Strategy 2022 Planning Thread

the only sc relevant player in this trade period is Dawson. rest can GAGF
Hewitt and Clark will be defenders I'm guessing.
Both should play midfield and be cheap so maybe an option.
People had Cerra last year as a premo so I would assume he is relevant next year.
Brodie will get mid minutes (I suspect he is a spud.)
I don't think there is anyone i would take. But a couple i will be keeping watch on.

the only sc relevant player in this trade period is Dawson. rest can GAGF
Hewitt if D/M under $400k would be considered. Not as mid only though.

I'll not be going there again, but Cerra as good a pick as any to jump from 90 to 100+. Personally I'm hoping him and Hewitt take some heat off Walsh.

Hewitt and Clarke will be defenders I'm guessing.
Both should play midfield and be cheap so maybe an option.
People had Cerra last year as a premo so I would assume he is relevant next year.
Brodie will get mid minutes (I suspect he is a spud.)
I don't think there is anyone i would take. But a couple i will be keeping watch on.
Brodie should be $250k odd, maybe less. Should get a chance at Freo in his best position. PS watch.

I reckon Clarke is a spud, but will have good JS. Didn't be mainly play on the wing for Geelong this season?

I'll not be going there again, but Cerra as good a pick as any to jump from 90 to 100+. Personally I'm hoping him and Hewitt take some heat off Walsh.
Serong to take Cerras mid minutes is another way to look at it.

Brodie should be $250k odd, maybe less. Should get a chance at Freo in his best position. PS watch.

I reckon Clarke is a spud, but will have good JS. Didn't be mainly play on the wing for Geelong this season?
I get the feeling both those guys have been mismanaged by there former clubs.
They both seem better than they have produced IMO.
Clark played defence when I was watching. Geelong fans may have a better idea.

Serong to take Cerras mid minutes is another way to look at it.
Serong into his third year should be still improving. I had Cerra this season and he often started on the wing with Serong at centre bounces, so he was already getting plenty of mid time.

Clarke played defence when I was watching. Geelong fans may have a better idea.
Brodie's knock has always been fitness, he improved his time trial by over 30 seconds this year, which probably shows how bad he was. Dew obviously didn't rate him, probably due to workrate/fitness issues. Changing clubs might be the kick in the arse he needs, who knows.

Clark always seems like a headless chook to me, athletically gifted, but no composure. Sounds like Scarlett didn't rate him at Geelong. As I said they will definitely give him a run in the team after the trade drama, but priced at $310k ish he's not SC relevant imo.

Serong into his third year should be still improving. I had Cerra this season and he often started on the wing with Serong at centre bounces, so he was already getting plenty of mid time.

Brodie's knock has always been fitness, he improved his time trial by over 30 seconds this year, which probably shows how bad he was. Dew obviously didn't rate him, probably due to workrate/fitness issues. Changing clubs might be the kick in the arse he needs, who knows.

Clark always seems like a headless chook to me, athletically gifted, but no composure. Sounds like Scarlett didn't rate him at Geelong. As I said they will definitely give him a run in the team after the trade drama, but priced at $310k ish he's not SC relevant imo.
Rumour has it that Dew was faster than Brodie and he said if he is still faster than him this pre season and if he does catch him he will eat him. The Suns were so concerned by this and it would probably be a bad look for the club if the coach starts eating players that it would be best to trade him out.

Definitely best for all concerned to trade him if the coach is going to eat him.

Can't believe anyone was questioning this trade really.

Clark played defence when I was watching. Geelong fans may have a better idea.

I thought Clark played a fair bit on the wing, but played as a rebounding defender as a junior?

Dunno about Brodie. Might have just been at his ceiling when he was drafted, not athletic, no real standout traits. Reckon he could still play plenty of footy next year though - just wish he was a little bit cheaper.

Hewett will likely have a career year playing as a full time mid. No idea what his scoring ceiling is though, which makes me a little hesitant. I'm keen on chucking Cerra into the midfield.

Might also mean Walsh is a wait and see. Don't want to drop him in if he's sitting on a wing.

Was just listening to the ESPN footy podcast, blokes mentioned that Dawson was a 50/29/21 split for time on ground, so he won’t have DPP.

Horne-Francis only averaged 74.2 Fantasy points a game in Sanfl.
Some bloke named Bryce Gibbs went at 109. Crows should save trading their picks and grab him instead.

10 min crash course.
Make up your own mind.

Watched the first piece of footage - seen enough. Absolute jet.

Is there any talk this year’s top 3 may approach 2001 super draft levels? Seems that both JFK (or whatever it is) and DaicsJu are putting up Walsh/Rowell numbers, and Darcy sounds like no slouch either.

