BigFooty Official 2022 OFFICIAL BIGFOOTY PHANTOM DRAFT

PICKS AND ORDER
Nov 7, 2017
GWS
Manchester City, Collingwood AFLW
IF YOU WANT TO READ THROUGH THE THREAD AND ONLY SEE THE SELECTIONS RATHER THAN COMMENTARY FROM NON-DRAFTERS, CLICK 'READER MODE' NEXT TO YOUR 'WATCH' BUTTON

If you want to read a specific player profile/ selection, you can use the 'Search' function on the top right of your page, and change the area from 'Everywhere' to 'This Thread'

Round 1
Pick 1 - Brisbane - Will Ashcroft [Matched Bid]
Pick 2 - GWS - Aaron Cadman
Pick 3 - North Melbourne - Harry Sheezel
Pick 4 - North Melbourne - George Wardlaw
Pick 5 - Essendon - Elijah Tsatas
Pick 6 - Gold Coast Suns - Mattaes Phillipou
Pick 7 - Hawthorn - Cam MacKenzie
Pick 8 - Geelong - Darcy Jones
Pick 9 - West Coast Eagles - Jhye Clark
Pick 10 - St Kilda - Bailey Humphrey
Pick 11 - Carlton - Lewis Hayes
Pick 12 - Western Bulldogs - Reuben Ginbey
Pick 13 - West Coast Eagles - Elijah Hewett
Pick 14 - Melbourne - Matthew Jefferson
Pick 15 - Sydney - Jedd Busslinger
Pick 16 - GWS - Oliver Hollands
Pick 17 - Essendon - Alwyn Davey [Matched Bid]
Pick 18 - Brisbane - Jaspa Fletcher [Matched Bid]
Pick 19 - Collingwood - Isaac Keeler
Pick 20 - Sydney - Brayden George
Pick 21 - GWS - Jacob Konstanty

Round 2
Pick 22 - GWS - Coby Burgiel
Pick 23 - West Coast Eagles - Olli Hotton
Pick 24 - Western Bulldogs - Josh Weddle
Pick 25 - North Melbourne - Lachlan Cowan
Pick 26 - Hawthorn - Charlie Clarke
Pick 27- Collingwood - Harry Barnett
Pick 28 - West Coast Eagles - Henry Hustwaite
Pick 29 - Adelaide - Max Michalanny [Matched Bid]
Pick 30 - Collingwood - Mitch Szybkowski
Pick 31 - St Kilda - Max Gruzewski
Pick 32 - Carlton - Ed Allan
Pick 33 - Fremantle - Jed Hagan
Pick 34 - GWS - Harry Rowston
Pick 35 - St Kilda - Harry Lemmey
Pick 36 - Port Adelaide - Kobe Ryan
Pick 37 - Melbourne - Nick Sadler

Round 3
Pick 38 - Western Bulldogs - Jaiden Magor
Pick 39 - North Melbourne - Tom Scully
Pick 40 - Hawthorn - Anthony Munkara
Pick 41 - Sydney - Adam D'Aloia
Pick 42 - North Melbourne - Cooper Harvey
Pick 43 - Fremantle - Jed Adams
Pick 44 - Gold Coast Suns - Sam Gilbey
Pick 45 - St Kilda - James Van Es
Pick 46 - Hawthorn - Brandon Leary
Pick 47 - Carlton - Billy Dowling
Pick 48 - Hawthorn - Jake Walker
Pick 49 - Collingwood - Jakob Ryan
Pick 50 - Hawthorn - Cooper Vickery
Pick 51 - Richmond - Phoenix Foster
Pick 52 - Essendon - Bailey MacDonald
Pick 53 - GWS - PASS
Pick 54 - Geelong - Hugh Davies

Round 4
Pick 55 - Adelaide - Jonti Schuback
Pick 56 - Port Adelaide - Ryan Eyers
Pick 57 - GWS - PASS
Pick 58 - Essendon - Jack O’Sullivan
Pick 59 - Richmond - Harvey Gallagher
Pick 60 - Geelong - Lachlan Scannell
Pick 61 - Adelaide - Will Verrall
Pick 62 - Hawthorn - Jerome Lawrence
Pick 63 - Carlton - Blake Drury
Pick 64 - Fremantle - Jaxon Binns
Pick 65 - Essendon - Jayden Davey
Pick 66 - Western Bulldogs - Ethan Phillips
Pick 67 - North Melbourne - PASS
Pick 68 - Gold Coast Suns - Josh Draper
Pick 69 - Essendon - PASS
Pick 70 - Gold Coast Suns - Tyrell Dewar
Pick 71 - Sydney - PASS
Pick 72 - Fremantle - Noah Long

