melbourne drew 67,000 to a Friday Night final against the Saints.

In 2005 they drew 65,000 against Geelong and in 2004 ‘just’ 61,000 against Essendon.

The average MCG attendance for all finals was significantly larger in 2015/2019 than it was in 2007/11.

Otherwise you will argue that Melbourne is larger than Collingwood on the basis of their 90,000 plus finals against Geelong and Hawthorn in 2018 which is a farcical argument.

Evidently in 2006 - before the golden era of MCG finals crowds - Melbourne drew 60,000 to a Friday Night final against the Saints
Collingwood's final against GWS was in 2019. They drew 77,000.

Richmond haven't drawn a home final of under 83,000 this century and all their finals have drawn over 90,000 in Victoria during the Brendon Gale era. That is remarkable

Richmond and Brisbane broke the attendance record in Queesland. Richmond and Essendon drew 60,000 in Perth and Richmond/Hawthorn (I think) have the record in Tassie.

Collingwood's final against GWS was in 2019. They drew 77,000.

Richmond haven't drawn a home final of under 83,000 this century and all their finals have drawn over 90,000 in Victoria during the Brendon Gale era. That is remarkable

Richmond and Brisbane broke the attendance record in Queesland. Richmond and Essendon drew 60,000 in Perth and Richmond/Hawthorn (I think) have the record in Tassie.
I agree

I’m just making the observation re Collingwood v West Coast in 2011.

Probably the comparable Collingwood attendance to the Richmond v GWS game was the 2002 PF ‘lock out’ against Adelaide (89k) which outdrew PF’s including Ess v Haw (86.5k), Ess v Carl (84.7k and 80.5k) and the Rich v Carl SF which did not draw 90k in 2001 (83.3k).

Ditto the 85.5k that turned up to the Ess v WCE SF in 1996 (which drew close to the 88.3k at the Ess v Rich SF in 1995)

In 2015/19 any final featuring Ess, Rich, Carl and Haw (for the benefit of comparison) drew 90k with a 48 hour member pre-sale lockout.

So that is the fair comparison not Coll v GWS in 2019.

Richmond’s most impressive attendance during their finals run was easily the North Melbourne final in 2015 (and I’m not sure any club could have drawn 90k plus to a Sunday afternoon EF against the lowest drawing Victorian club).

Essendon by comparison drew 77,000 to a Saturday Night final in 2014.

Including,

Also

Whatever. Not mentioning majority of that 60,000 crowd in Perth last year were Essendon supporters. And the 40,000 at the Collingwood / St Kilda game was declared an official sell out well before match start. And the ‘record’ crowd Richmond purportedly holds in Tasmania is probably only in place because covid has capped attendances the last 12 months, with that Hawthirn / Essendon game last year selling out the UTAS stadium in 1hiur with a 75% capacity cap.

Point being, statistics often lack context and clarity. And whilst I don’t share the view of the ‘RonnieRavem’ on his assertion of the stark mismatch on memberships to attendances, we can quote statistics in absolute terms and still distort reality..

Not sure Sunday Afternoon is really that much of a toxic timeslot anyway

It didn’t stop 38,200 turning to what was billed 17th vs 18th in round 1 (which was only 3-4k lower than the average MCG attendance between the teams over the past decade)

Based on ticket sales and availability this Sunday’s game might get to 60,000 as well.

That said it is the 1.10pm slot and not the 3.20 slot (albeit during daylight savings)

Over the past decade comparable Sunday MCG games have drawn strongly - more so than Saturday Night games.

What is pretty obvious is that Richmond fans (after 5-6 seasons as a legitimate contender) have a bit of match day fatigue which happens to all clubs who have spent 5-10 years at the top end of the tree
Offsetting these headwinds, it’s a Hawthorn member replacement game which pumps up the crowd probably ~5,6000.. Also, the 1:10 Sunday game is perfect for families and I’m guessing that this will be a ‘kids free Sunday’ game? Two rivals in a very early top of the ladder clash is generating decent interest.

It should drag in around 55,000 in good weather conditions.

Agree on the Richmond matchday fatigue factor. Although I’d argue, if I can, that Richmond isn’t quite as sexy as it was 2-3 years ago. The shiny Ferraris are now Melbourne and god forbid, Carlton!?

My experience living across the country is irrespective of membership numbers Collingwood has the most supporters that are serious about their football team irrespective of ladder position.
Richmond get big numbers and are a great club the system works in their favour.
but like a fisherman’s tale the size increase over time more then the actual.
Put it this way if I lived in the city and had no kids I would probably get a Richmond membership to have access to the opening game of the season a Friday night and a Anzac eve game.
It’s cheaper then getting ga to those events but I’m certainly not a supporter.

