Prediction 2022 Phantom Drafts

A lot of maybe the Afl did this, maybe that, could have, should have. Not a single sentence about him taking responsibility for his own actions. One strike policy for inflicting violence on a woman. What, are you suggesting there should be two strike, three strike policy. The man has shown to be a terrible human, who it appears does not have ability to learn or to adjust his behavior. It is not the Swan's responsibility to make him an agreeable human. That was primarily parental responsibility and once of age it is his own responsibility.

And as I posted. Times have changed.

Jones is short, but also built like a flyweight. He's up against it imo.

He certainly is and Rana history suggests that “IF” players of his stature and position are picked up it’s generally as a rookie.

So how he fares in the remainder of the WAFL season will have a huge bearing on determining IF any Club takes a punt with a rookie pick.

That said it was a pretty impressive league debut last weekend.

He certainly is and Rana history suggests that “IF” players of his stature and position are picked up it’s generally as a rookie.

So how he fares in the remainder of the WAFL season will have a huge bearing on determining IF any Club takes a punt with a rookie pick.

That said it was a pretty impressive league debut last weekend.
Perhaps Fremantle might take a punt as they have Walters (176), Crowden (175), Western (175) and Colyer (173) on their list - which suggests they aren't afraid to draft smaller players.

Also a few of those guys might not be on the list in 2023.

I hope you are right.

I don't think clubs have a problem picking players 177-180cm and as you say there are plenty of those on AFL lists.

But AFL listed players 170-176cm are rare (4% currently) and I think they make recruiters nervous but here's hoping for the best for Jones and Hagan and others. It would be great to see them get a gig.
the question is what position will he be recruited for. For WA he played as a mid. Nick Watson is 168cm but will be drafted as a small fwd. Whats Jones fwd craft like? Having said this as I said he will get drafted. Hes good enough to be given an opportunity.

I reckon small forward is his position at senior level. That's more or less the role he played for Swan Districts league on the weekend. Maybe worth a try as a replacement for Walters and I think he's a bit better than Western.

I would imagine that at the next level he plays a bit like the Jeff Garlett type role that he played at Carlton and Melbourne.

Jones certainly has blistering pace.

Agree on the Western comment.

agree. how'd he go? any snags?
Yeah went well. 13 disposals and 2 goals.

But he actually kicked 3 I reckon because his first goal was credited to Kemp, who marked the ball behind the goal line and turned around and kicked it through to be certain.

But I think the way the goal umpire set himself and straightened up he had already decided that Jones's kick cleared the line.

1. Brisbane - Will Ashcroft
Match bid from North.
2. North Melbourne - George Wardlaw
As much as North don’t need another midfielder, he’s best available.
3. West Coast Eagles - Elijah Hewett
Gun midfielder with excellent defensive work rate. Exactly what the Eagles need.
4. GWS - Harry Sheezel
Highly rated for/mid. Not out of the conversation for North at pick 1.
5. Adelaide - Elijah Tsatas
High performance, neat kicking mid. Crows would love to get him.
6. Essendon - Jhye Clark
Continues the rebuild of Essendon’s engine room.
7. Hawthorn - Cam MacKenzie
Classy onballer. A complete midfielder who grew over the carnival
8. Port Adelaide - Mattaeus Phillipou
Local hero who would fit nicely into the Power midfield.
9. GC Suns - Jedd Busslinger
Should be the first ‘tall’ taken at the draft. A bargain at pick 9.
10. Western Bulldogs - Lewis Hayes
Key defender from Eastern Rangers. Fills a need.
11. Richmond - Aaron Cadman
Tall forward. Preparation for life after Jack and Tom.
12. St Kilda - Matthew Jefferson
Mobile tall/med forward. One of my favourite players to watch this year.
13. Brisbane - Jaspa Fletcher
Match bid from Carlton. Best wing in the draft.
14. Carlton - Oliver Hollands
Wing/Outside mid who can run and carry.
15. Fremantle - Brayden George
Medium forward from Murray Bushrangers.
16. Sydney - Reuben Ginbey
Draft bolter from WA. Modern game half back.
17. Collingwood - Harry Lemmey
Pies take the best available KPF.
18. Sydney - Isaac Keeler
Athletic forward who can chop out in the ruck.
19. Geelong - Mitch Szybkowski
Inside mid from Dandenong Stingrays