Round 5 (To get teams to 3 picks)
Pick 73 - Port Adelaide - Kyle Marshall
Pick 74 - Richmond - Luke Teal
Pick 75 - Melbourne - Harry Cole
Pick 76 - Brisbane - Tom McCallum

BID Matching details
Pick 1 Will Ashcroft - Brisbane use Picks 34,35,36,38,55 and take on a 150 point deficit for 2023

Pick 17 Alwyn Davey - Essendon use Pick 23 to match

Pick 18 Jaspa Fletcher - Brisbane have no picks with points, so take on a bigger deficit with the Ashcroft one

Pick 29 Max Michalanny- Adelaide use 44 and 53 to match, 53 moves to 61

2023 MINI DRAFT ORDER
Pick 1 - North Melbourne - Harley Reid
Pick 2 - West Coast Eagles - Daniel Curtin
Pick 3 - GWS - Ashton Moir
Pick 4 - Essendon - Nick Watson
Pick 5 - Adelaide - Zane Duursma
Pick 6 - Gold Coast Suns - Jed Walter [MATCHED Bid]
Pick 7 - Hawthorn - Archer Reid
Pick 8 - North Melbourne (From Port Adelaide) - Nate Caddy
Pick 9 - St Kilda - Koltyn Tholstrup
Pick 10 - Carlton - Riley Hardeman
Pick 11 - Western Bulldogs - Jack Delean
Pick 12 - GWS (From Richmond) - Will Lorenz
Pick 13 - Melbourne (From Fremantle) - Sam Frangalas
Pick 14 - Melbourne - Nathan Philactides
Pick 15 - Western Bulldogs (From Brisbane) - Will Patton
Pick 16 - Collingwood - Cooper Simpson
Pick 17 - Sydney - Riak Andrew
Pick 18 - Geelong - Jayden Matz

Collingwood National Draft recap:

Pick 27 - Collingwood - Harry Barnett

Honestly it's probably the most excited I've been in one of these Phantom Drafts. At each pick I got the player I wanted and barring a ridiculous slider in the Top 20, it was how I hoped it would go if I had planned it at the start. With the first pick I figured I had to go either Keeler or Barnett and settle for Sibba with the second, but then realising that Sibba might drop past Eagles, I had no worries picking up Barnett (who I correctly guessed would target a ruck). Then from about the mid-30s I was hoping Ryan might be a slider, and was top of my list for a long time. When it got close I kept refreshing the page and was very pleased to get him so late.

From a positional perspective, we picked up a tall pairing who could form a future ruck-forward duo for many years, and we are known for taking SA prospects. Keeler could be anything and Barnett is the standout ruck in the draft. In my eyes, Sibba is a young Tom Mitchell with a few extra tricks if he can be developed right. He also fits a perfect need of being that inside ball-winner. Ryan isn't a particular need, but the fact he could come in and release one of our defender-mids would be pleasing. Impressively could take the opponent Howe always takes to free him up. All in all, pretty ecstatic with what I was able to grab with the picks I had.

dinnaz

Dec 26, 2011

Honestly it's probably the most excited I've been in one of these Phantom Drafts. At each pick I got the player I wanted and barring a ridiculous slider in the Top 20, it was how I hoped it would go if I had planned it at the start. With the first pick I figured I had to go either Keeler or Barnett and settle for Sibba with the second, but then realising that Sibba might drop past Eagles, I had no worries picking up Barnett (who I correctly guessed would target a ruck). Then from about the mid-30s I was hoping Ryan might be a slider, and was top of my list for a long time. When it got close I kept refreshing the page and was very pleased to get him so late.

From a positional perspective, we picked up a tall pairing who could form a future ruck-forward duo for many years, and we are known for taking SA prospects. Keeler could be anything and Barnett is the standout ruck in the draft. In my eyes, Sibba is a young Tom Mitchell with a few extra tricks if he can be developed right. He also fits a perfect need of being that inside ball-winner. Ryan isn't a particular need, but the fact he could come in and release one of our defender-mids would be pleasing. Impressively could take the opponent Howe always takes to free him up. All in all, pretty ecstatic with what I was able to grab with the picks I had.
Nailed it

Sep 9, 2008
adelaide
Port Adelaide

I think that’s an insanely good haul.

Pick 73 - Kyle Marshall
Pick 73 - Port Adelaide

Kyle Marshall - South Adelaide

201cm - 84kg - Key Defender

Just call this kid Kyle Potential. Happy to nab him here and is the perfect late pick for Port to give time to develop. Port need tall defenders for the future and picking up Eyers and Marshall, both with genuine height, athleticism and potential is something that should make them pretty happy.