Evidently in 2006 - before the golden era of MCG finals crowds - Melbourne drew 67,000 to a Friday Night final against the Saints.

In 2005 they drew 65,000 against Geelong and in 2004 ‘just’ 61,000 against Essendon.
Those 2004/5 finals crowds were achieve when the stadium was under construction. That Demons / Bombers final in 2004 was noteworthy for the MCC members reserve being temporarily relocated to the newly opened Ponsford Stand directly behind the goals. Probably one of few time Demons fans have had to sit behind the goals… Joke of course😄

You really trying to compare the Adelaide covid experience with the Melbourne one? With due respect to the difficulties faced by South Australians, their plight is incomparable to what Victorians went through. And there's no doubt there's still quite a lot of residual anxiety about large public gatherings, especially when so many have now become conditioned to the availability of such a blanket TV coverage.

Bums on seats is no longer the only way to gauge passion for a footy club.

Good one

If you're lucky to play the Tigers in a final, youll get your first non-gf crowd in the 90,000 mark.

Richmond will get their 9,000th
Yeah yeah yeah all the bandwagoners and glory hunters will turn up I get it

When will they consistently draw decent home crowds vs interstate sides relative to their membership base though

I think to measure the strength of a supporter base, crowds against interstate teams in the H&A season is one of the stronger metrics to rely upon.

Number of times a club has recorded 50,000+ against interstate teams:
  • West Coast = 19 (all at Optus Stadium)
  • Collingwood = 15
  • Adelaide = 12 (all at Adelaide Oval)
  • Sydney = 8 (all at Stadium Australia)
  • Hawthorn = 7 (all against Sydney, bar one)
  • Essendon = 6 (5 at the MCG, 1 at Marvel)
  • Richmond = 4 (all between 2017-2019)
  • Port Adelaide = 3 (all in 2014)
  • Melbourne = 2
  • St Kilda = 1
All other teams haven't been able to record a crowd of 50,000+ against an interstate team.

I think to measure the strength of a supporter base, crowds against interstate teams in the H&A season is one of the stronger metrics to rely upon.

Number of times a club has recorded 50,000+ against interstate teams:
  • West Coast = 19 (all at Optus Stadium)
  • Collingwood = 15
  • Adelaide = 12 (all at Adelaide Oval)
  • Sydney = 8 (all at Stadium Australia)
  • Hawthorn = 7 (all against Sydney, bar one)
  • Essendon = 6 (5 at the MCG, 1 at Marvel)
  • Richmond = 4 (all between 2017-2019)
  • Port Adelaide = 3 (all in 2014)
  • Melbourne = 2
  • St Kilda = 1
All other teams haven't been able to record a crowd of 50,000+ against an interstate team.
Although how can this accuracy’s reflect Carlton or Essendon’s interstate pulling power when they can really only get around 45,000 into a home game at Marvel? I can count numerous examples of sell outs against the Lions, Eagles and Swans in Essendon’s better years on field that have drawn between 43,000-50,000.

I’d be more inclined to review 40,000+ crowds as a more accurate measure however Marvel will never draw as well as the MCG because most AFL members won’t go there and MCC have no access. Eg: Essendon V Swans 60,199 (9th Vs 10th) in 2019 would’ve been your garden variety 43-45,000 at Marvel equivalent.

Either way, it’s difficult to find accurate measures as some clubs have had much more recent success than others the last 10 - 20 years when overall attendances boomed on back of 3 game memberships, kids free Sundays etc.

Although how can this accuracy’s reflect Carlton or Essendon’s interstate pulling power when they can really only get around 45,000 into a home game at Marvel? I can count numerous examples of sell outs against the Lions, Eagles and Swans in Essendon’s better years on field that have drawn between 43,000-50,000.

I’d be more inclined to review 40,000+ crowds as a more accurate measure however Marvel will never draw as well as the MCG because most AFL members won’t go there and MCC have no access. Eg: Essendon V Swans 60,199 (9th Vs 10th) in 2019 would’ve been your garden variety 43-45,000 at Marvel equivalent.

Either way, it’s difficult to find accurate measures as some clubs have had much more recent success than others the last 10 - 20 years when overall attendances boomed on back of 3 game memberships, kids free Sundays etc.
I agree, it's flawed in some aspects but it does provide a clue on the strength of a supporter base.

Essendon and Carlton playing many home games at Marvel makes it difficult to measure. I think if Essendon was a tenant of the MCG, they'd be similar to Collingwood.

2022 Membership Updates