ROUND TWO

20. Richmond - Henry Hustwaite
194cm defender from Vic Country
21. West Coast - Adam D’Aloia
First touch, two-way midfielder. Good value at this pick.
22. GWS - Tom Scully
KPFwho kicked 20 goals from his first 4 games this year for West Adelaide.
23. Adelaide - Jakob Ryan
Another local to add to the midfield mix.
24. Essendon - Sam Gilbey
Defender. Good decision maker with neat disposal.
25. Hawthorn - Bailey Humphrey
By popular demand.
26. West Coast - Jed Hagan
Defender who has had stints mid and forward where he didn’t look out of place.
27. GC Suns - Anthony Mankara
Entertaining and skillful forward. Another of my favourites.
28. Western Bulldogs - Harry Barnett
Best available ruck in the draft
29. Adelaide - Max Michalanney
Match bid from Richmond
30. Richmond - Lachlan Cowan
Smooth moving half back from Tassie
31. St Kilda - Jackson Binns
High possession wing and capable forward.
32. Carlton - Hugh Davies
Under-rated tall defender from Claremont. Stays involved.
33. GC Suns - Jacob Konstanty
Small forward with good defensive game.
34. Sydney - Jackson Broadbent
Ruckman from WA. Excellent value at this pick.
35. GC Suns - PASS
36 Essendon - Alwyn Davey Jnr
Match bid from Melbourne
37. Melbourne - Blake Drury
High production wing who can transition forward
38. West Coast - Tyrell Dewar
Match bid from Geelong
39. Geelong - Olli Hotton
Small mid/forward from Sandi.

ROUND THREE

40. Western Bulldogs - Josh Weddle
41. GWS - Olivier Northam
42. Melbourne - Jonti Shuback
43. Collingwood - Archie Lovelock
44. GC Suns - PASS
45. Collingwood - Callum Verrell
46. Collingwood - Noah Long
47. St Kilda - Luke Teal
48. Geelong - Ted Clohesy
49. Brisbane - Noah Bradshaw (match bid)
50. Hawthorn - Darcy Jones
51. Geelong - Hudson O’Keefe
52. Pt Adelaide - Nick Sadler
53. GC Suns - PASS
54. Fremantle - Jasper Scaife (match bid)
55. Melbourne - Corey Tregenza-Cashell
56. Geelong - PASS

ROUND FOUR

57. North Melbourne - Jacob Van Es
58. Pt Adelaide - Kobe Ryan
59. GWS - Ben Hempel
60. GWS - PASS
61. Essendon - Kane Bevan
62. Geelong - PASS
63. Carlton - Finn Emile-Brennan
64. Hawthorn - Harry Cole
65. Western Bulldogs - PASS
66. North Melbourne - Charlie Clark
67. Melbourne - PASS
68. Carlton - PASS
69. GC Suns - PASS
70. Sydney - PASS
71. GC Suns - PASS
72. Melbourne - PASS
73. Fremantle - no idea

I would be extremely surprised if Nate Caddy went 4th round. I expect him to go much, much later but also a lot earlier.

Match bid from North.
Gun midfielder with excellent defensive work rate. Exactly what the Eagles need.
4. GWS - Harry Sheezel
6. Essendon - Jhye Clark

ROUND TWO

22. GWS - Tom Scully
25. Hawthorn - Darcy Jones
Mid/forward with good skills and excellent burst of pace. Knows where the goals are.
Match bid from Richmond
35. GC Suns - PASS
Match bid from Melbourne
Match bid from Geelong

ROUND THREE

44. GC Suns - PASS
47. St Kilda - Luke Teal
49. Hawthorn - Noah Bradshaw
50. Geelong - Hudson O’Keefe
51. Pt Adelaide - Nick Sadler
52. GC Suns - PASS
53. Fremantle - Jasper Scaife (match bid)
54. Melbourne - Corey Tregenza-Cashell
55. Geelong - PASS

ROUND FOUR

56. North Melbourne - Jacob Van Es
57. Pt Adelaide - Kobe Ryan
58. GWS - Ben Hempel
59. GWS - PASS
60. Essendon - Kane Bevan
61. Geelong - PASS
62. Carlton - Finn Emile-Brennan
63. Hawthorn - Harry Cole
64. Western Bulldogs - PASS
65. North Melbourne - Charlie Clark
66. Melbourne - PASS
67. Carlton - PASS
68. GC Suns - PASS
69. Sydney - PASS
70. GC Suns - PASS
71. Melbourne - PASS
72. Fremantle - no idea
You can slide Brisbane in to one of those later GC picks, as we’ll definitely be trying to trade back in to the draft for a KPP.