Which of the 2 mids people start with could make/break a few seasons 😍

Watching that highlights package, JHF reminds me of Dangerfield but a better kick and a slimmer frame. Explosiveness and speed off the charts 📈

Love that he constantly hit the short kick out of the stoppage instead of blasting away. Very few players do that consistently. He's definitely special.

Watched the first piece of footage - seen enough. Absolute jet.

Is there any talk this year’s top 3 may approach 2001 super draft levels? Seems that both JFK (or whatever it is) and DaicsJu are putting up Walsh/Rowell numbers, and Darcy sounds like no slouch either.

Which of the 2 mids people start with could make/break a few seasons 😍
Both JHF and Daicos kick a lot of goals.
Both could be forwards next year in SC.
I have not watched as much of Daicos so I'm not certain but Horne will be.
If they both end up forwards it will make some cut price forward lines possible.

Hewett will likely have a career year playing as a full time mid. No idea what his scoring ceiling is though, which makes me a little hesitant. I'm keen on chucking Cerra into the midfield.

Might also mean Walsh is a wait and see. Don't want to drop him in if he's sitting on a wing.
2019 is probably the reference point to use for Hewett. His last season where he played predominantly as a midfielder and stayed fit.

He averaged 88 that year, but played a lot of lockdown roles. I feel like Carlton wouldn't be paying him $450k a year to play many lockdown roles, so he could push that up to 90-100.

2019 is probably the reference point to use for Hewett. His last season where he played predominantly as a midfielder and stayed fit.

He averaged 88 that year, but played a lot of lockdown roles. I feel like Carlton wouldn't be paying him $450k a year to play many lockdown roles, so he could push that up to 90-100.

We will be using him in a more proactive role at the stoppages, just can’t foresee him hitting huge numbers.

If he was 300-350k he’d a great option, but he’s awkwardly priced for a guy who’s ceiling is probably mid 90’s avg.

Still think Cerra is the best option here. Huge end to last year, which typically forecasts the following year. More time on the inside, general uptick, new club ‘bounce’

We will be using him in a more proactive role at the stoppages, just can’t foresee him hitting huge numbers.

If he was 300-350k he’d a great option, but he’s awkwardly priced for a guy who’s ceiling is probably mid 90’s avg.

Still think Cerra is the best option here. Huge end to last year, which typically forecasts the following year. More time on the inside, general uptick, new club ‘bounce’
You're seeing things that aren't there mate. One big score doesn't count as a huge end to the year.

I owned him from round 2 and he was a tease all year. He's a good player but at this stage doesn't get enough of the ball to be a SP mid. Can see him improving at Carlton, but probably not enough to be worth starting.

1634442039409.png

I rate Cerra but the fact he's at Carlton is enough for me to not pick him.

Martin, Zilliams, Saad, Mcgovern.

Can see him being just another one to the pile of overpaid players who do nothing at Carlton.

You're seeing things that aren't there mate. One big score doesn't count as a huge end to the year.

I owned him from round 2 and he was a tease all year. He's a good player but at this stage doesn't get enough of the ball to be a SP mid. Can see him improving at Carlton, but probably not enough to be worth starting.

View attachment 1262219

I’m talking statistically rather than looking at SC scores - averaged 28 touches per game. His influence was also far beyond CD, and IIRC received Brownlow votes in one of those other games, although I could be completely making that up.

I rate Cerra but the fact he's at Carlton is enough for me to not pick him.

Martin, Zilliams, Saad, Mcgovern.

Can see him being just another one to the pile of overpaid players who do nothing at Carlton.

No one was rushing to add these guys into their SuperCoach teams though.

Zilliams might have been a good option at his SC price last year, but his lack of durability (and missing round 1) counted him out.

I regret not starting Walsh last year despite knowing he’d be spending more time around stoppages. Cerra doesn’t have the same scoring ceiling, but depending on your general outlook on him as a player he’s worth considering.

Yeah, very reasonable. He's not in my very rough mind-map team, but rather in a list of players I have in mind if I need to make adjustments for $ reasons.

In 2019 he maxed out at $503.5k with a 154 and 127 in his cycle. In between that was a 78, but he was playing a pretty hard tagging role on Shiel in that game. He got injured early in the next game and finished with 31 from 47% TOG, but played the the following two weeks and posted scores of 103 and 110. Over that 10 weeks where we really backed him as a midfielder he averaged 100. That's probably the longest stretch of his career where he was backed as a midfielder, but he was still about 50/50 with respect to lockdown vs more aggressive roles.

I reckon if he ends up high enough in your midfield rotations, his ceiling could be closer to 100. But the main lure for me is that he's capable of 120+ scores, which if backed by a solid enough average, could be enough to max him out at a price point that players like Titch, Walsh, Petracca, Laird, Merrett, Guthrie, Zorko and Parish fell to or below at different points this season.