Review 2022 Mid season review

Why wouldn't the AFL or Collingwood PR want him to say that?

Round 23 We play Carlton. Winner gets a place in the finals. Carlton win by a point. At Vossy’s presser after the game he‘s asked what’s behind the win? Amongst the credits he mentions how Simon Goodwin gave him good tips for how to shut down our rebound attack, which Melbourne learnt the week before when we played them.

You might be cool to hear that, but some might not be happy about it.

The club should strongly consider bringing in Leon Cameron as head of development or football manager role, he always did a great job at keeping a very young GWS side in line.

Montagna - on the First Crack program lauded our defensive back 7, as equal to any in the competition. We are 4th best defence this season but 2nd behind Freo since Rd. 4. We are number one for intercepts, number 2 for intercepts marks.

Asked where can we finish with our defence and game plan - he said Prelim final.

You want the club go after the media and keep giving this thing oxygen?!?!

The club are doing what they need to do to shut this thing down so they can move on and concentrate on their footy.

There are no good options for the club. They’re basically doing the least worst option …

… of a situation they had nothing to do with and no control over.

No,

After Degs rightly shoved it up the media's clacker, they should've said nothing.

No suspended fine, no 'personal leave' (we all know it was a suspension).

Just 'no comment, we feel the incident is now over, no comment'.

And if the bleeding heart w***** cnut media wanna go on with it, fine, just say nothing.

Let’s not forget the AFL put out a presser saying “We’re happy with the penalty Collingwood have handed down and the AFL will not be taking any part in this”

You want Caro to announce on FC that her sources at AFL house are unhappy with Collingwood ignoring it, so they intend to investigate the matter and hand down their own sentence?

And if tiny % of the public wanna lose their sh*t over nothin, then fine, I'll enjoy those wowsers misery.

I don’t doubt that the circles many of us move in, it might seem like a tiny percentage. But what if in reality it’s not? What if politicians, women’s NGOs, women’s rights advocates pile on and drive publicity around this?

What if the sponsors put us under pressure?

What if our own members put us under pressure?

What if it starts affecting team performance?

At what point do you just say ‘enough’?

Best practice in 2022 is to just apologise, be contrite, shut it down, and move on.

Sick and tired of this club bending over and coppin pineapples for the perpetually outraged while throwing our own players under the bus.

Nobody is throwing anybody under the bus. Do you think any less of Q or Ginni for apologising for their TikToking?

Me neither.

Their apology has kept their good reputations intact.

The coaches, the FD, the players and us fans are united, that cnut Anderson can shove his c*ck in a meat grinder as far as I'm concerned and the rest of em need their heads kicked in for being spineless cnuts.

Just think about a minute. You’re defending the bloke who put his face on the front page of the Herald Sun, and you’re going after the bloke who is trying to s**t it down?!?

And the senior coach has publicly backed the club’s response and explained why and what he’s trying to do.

I reckon the club have handled this mostly the least worst way. I’m a lot more upset with the bloke who got his face on the front page of the Herald Sun. Yet again.

Let’s not forget the AFL put out a presser saying “We’re happy with the penalty Collingwood have handed down and the AFL will not be taking any part in this”

You want Caro to announce on FC that her sources at AFL house are unhappy with Collingwood ignoring it, so they intend to investigate the matter and hand down their own sentence?
Couldn't give a sh*t what Caro does, the best thing the club should've done was shut up, after Degs rightly tore the media a new one.
I don’t doubt that the circles many of us move in, it might seem like a tiny percentage. But what if in reality it’s not? What if politicians, women’s NGOs, women’s rights advocates pile on and drive publicity around this?
Well then you're speculating, you'd be moronic to think the majority of society in this country is out for blood for some bloke flirtin with a chick in Bali.

Hope you're not one of those perpetually outraged wowsers.
What if our own members put us under pressure?
Lol, the members probably want pull the clubs admins collective heads off and sh*t down their necks. And rightly so.
Best practice in 2022 is to just apologise, be contrite, shut it down, and move on.
By shutting down you mean the club bends over to media pressure to give Degs personal leave (read suspension, you'd be dumb to think its' not). I:e tells the media where to insert the pineapple.

Yeah nah, f* that.
Nobody is throwing anybody under the bus.
The club just suspended a player and handed him a suspended fine for doing nothing wrong, that's throwing a player under the bus.
Just think about a minute. You’re defending the bloke who put his face on the front page of the Herald Sun, and you’re going after the bloke who is trying to s**t it down?!?
It's not about defending Degs, it's about our wimpy admin bending over to the media.

Like I said, what Degs 1st said, then that's it - no more comments about it. Those faeces in the media can cry about it as much as they want.

What would the AFL do then? Seeing how Degs did nothing illegal, they can't.

Them and the media can eat a bag of razor blades as far as I'm concerned.
And the senior coach has publicly backed the club’s response and explained why and what he’s trying to do.
What, you expect him to publicly state what he really thinks? Don't be so naive.

Sounds like you want our club to wimp out like they did coz you're scared what a wowser minority might think.

I’m a lot more upset with the bloke who got his face on the front page of the Herald Sun. Yet again.

If you're upset about some bloke flirtin with a chick, coz of 'optics' - then you're upset about basically most things in life on a daily basis.

You'd probably be upset at IQ and Gini on the tik tok video.