Kyle's efforts at the state combine is what really caught my eye. Quick, huge leap, good endurance shows he has the athletic profile for modern day AFL football and his football IQ isn't bad either. He's a fine user of the ball and knows how to get a spoil in. Has shown he can pinch hit in the ruck and looms as a Dougal Howard lite type to develop for a couple of seasons in the SANFL.

Gosaints12

Sep 10, 2018
Ferrari
Pick 31 | St. Kilda | Max Gruzewski | 193cm 84kgs | 3rd Tall Utility

With pick 31, the Saints have gone with high-flying swingman Max "Easiest Hollow Knight Mini-Boss" Gruzewski. Gruz brings a spark of high-flying excitement to a Saints team that will look to use him as a swinging 3rd tall, either up in the forward line or down back as an interceptor. At 193cm, Max is more suited to playing off his opponent but has shown he can shut down a key forward if required. Composed skills-wise, his disposal is good while leaving little to chance, taking the safe option out of defence and keeping a level head. His leaping ability jumps off the page, flying high over packs to clunk strong marks. This is the facet of Max's game that translates best up forward, as a pack crasher he reads the ball well and gets his hands on the footy first. His kicking for goal is confident if not a tad limited range-wise. He projects as a developing tall that will grow his game in the VFL for a few seasons, finding his best position and building a more specialised skillset upon his athletic and solid foundation as a footballer.

Arr0w
yes. Great pick

Pick 74 - Luke Teal
Mar 26, 2017
Inner Sanctum
GBay-WSox-Bulls-Blackhawks-LSU-UNC
Richmond will not take 3, but we are doing it here anyway and whilst it is a speculative pick at best normally, I cannot believe this kid is still here, in this long mock draft, who stuffed up…..

Richmond - Luke Teal - 190cm 80 kg - Def

Whilst he has a few things to work on including his strength in the contest, his positives far out way his negative. He is very composed, a great user of the ball and identifier of dangerous kicks and mostly makes them with a high efficiency. He has hurt factor with his smarts and use of the ball including long damaging kicks opening up the offensive attack for his team. He is such a cool head under pressure and has a high footy IQ who had a bad year with injury but showed everyone the glimpses of his talent.
With not many picks taken this year in the real draft he maybe, because of his injury year, be on the edge of a national pick, but I was stoked to see him still here in this mock and I’m not going past this talent here.

next up is Melbourne with ModernArtillery

Gosaints12

Sep 10, 2018
Ferrari
Swans very happy for this one
Pick 41 - Sydney - Adam D’Aloia
186cm - Midfielder

Taking a lot of smaller players in recent years the Swans should look at a midfielder with some size and although D’Aloia lacks athleticism and skill by foot his one wood is contested possessions/clearances and he does this just about better than anyone else in the draft pool.

Players Considered: Sam Gilbey
yeah steal, well played

Pick 75 - Harry Cole
Sep 19, 2018
Pick 75 - Melbourne
Harry Cole
Medium forward
Claremont/WA

Justification

I'm really just looking for a kid who has a chance to make it over fit/need at this point.

Cole had some pretty nice moments in the carnival this year for WA and possesses some traits that I really value. He's a nice size at around that 186cm, he has good speed and he's really capable aerially. He's a dual position threat as someone who can hit the scoreboard, but can also push up and add some speed and class around the footy. He's got a fair bit of work to do on his contested game if he's going to be a pure midfielder (which is probably unlikely), but I see a pathway for him to be a solid wing/half forward option at AFL level.

Others considered
Archie Lovelock, Caleb Mitchell, Toby McMullin, Tom McCallum

TDS7

Pick 76 - Tom McCallum
Jun 24, 2019
Pick 76 | Brisbane Lions | Tom McCallum | 192cm 78kgs

At this point, I've just gone with my highest-rated player left on the board. Tom's a project tall with a ton of upside, a high-marking, run-and-gun tall. With the potential to become the steal of the draft, McCallum gives a bit of x-factor off half-back with his intercepting and burst. He reminds me a bit of Changkouth Jiath in his first year, a very bouncy and fast interceptor who loves to get up and go with the footy in hand. This 6'4" energizer bunny attitude comes at the cost of some suspect kicking and a wire-thin frame that makes him a bit too easy to push around in the backline. Still, this late in the draft the Lions would be thrilled to pick up a guy with his potential, even if he does have to spend a few years in the VFL honing his skill set and developing his body.

roos_fanatic08 start us up with the easiest pick of the thread for 2023.

MD Pick 2 - Daniel Curtin
2023 Mini Draft.

Pick # 2. West Coast. Daniel Curtin.
196 cm 92 kg. Key Position Player.
Claremont. Scotch College.

Write up latter.

