VFL 2022 Reserves

Just watched the game.
Uninspiring would sum it up.

Last week I wrote;
I favoured delisting Gould at the end of last season, but he was a lot better in this game.
Normal service resumed this week.

Roberts and Sheldrick can certainly get the ball, but their disposal by foot was poor.
However I did like they were given plenty of time on ball.

McAndrew is obviously very much a work in progress, but won tap outs against Moyle in our fwd 50, terrific long chase down in the 3rd qtr and showed a bit of footy nous when he passed backwards rather than take a shot at goal from a free at a shocking angle in the FP. None will be a goal of the week contender, but did kick 3.
Quite possibly searching for positives from the game, but height, decent athletic abilities and now understanding the game better.
Encouraging.

Saturday will be the first time in 45,859 that Swans/South have played Port Melbourne and Swans have won 7 in a row from 1892 to 1896 , also will be the 1st time in round 4 that Northern Bullants /Preston have ever played South /Swans

This is a fantastic stat.

It just doesn't make sense that we are playing at the same time , typical from the VFL could have been Sunday !

A Sunday afternoon classic would have been ideal.

RD 2 votes;
View attachment 1365531
Also (from VFL page);
Coburg key defender Jack Maibaum started his season in style with 18 disposals and eight marks (and 10 votes).

Had a tough old time at the Swans, be richly deserved if he gets another go at AFL level.
Clarke is too good for VFL but not good enough for AFL. Kicking is his downfall.
Roberts will be pretty good next year I reckon. He looks like he has time in congestion. I like players like that. He is never rushed in his disposal.
Logan does not need to impress at this level. It is just a time out for him. Have a rest. Get your thoughts together. Get back in amongst it.

Might head down to this.
Love North Port Oval.

Will be the first time I've seen our reserves in years.

Hope it’s better for than it was for me. After going to nearly all their Sydney games for a few years prior to Covid, headed down last week full of beans and keen to offer some insights from up close to the dugout.
Walked out at halftime! Was like a morgue… not a smile nor an ounce of enthusiasm from players, coaches or support crew.
Certainly a different experience now compared to the Kennelly/Shaw years

I would wear a scarf that is half "red and blue" and "red and white"
(just for today!)
519qwC+dAhL._AC_.jpg

Further to my sooking about this GAME not being played on Sunday , it's all about Covid , can't have players on different days with the 7 day rule . I could give more , but too late after getting out of goal
What is the 7 day rule?

VFL 2022 Reserves