Are you upset that it's not saint like behaviour or the fact that they all got caught doing nothing wrong?

What, you expect him to publicly state what he really thinks? Don't be so naive.

Sounds like you want our club to wimp out like they did coz you're scared what a wowser minority might think.

Nup, I want it to be sorted out, and we move on.

Whilst JDG is on ‘personal leave‘ and is yet to front the media, this thing will continue to get talked about.

If you're upset about some bloke flirtin with a chick, coz of 'optics' - then you're upset about basically most things in life on a daily basis.

You'd probably be upset at IQ and Gini on the tik tok video.

Are you upset that it's not saint like behaviour or the fact that they all got caught doing nothing wrong?

Footy players should be allowed to fly to Bali with their partners in their break and play consenting hanky panky in a nightclub.

But that‘s not the world we live in.

Just don’t film it. If it didn’t get filmed, nobody would know about it, nobody would be judging it, nobody would be outraged, it wouldn‘t be on the front page of the Herald Sun, and we wouldn’t be talking about it.

Footy players should be allowed to fly to Bali with their partners in their break and play consenting hanky panky in a nightclub.

But that‘s not the world we live in.

Just don’t film it. If it didn’t get filmed, nobody would know about it, nobody would be judging it, nobody would be outraged, it wouldn‘t be on the front page of the Herald Sun, and we wouldn’t be talking about it.

He didn't film it.

So are you outraged they got caught? Or are you one of those perpetually outraged on behalf of someone else / group at the world for nothing to see here things?

What's it gonna be? Do you want footballers to be saint like role models or do you want them to be who they are and not get caught being who they are?

Do you want the club to actually stand up to the media or do you want them to fold like a cheap suit? Like they have?

He didn't film it.

So are you outraged they got caught? Or are you one of those perpetually outraged on behalf of someone else / group at the world for nothing to see here things?

What's it gonna be? Do you want footballers to be saint like role models or do you want them to be who they are and not get caught being who they are?

Do you want the club to actually stand up to the media or do you want them to fold like a cheap suit? Like they have?

Doing wild jiggy jiggy with your consenting partner is totally OK.

Setting up a tripod and video camera in your bedroom to film you and your consenting partner doing wild jiggy jiggy is also totally OK …

… but if it gets out, expect there to be consequences. Especially if you’re somebody in the public arena. Especially if you’re a fit footy player in the public arena. Especially if you’re a fit footy player in the public arena with a lengthy rap sheet.

This is nothing new. Swanny ran foul of this (dick pics). IIRC Travis Cloke did too.

Nick Reiwoldt and Ricky Nixon ran foul of this even when the pics / video were taken without their consent.

Ginnivan? Or do you mean IQ?

First timers, they apologised quickly, their matter disappeared out of the papers a quick as it came in, their matter has ended.

Moving along nicely so far this season and if we make the finals, it’s an unexpected bonus. Miss out, then we are still headed in the right direction rather than cellar dwellers.

I do wonder however (and as good as they are and can potentially be), will the return of Grundy and JDG make us a better team, level out or perhaps destabilise our current mix that seems to be working just fine.

Doing wild jiggy jiggy with your consenting partner is totally OK.

Setting up a tripod and video camera in your bedroom to film you and your consenting partner doing wild jiggy jiggy is also totally OK …

… but if it gets out, expect there to be consequences. Especially if you’re somebody in the public arena. Especially if you’re a fit footy player in the public arena. Especially if you’re a fit footy player in the public arena with a lengthy rap sheet.

This is nothing new. Swanny ran foul of this (dick pics). IIRC Travis Cloke did too.

Nick Reiwoldt and Ricky Nixon ran foul of this even when the pics / video were taken without their consent.

So you still haven't answered these questions.

What is your issue here? Before you answer here is mine.

The club (Anderson) publicly stating (paraphrase),

'We're sorry that Jordy is a bogan like 20 odd yo that flirts with chicks, we will suspend him by calling it personal leave and give a suspended 25k fine. We are going to do this because the media won't shut up and all this only way to appease an unrealistic minority in society'

Given we were supposed to be competing with North for biggest basket case this year, it is very hard to be disappointed with where we are at!
You get a like for your profile pic of Beau exposing Callan Ward's breasts.

Montagna - on the First Crack program lauded our defensive back 7, as equal to any in the competition. We are 4th best defence this season but 2nd behind Freo since Rd. 4. We are number one for intercepts, number 2 for intercepts marks.

Asked where can we finish with our defence and game plan - he said Prelim final.
If his face is anything to go by it must breaking his heart.

I do wonder however (and as good as they are and can potentially be), will the return of Grundy and JDG make us a better team, level out or perhaps destabilise our current mix that seems to be working just fine.
Do you realise that Jordy has only missed one game and played in the wins against Melb, freo and Carlton?

Yeah I’m not saying he’s crap. We all know he’s a good player (potentially a lot better. Something else we all hope can be). But let’s say he misses another few and our team keeps on performing as good as it has been, where does JDG actually sit in the team? Always a certainty or a handy edition if you can think about it a bit more than just by name and numbers.

He sits in the team as a massive upgrade on Chugg. Winning a game against a lowly placed competitor doesn't mean those out of the team on the day are unimportant.

But yes, we focus too much on the individual, forgetting that it's a team game and all blokes can be replaced and covered for.