Match bid from North.
4. GWS - Harry Sheezel
6. Essendon - Jhye Clark

ROUND TWO

22. GWS - Tom Scully
25. Hawthorn - Darcy Jones
Mid/forward with good skills and excellent burst of pace. Knows where the goals are.
Match bid from Richmond
35. GC Suns - PASS
Match bid from Melbourne
Match bid from Geelong

ROUND THREE

44. GC Suns - PASS
47. St Kilda - Luke Teal
49. Hawthorn - Noah Bradshaw
50. Geelong - Hudson O’Keefe
51. Pt Adelaide - Nick Sadler
52. GC Suns - PASS
53. Fremantle - Jasper Scaife (match bid)
54. Melbourne - Corey Tregenza-Cashell
55. Geelong - PASS

ROUND FOUR

56. North Melbourne - Jacob Van Es
57. Pt Adelaide - Kobe Ryan
58. GWS - Ben Hempel
59. GWS - PASS
60. Essendon - Kane Bevan
61. Geelong - PASS
62. Carlton - Finn Emile-Brennan
63. Hawthorn - Harry Cole
64. Western Bulldogs - PASS
65. North Melbourne - Charlie Clark
66. Melbourne - PASS
67. Carlton - PASS
68. GC Suns - PASS
69. Sydney - PASS
70. GC Suns - PASS
71. Melbourne - PASS
72. Fremantle - no idea

Do you expect Bailey Humphrey to go undrafted or is it an oversight?

I wanted to be sure I could justify every pick. It just worked out he went undrafted in this phantom along with a few others I like; Luke Brown and Steely Green in particular. He's pretty hard to place for mine. I certainly rate him as a draftable talent.

I'd be grabbing him with the Dogs' passed pick any day of the week.

It's pretty easy to justify Humphrey:

He's an outstanding player and one of the best attacking midfielders in the country for his age.

There, done. He'll be a top 25 pick for sure. I'd be fuming if the hawks passed on him for Darcy Jones when he is exactly the mid we need.

It's pretty easy to justify Humphrey:

He's an outstanding player and one of the best attacking midfielders in the country for his age.

There, done. He'll be a top 25 pick for sure. I'd be fuming if the hawks passed on him for Darcy Jones when he is exactly the mid we need.
I tried to bolter the Hawks midfield and had McKenzie to Hawks at pick 7, Jones (mid/for) and Bradshaw who is capable of ridiculous numbers.

I don't rate Humphrey in the top 25, but that's just my take. I've been tragically wrong before. Probably am again.

I tried to bolter the Hawks midfield and had McKenzie to Hawks at pick 7, Jones (mid/for) and Bradshaw who is capable of ridiculous numbers.

I don't rate Humphrey in the top 25, but that's just my take. I've been tragically wrong before. Probably am again.
Jones won't be playing midfield at AFL level, he's a flyweight who'll float off half-forward. We already have a few of those not getting a game and I'm not sure he adds anything we don't get out of Moore.

What about Humphrey do you not rate as a top pick? Apart from his kicking which admittedly can be a bit shifty when he gets ~60m out from goal he gets the ball at the bottom of packs, tackles hard, runs both ways and takes strong marks. His game against Dandenong was rather indicative of his play, a brute force bull with the strength overhead to play forward, but isn't a good enough kick to be taking all the shots he does. Nonetheless, he ran all day, crunched tackles both defensively and in the forward line and made the stingrays earn every kick out of the centre square. Do you see his kicking inside 50 as that large of a downside, or is there something else about his game I've missed?

Jones won't be playing midfield at AFL level, he's a flyweight who'll float off half-forward. We already have a few of those not getting a game and I'm not sure he adds anything we don't get out of Moore.

What about Humphrey do you not rate as a top pick? Apart from his kicking which admittedly can be a bit shifty when he gets ~60m out from goal he gets the ball at the bottom of packs, tackles hard, runs both ways and takes strong marks. His game against Dandenong was rather indicative of his play, a brute force bull with the strength overhead to play forward, but isn't a good enough kick to be taking all the shots he does. Nonetheless, he ran all day, crunched tackles both defensively and in the forward line and made the stingrays earn every kick out of the centre square. Do you see his kicking inside 50 as that large of a downside, or is there something else about his game I've missed?
As I said, I could have included him. It's just the way the draft fell. It's not the whole draft anyway, Freo, Adelaide and North (maybe others) have remaining picks. If I get around to it I'll do the rest. He'd possibly be in that group, possibly not. It's just my opinion.

My plan was to do a mid-season, post-carnival and final draft this year. I've made a call - we'll see how we go Draft week.

p.s. I don't like to point out player deficiencies.

Whaaat! Brisbane didn’t match the bid on Bradshaw.