Training 2022 Pre Season

2nd ruck back up they do. Most teams throw that position around a bit unless they have an identified 2nd ruck specialist.
His hit out stats suggest he’s Pretty handy and mobile.
SANFL is a big step down from AFL in terms of rucks. At 192cm he's going to struggle to have any type of impact against quality AFL rucks.

Yes there are other clubs that use smaller players as a chop out but these players are already in the side because they are good enough to be best 22.

If Hayes can show enough as a forward to force his way in and we don't have other options than maybe it would make sense to play him in the ruck, otherwise I dont see him getting a game in front of others just because of his ruck work.

It's a bit of a mystery how he hasn't been picked up yet. He's easily the most influential player in the SANFL comp.

Start of his career he was a key forward with a really strong pair of hands - especially in a pack situation. Kicking for goal a bit iffy - but would create enough chances and work hard enough to always be of value. Perhaps 192cm, not being overly dynamic and being pigeon holed in the one position put AFL clubs off?

The last couple of years he has spent a lot of time as 2nd Ruck as well as a forward and pretty much has roamed where he likes, drifting forward to still kick a couple of goals a game, but being much more influential in play, behind the play and basically just influencing a game as he sees fit. His fitness has improved and he has shown his creativity by both foot and hand up the field to be just as valuable as being able to clunk a mark up forward.

Probably will be a similar type player to Collingwood's Brody Mihocek at AFL level.

Just one of those players you put on the park and he'll do his job and will himself to make an impact on the game. Very courageous with his attack on the ball both in the air and on the ground, hasn't missed many games through injury and has shown he can still play well with discomfort, winning the Jack Oatey medal last year despite playing with a leg fracture he sustained in a training session leading up to the Grand Final. An absolute gun at SANFL level - I hope he gets his chance. No reason he can't transfer his game to AFL level. When it comes to ticker and game awareness he is already elite and his size means he won't get pushed around.
Thanks - great write up!

Looks like we finally have our NewWave Goddard. Could go great with NewWave Lenny (Steele), NewWave Harvs (Hunter C) and NewWave Winmar (NWM)

If the gang of Suthas infiltrating the club all deliver, we're going to need to raise money to build Chris Tocé a statue.

No one is on his back?

We are discussing what areas he needs to improve on to become a quality player and discussing whether he still should get a game if he was only getting 17 touches a match next year...
Maybe not you sir, but I have seen a fair few posts on here where people are saying he doesn't do enough, he is not quick enough, he skills are not up to scratch. I am sure he is quite aware of the areas he needs to work on to reach the level that will make him a more than handy player for the saints. The kid is still learning and I am sure he is working his arse off to achieve the level that he aspires too and we all want him to be.

Yeah I don't think any of the above about him.

He's got plenty of talent, his skills are good and has enough pace for the role he plays.

He just needs to start finding more of the footy. That's not a knock on him, it's just fact.

Once he does start finding the footy 25 plus times a game he's going to be a very good footballer.

Yeah I don't think any of the above about him.

He's got plenty of talent, his skills are good and has enough pace for the role he plays.

He just needs to start finding more of the footy. That's not a knock on him, it's just fact.

Once he does start finding the footy 25 plus times a game he's going to be a very good footballer.
Very true, and I honestly believe he will get there and in the not to distant future. Cheers

Gold Coast is weighing up a move for ex-Magpies and St Kilda midfielder Nathan Freeman, who’ll train with the club this off-season after averaging 38 disposals for Frankston at VFL level in 2021.
source.gif

SANFL 2021 Grand Final Eagles vs Glenelg - YouTube

Ok because I have no life, I just spent the last two hours watching the SANFL Grand Final

Some observations.

SANFL is a pretty good standard with players like the Menzel's, Stengle, Toumpas and Mutch all showing why they played AFL.
Hayes. Actually does run a bit like Bont and Cripps :D. Played sort of CHF and relief rucked. Rucking OK, got better as the day went on ran through the guts a fair bit and swapped with Jarred Reddin who is the Eagles primary ruck (and who absolutely dominated).

Hayes is a very nice size, a very tidy kick (we all know Ratt hates a poor kicker) has lightning hands and very good decision making, tidy below his knees and can take a very good contested mark. I reckon he was involved either directly for or part of the lead up to the first eight Eagles goals.

I can see the attraction. Big bodied mature lad.

Look you have nothing to do until next March, have a look at the game, Hayes is very involved for the 4 quarters.
One of those players like his namesake Lenny when the commentator uses both names. Was never just Hayes, but always Jack Hayes.
Played with a fracture in his leg halfway down on the left. Fair effort.

Ok because I have no life, I just spent the last two hours watching the SANFL Grand Final

Some observations.

SANFL is a pretty good standard with players like the Menzel's, Stengle, Toumpas and Mutch all showing why they played AFL.
Hayes. Actually does run a bit like Bont and Cripps :D. Played sort of CHF and relief rucked. Rucking OK, got better as the day went on ran through the guts a fair bit and swapped with Jarred Reddin who is the Eagles primary ruck (and who absolutely dominated).

