List Mgmt. 2022 Trade, Draft, etc thread

If we are bringing in Grundy that likely takes up a lot of our free cap space. After signing Brayshaw, Oliver and Trac to long terms deals there isn't exactly a lot leftover to splurge.

Surely Geelong, Collingwood of Brisbane don’t have THAT much more space cap space than what we do. We are in trouble if we are maxing ours out while Brisbane has enough space for Ashcroft, Dunkley and Gunston and Geelong enough for Henry, Bruin and Bowes

Tbh personnel wise Geelong and the Pies didn't add any notable guns to their 2021 lists that shot them up in 2022. Stengle was a delisted FA, the Pies best recruit was Daicos who's any 18y.o.draftee. Lipinski was an ok player they got for a 3rd rounder.
A change in gamestyle and bringing through more young talent a la JVR, Laurie (and Howes, Turner maybe?) could see some big improvement. We've got plenty of talent on the list (bar KPFs), it's up to the coaches to use it more effectively.

That's what Goodwin will be selling to the members and i'm not buying any of it. If we don't fix the forward line it's irrelevant what the game style is imo.

There's a good chance that we want a ready made KPF but there are none available.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but other than McStay, I don't even think any other ready made KPFs have even been mentioned in any trade scenario for any club.

And McStays not even that good lol his best ever season (goalwise) is 28 goals in an attacking side

Surely Geelong, Collingwood of Brisbane don’t have THAT much more space cap space than what we do. We are in trouble if we are maxing ours out while Brisbane has enough space for Ashcroft, Dunkley and Gunston and Geelong enough for Henry, Bruin and Bowes

Collingwood are getting rid of Grundy and we are bringing him in, you work it out mate. Those clubs dont have 3 mega contracts like we do handed out to Oliver, Trac and Braysahw either.

At this stage of their careers, Grundy is a better player than Jackson, comfortably. On that alone, he should make us better.

I agree we need another KPF, but Grundy is an upgrade on Jackson, no matter how you look at it. It'll be up to Goodwin to make the tandem work effectively.
yeah im not sure about that. Grundy hasn't played good footy for a while. He has definitely not shown anything forward.

Collingwood are getting rid of Grundy and we are bringing him in, you work it out mate. Those clubs dont have 3 mega contracts like we do handed out to Oliver, Trac and Braysahw either.

They are getting in Mcstay + paying part of Grundys contract. They also have Degoey, Moore, Pendles, Howe, Sidebottom and Crisp on sizeable coin. Not to mention paying part of Treloars contract.

I struggle to understand how they still have coin for Mitchell/Fiorini/Frampton/Hill ect where as we don’t.

They also have Degoey, Moore, Pendles, Howe, Sidebottom and Crisp on sizeable coin.
lol, none of those guys are on what Trac Oliver Lever May Gawn and Brayshaw are. Moore MIGHT be on a Brayshaw size contract but the rest aren't getting paid anything near our stars

How much do you think they will pay of Grundy's contract pa? I dont think it will be any more than ~ 250k, leaving us paying ~650k at best.

lol, none of those guys are on what Trac Oliver Lever May Gawn and Brayshaw are.

How much do you think they will pay of Grundy's contract pa? I dont think it will be anymore than ~ 250k, leaving us paying ~650k

Surely Lever isn’t on big money still, his initial contract ran out. Gawn and May will probably also be on less pretty soon also so we could back-end some other contracts for when they drop off.

That said we don’t need big money to bring in players, hell surely Geelong doesn’t intend on paying Bruhn or Henry big bank.

Feels like we are asleep at the wheel here. Basically every other team around us on the ladder are linked to 3-4 players while we are chilling to “Jackson replacement”.

Classic conservative Goodwin play right here, changing up our list as much as our game plan.

Surely Lever isn’t on big money still, his initial contract ran out. Gawn and May will probably also be on less pretty soon also so we could back-end some other contracts for when they drop off.

That said we don’t need big money to bring in players, hell surely Geelong doesn’t intend on paying Bruhn or Henry big bank.