PMBangers your up.

Jun 24, 2019
Easily the first two picked, both look like absolute superstars. Curtin has such fluid movement for a KPP-sized backman and could be a position-defining player across halfback, the benchmark for defenders to either be bigger, faster, or better kicks, but rarely all.

Thunderstruck

Aug 19, 2003
Seaford Meadows, SA
Central District
Pick 61 - Adelaide
Will Verrall
Ruckman
South Adelaide/South Australia

Justification

The Crows have a few ruck options on their list but none really have the scope to dominate the ruck contest in the way that Verrall does. Adding some athleticism and follow-up capability in the ruck department by the way of a local product felt like a good option this deep in the draft.

+ I want to see Thilthorpe forward long term. I think that's where he maximises his value as a pick 2.

Verrall is an athletic ruckman who has genuine follow-up ability. His leap allows him to get first hands to the ball and his ability to win the ground ball makes him a real attacking threat, particularly at centre bounce. He's physical in the contest too, where his tackling adds a defensive element to his game. He's surprisingly capable by foot and his contested marking has come along too. His forward craft needs some work, as does his tank, but there's enough there to suggest that with a few years of development he could be a number 1 ruck at AFL level.

Others considered
Harry Cole

Davo-27

Nice one mate, I'd have taken him with the pick before, certainly good value anywhere after 50

Oct 1, 2006
Everton, Storm, Victory
His goal kicking is shocking but his field kicking is good, he has an absolute cannon of a leg and he's actually really good at the short low darting kicks, around the ground kicking i rate tbf.
I think it’s not necessarily going to be a problem. The way he moves and shoots is from dynamic scenarios and often chaos. He reminds me of early career Greene, first few years was a shocking kick, fitness grows as does time in possession and now is one of the best users in the comp.

Dewyyyyy

Oct 28, 2020
I think it’s not necessarily going to be a problem. The way he moves and shoots is from dynamic scenarios and often chaos. He reminds me of early career Greene, first few years was a shocking kick, fitness grows as does time in possession and now is one of the best users in the comp.
Greene isn't close to one of the best users in the comp.

Humphrey reminds me alot of a Clarry but with more penetration in his kicking, Oliver also was super poor but made heaps of improvements.

Oct 1, 2006
Everton, Storm, Victory
Greene isn't close to one of the best users in the comp.

Humphrey reminds me alot of a Clarry but with more penetration in his kicking, Oliver also was super poor but made heaps of improvements.
Disagree on Greene, he went at 66% conversion rate for goal this year which is friggin elite. 4 of the 5 years he's gone 1.8 or more goals per game he's converted at over 61%. Especially good from the dynamic ways he scores. I think only Lynch is going better. Hawkins who no-one would question his usage is going at 61%.

MD Pick 3 - Ashton Moir
Nov 7, 2017
GWS
Manchester City, Collingwood AFLW
2023 MINI DRAFT
Pick 3 - Gws - Ashton Moir
Glenelg | SA
General Forward/ Midfielder
186 cm 77 kg

Arguably one of the most skilled players currently in the underage system, including those from this years draft class, Moir is a natural talent that uses both sides of the body to devastating effect. Listed at 186 cm, you'd be forgiven for thinking Ashton was 195 cm with the way he plays as a forward target at times, with his attack on the footy aerially incredibly impressive, and his work to get separation equally so. As the top level trends more and more towards speed, players that can bring that plus outstanding footy IQ are worth their weight in gold, and Moir will do just that.

He's played mostly forward as a 17 year old this year with some impressive goal tallies, but I'm really excited to see him move into the midfield next year and really shoot himself up draft boards, which may be hard given where he's likely to start on them. In his limited time through the guts so far, he's shown that he's a capable stoppage player and accumulator, but often is most damaging when he can break free and receive the ball via a mark or handball from congestion

Also considered Archer Reid who I'm extremely high on, the King twin comparisons will come and rightfully so for Archer, but it looks like there's so much talent in the 2023 first round early on that it's hard to separate

eDPS

Dewyyyyy

Oct 28, 2020
Disagree on Greene, he went at 66% conversion rate for goal this year which is friggin elite. 4 of the 5 years he's gone 1.8 or more goals per game he's converted at over 61%. Especially good from the dynamic ways he scores. I think only Lynch is going better. Hawkins who no-one would question his usage is going at 61%.
Good kick for goal, not an elite kick in general, Breust for example is the same.

Oct 1, 2006
Everton, Storm, Victory
Good kick for goal, not an elite kick in general, Breust for example is the same.

Field kicking above average too, especially from about 60-70 out, hitting low bullets, their forward line is just trash except for Hogan so no one ever gets separation and doesn't convert to end product.