Hayes is a very nice size, a very tidy kick (we all know Ratt hates a poor kicker) has lightning hands and very good decision making, tidy below his knees and can take a very good contested mark. I reckon he was involved either directly for or part of the lead up to the first eight Eagles goals.

Look you have nothing to do until next March, have a look at the game, Hayes is very involved for the 4 quarters.
One of those players like his namesake Lenny when the commentator uses both names. Was never just Hayes, but always Jack Hayes.
Comparisons to Bontempelli 1.92 Midfielder and Cripps 1.95 Midfielder .... Could Jack Hayes play a similar position ?

You're complaining that the ability to recruit good SA players is getting predictable??
Not so much that - the guys we have got on the cheap from SA have been great - my issue is more that I think we need a ready to go KPD - so I'm saying that rather than bring someone in who we maybe don't have a need for - try to find someone who fits the more important need EVEN if we have to look at options outside of SA - having said that if we get Hayes I hope he is another gun SA diamond from the rough

Excellent summary sir! The poor kid has played a dozen games and lots of our supporters are on his back saying he doesn't do enough FFS!
Bytel will be a very good player , the only problem he has had is trying to develop in the Covid period where he has little opportunity to get the game time needed.
If he had the game time he would be a regular in the seniors now in my opinion, anyway it has given him time to get the build to be a force and with game time this year should be causing a few headaches for selectors.
Jack still being only 21 has plenty of time on his side and has the scope to be one of our better players.
Supporters always want the kids to come out firing on all cylinders and it rarely happens you only have to look at Ablett jr , Petracca etc.

If he gets into the senior team this year he will be hard to push out , he now has the strength and power of a AFL midfielder.

I imagine we are not wholly looking at all three being a forward. Hayes is a tall utility and can play in a number of positions.

As noted Hayes has been pigeon holed as a forward but has developed his game to play as a second relief ruck and also through the mids. Will be interesting if Membrey is used anywhere else than purely forward.

I read up on Hayes for a few years, when he did play ruck it sounded like he was grabbing it out of the ruck or sharking the tap of the other ruck himself. They reckoned that he played as a midfielder from the ruck which sounds like Marshall. He might not be a true ruck but a tall utility that can chop out in the ruck or do some around the ground work by the sound of it.

Some observations.

We have a bloke training with us and you go and watch the whole SANFL grand final to check him out.

Hats off to you mate.

I imagine we are not wholly looking at all three being a forward. Hayes is a tall utility and can play in a number of positions.

As noted Hayes has been pigeon holed as a forward but has developed his game to play as a second relief ruck and also through the mids. Will be interesting if Membrey is used anywhere else than purely forward.
👍 If the club failed in experimenting with playing Battle on a wing, then perhaps logic suggests exploring other talls who can.

Some observations.

Strike me down, Joffa posted something worthwhile!
Thanks for the write up champion 😘

SANFL is a big step down from AFL in terms of rucks. At 192cm he's going to struggle to have any type of impact against quality AFL rucks.

Yes there are other clubs that use smaller players as a chop out but these players are already in the side because they are good enough to be best 22.

If Hayes can show enough as a forward to force his way in and we don't have other options than maybe it would make sense to play him in the ruck, otherwise I dont see him getting a game in front of others just because of his ruck work.
Yeah look a lot of players make the transition. Your premise is that because the SANFL is a lower level he’ll get beaten but that’s just like saying all rucks are the same and that if you play in a lower league you won’t make it.
He may or may not make it but right now if Paddy goes down we have no one because seriously Campbell is no one.
I’d rather take a mobile type that can play with skill and play forward whilst pinch hitting than a witches hat.

Regardless of whether he gets picked up by us or not I hope someone does. What a good news story it would be if he got to play a game of AFL. After the S* Show of the past couple of years good stories are worth their weight in gold.

So good luck to Jack Hayes and I'll keep my fingers crossed for you that your AFL dream can come true. Hope it's for us at Marvel because you'll have earned it the hard way.

Yeah look a lot of players make the transition. Your premise is that because the SANFL is a lower level he’ll get beaten but that’s just like saying all rucks are the same and that if you play in a lower league you won’t make it.
He may or may not make it but right now if Paddy goes down we have no one because seriously Campbell is no one.
I’d rather take a mobile type that can play with skill and play forward whilst pinch hitting than a witches hat.
No, I'm saying that just because a 192cm forward can pinch hit in the ruck in the SANFL doesn't mean he's a ruck against at AFL level.

The SANFL is a very good conp but not overly strong for rucks.

You are kidding yourself if you think he's a better back up option than Campbell for Ryder.

No, I'm saying that just because a 192cm forward can pinch hit in the ruck in the SANFL doesn't mean he's a ruck against at AFL level.

The SANFL is a very good conp but not overly strong for rucks.

You are kidding yourself if you think he's a better back up option than Campbell for Ryder.
We’ll see

Was listening to the Dylan Buckley podcast with Marc Murphey and he had some really nice words about Ratts. Anyways moreover I was just thinking please god do not let the Blues win the premiership before us.