Feels like we are asleep at the wheel here. Basically every other team around us on the ladder are linked to 3-4 players while we are chilling to “Jackson replacement”.

Classic conservative Goodwin play right here, changing up our list as much as our game plan.

Lever signed with us for 5 years and got his contract extended in 2020, it isn't a new deal, just a longer one.

Pretty disappointed so far by the lack of players we seem connected to.

Would think after last year and all the talk about needing to continue to improve we would be doing more to improve our list than just replacing our departing ruck like for like.

Teams around us like Collingwood, Brisbane, Geelong and Richmond are being super aggressive while the dees kick back and rely on a like for like swap to happen to get us up the ladder.

Hell, even North Melbourne look like they are about to attract more players than us.

All this talk of relying on Laurie and Chandler to get us back up is dreaming
I remember a known melter on here having a huge sook when the saints added Marshall, Ryder, Jones, Hill, Higgins etc while we only got May because of how active they are. Fast forward and their list is cooked and we're a premiership side.

There's barely anyone on the market that's interesting anyway. Ollie Henry maybe, that's about it. No one else has been linked to Vic clubs that I'm shattered we haven't chased and unlike blandster I do realise if there's no key forwards available we can't just magically get one.

5 years in 2017, surely extension was for less cash over a longer period. Truely poor list management if his being paid 800k a year still

Im not saying it isn't, but two of those years are still on 800-850k, say if he signed on for another 2 at 600, thats still averages out ~ 700-750k per year

They are getting in Mcstay + paying part of Grundys contract. They also have Degoey, Moore, Pendles, Howe, Sidebottom and Crisp on sizeable coin. Not to mention paying part of Treloars contract.

I struggle to understand how they still have coin for Mitchell/Fiorini/Frampton/Hill ect where as we don’t.

Collingwood aren't paying multiple guys close to a million and literally offloaded a bunch of contracts a year or 2 ago. How can you fail to see it it was one of the biggest footy stories of the decade.

Cats players all take unders. Selwood was the only guy on more than 800 until Cameron came in. Guarantee Oliver Trac and Gawn didn't take less so that we could chase free agents. Those guys have hamstrung us in ways that premiership dynasty sides haven't had

lol, none of those guys are on what Trac Oliver Lever May Gawn and Brayshaw are. Moore MIGHT be on a Brayshaw size contract but the rest aren't getting paid anything near our stars

How much do you think they will pay of Grundy's contract pa? I dont think it will be any more than ~ 250k, leaving us paying ~650k at best.
They’re offering De Goey 800k for 4 years and Moore is reportedly on 900k over 6. Haven’t looked up the others just an example.

Yea well im not counting DeGoey coz he hasnt been signed.

So Moore is May and De Goey is Gawn. Still got Lever, Brayshaw, Oliver and Trac that the pies haven't spent stupid money on

Viney is on decent money , think about 700K coz he was going to leave us for Geelong if we didnt up the offer. Harmes is on over 500, Langdon probably is as well, Salem too.

The Melbourne bottomless cap. Lets bring everyone in.

The same people wanting us to bring players in would probably melt if we traded away Salem and Viney (which I think we should do)

What? You hate Left footers now?

But Seriously

Bowey would've done better than Salem. I think Salo was behind the 8-ball after his injury in Rnd 1 and it showed badly in finals. Also Gus could take Salo's role better

Backline would be

May, Lever,Turner/ Joel Smith

Bowey, Deakyn Smith(eventually), Brayshaw

There are certain intangibles why you can't really replace Viney.

What? You hate Left footers now?

But Seriously

Bowey would've done better than Salem. I think Salo was behind the 8-ball after his injury in Rnd 1 and it showed badly in finals.

There are certain intangibles why you can't really replace Viney.

If we can replace Viney as captain for a clown like Gawn I think we can live without his intangibles just fine.

Id argue Harmes is better for our on ball mix than Viney is too. Especially now Brayshaw wants his midfield minutes.