News 2022 St Kilda Media Thread

I don't understand the oversized shirt thing. Like Jack's an attractive young man with a great rig and yet he hides it under a huge shirt. Whereas Lenny also has a great rig and his fitted top shows it off nicely. Why are oversized shirts so popular?
Because 90s fashion is back in style

Glad to see that the Big Footy Mods end of season trip to Crown Casino has now been immortalized in bronze :cool:

586.png

1_PAY-New-Street-Station-Birmingham-August-27th-2022-The-statue-of-Four-Lads-In-Jeans-has-been-immort.jpg
Each man represents each one of my personalities.

Well really it is de rigueur to do so. I was in Perth earlier this month, no wait that was Broome, these outback towns are all the same to somebody from the east.
I was there last week - the two highlights were listening to Kim Beazley speak and the flight home.....

Potting Perth again I see, meanwhile we’re just going about our business. Those who speak loudest have the least to say of course.

Oh, I see we’re home to the wealthiest postcode in Aus, and know how how to dress. No wonder you hate it here, all too positive for you.

Don’t get lost in the gloom of Vic suburbia champeen, it’s unflattering like a bad haircut.

Don't feel inferior. You're special in your own way. Thongs and singlets 365 days a year are cute.

Some campaigner put up a tweet with a bunch of Melbournians in their dark pants, RM Williams boots a puffer jackets at just the time I came into the house dressed like that.... now I can't wear any of them. It's seriously a uniform here.

You people would stand out like a sore thumb here, all your Hawaiian shirts and happy clothing. Meh.

Surprised somebody as astute as you would waste your time making the trip.

Or am I 😎
Had to use the covid credits and overseas is dodgey. WA is pretty sketchy and alien to a civilised guy like me so it was like being in some 3rd world African country

Dude, you're from Perth you're still waiting for it come around the first time.

Talking of outmoded there is this weird thing in Brisbane with the hipster young guys where they have these medieval pageboy haircuts with a sort of hard bob and a hard edge fringe set up. It looks seriously deranged with their surf s**t or ironic flannelette bogan set ups.
My LOL moment of the day 🤣

I live in a provincial town in France so I'm not really exposed to much fashion, but I have a bit to do with a design school here and I see how some of the more daring young folks dress - this partially bleached hair with mascara and toothbrush /thin moustache and far too short trousers with braces, Mr. Men-style boots and a daggy baggy t shirt with some 80s/90s logo like MTV or Hard Rock Cafe.

The vibe is like Charlie Chaplin tripped up in the cleaning cupboard and destroyed all his clothes so he walked into an Op Shop semi-concussed and walked out with the cheapest outfit he could find.

It looks terrible and I think deep down these young fools know they look like shit but are so confused by the world around them and the void of style that the post-post-postmodern is currently espousing that they'd rather just signpost that. It really does look like a cry for help.

Never thought I’d see the day I added DS to the little black book…

View attachment 1494663
My son “emigrated” there a few years ago - for a girl of course - so I’m a little resentful. So I spend a fair amount of time flying to and forth across the country and we have a wedding there early January.

Now, just between you and me (and if you say anything I’d have to strongly deny it) I wouldn’t mind spending a couple of weeks there right now when I see your weather on the news.😝

I live in a provincial town in France so I'm not really exposed to much fashion, but I have a bit to do with a design school here and I see how some of the more daring young folks dress - this partially bleached hair with mascara and toothbrush /thin moustache and far too short trousers with braces, Mr. Men-style boots and a daggy baggy t shirt with some 80s/90s logo like MTV or Hard Rock Cafe.

The vibe is like Charlie Chaplin tripped up in the cleaning cupboard and destroyed all his clothes so he walked into an Op Shop semi-concussed and walked out with the cheapest outfit he could find.

It looks terrible and I think deep down these young fools know they look like s**t but are so confused by the world around them and the void of style that the post-post-postmodern is currently espousing that they'd rather just signpost that. It really does look like a cry for help.

The irony is that Charlie Chaplin went to the op shop ( or wardrobe department ) and got some pants that were too big and baggy for him. In his case he "wanted" to look silly.

My son “emigrated” there a few years ago - for a girl of course - so I’m a little resentful. So I spend a fair amount of time flying to and forth across the country and we have a wedding there early January.

Now, just between you and me (and if you say anything I’d have to strongly deny it) I wouldn’t mind spending a couple of weeks there right now when I see your weather on the news.[emoji13]
What is it with Saffie ex pats and Perth? Thought they would have had enough trauma in their lives coming from SA in the first place [emoji5][emoji5][emoji6]

🤣

Yes well, in the case of my son who was too young when we left to have any trauma, true love conquers all 🙄😝❤️

Seriously though, a few decades ago PFP (packing for Perth) was a real thing. I guess because it was that much closer to SA for people travelling back to see family and friends.

Was never an option for us though - was Melbourne all the way, with few regrets, just a yearning now and then for the weather out west - a little closer to what we were used to in Cape Town.

It's because of their place in the pecking order! Let's face it, if you were being compared to a Scotsman by the locals, you would be be held in high esteem as well !!

News 2022 St Kilda Media Thread