List Mgmt. 2022 Trade, Draft, etc thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Dory_77

I think we better get used to the idea
This is an incredible attempt from Goodwin to be coy.

"We are going to play another ruckman beside Gawn but I can't say who. For the sake of privacy let's just call him B. Grundy... No, that's too obvious, let's say Brodie G."

Just to keep up the Freo-Dees trading rivalry, I say we somehow lure [PLAYERCARD]Sean Darcy[/PLAYERCARD] to the Dees.

You take our ruck, we take yours. Give him no.1 ruck mantle and let Gawny play forward. Also graft [PLAYERCARD]Adem Yze[/PLAYERCARD]'s left leg onto Gawny so he can kick set shots.

"You're not willing to confirm or deny the meeting, Simon".

"No I'm not, mate."

If the meeting hadn't happened, he could've just said a flat no. Don't be surprised if it happens.

Goody- "Gawns been having some real impact for us forward these last 3-4 weeks".

he's actually kicked no goals, but whatever Goody.
Forwards arent supposed to kick goals, they're supposed to provide strong contest which allows us to play front half FOOTY

Goody- "Gawns been having some real impact for us forward these last 3-4 weeks".

he's actually kicked no goals, but whatever Goody.
Think he's more referencing his contested marking ahead of the ball, something we lack entirely outside of him.

Nine contested marks over the last three weeks, all primarily in the forward half.

Just to keep up the Freo-Dees trading rivalry, I say we somehow lure Sean Darcy to the Dees.

You take our ruck, we take yours. Give him no.1 ruck mantle and let Gawny play forward. Also graft Adem Yze's left leg onto Gawny so he can kick set shots.

Just wondering, in this scenario is Yze's leg grafted on from the hip or are we retaining a portion of Gawn's leg and then going from there?

Basically, will Gawn be lopsided?

Appears that there's at least one list manager who's very confident Grundy will be at Melbourne

If you take out Gawn's herculean Sydney game, from the last 10 games he's kicked a total of 1 goal :$:$:$

Confidence seems very important for Gawn. First half of the season he was launching at least one goal a game from outside 50. Since his injury he can't hit his shots at all.

Nah I reckon he had a 10 week patch from the end of the season Last year till mid way this year he was randomly flushing em. He's been horrific for the rest of his career

If you take out Gawn's herculean Sydney game, from the last 10 games he's kicked a total of 1 goal :$:$:$
Again, I'm not necessarily sold on the idea, but I'll play devil's advocate.

We won a flag, convincingly, with Bayley Fritsch and Kozzy Pickett as our only regular goal kicking threats, with a late (and valuable) contribution from Brown.

Our gameplan, for better or worse, doesn't lend itself to big goalkicking forwards as we prioritise bulk entries, often rushed, and trapping the ball in with how we set up behind the play with May, Lever and Petty.

Part of the reason this has faltered recently is that we are getting almost zero in terms of contest from whoever of Brown or Weideman is playing. Not only are they not taking contested grabs, their direct opponents are outmarking them, or even zoning off at times, which is allowing for extraordinarily easy D50 exits, which then negates our zone defence, or 1-wood, as per RoboGoody3000/Gawn speak.

If we were to get Grundy and play Gawn, say 70% of time in the forward half, we all of a sudden have a top 2-3 contested marker in the league in the forward line, but just as importantly, a player who will almost always bring the ball to ground if he doesn't take the mark.

It'd actually make us look a bit better than with Jackson, IMO, as Grundy is obviously more ready to be the number one ruck, meaning Gawn can focus on being a forward marking option.

By no means would I expect Gawn to kick more than a goal a game at most, but structurally I see the logic.

The thing about being in a premiership window is other teams might also be in their premiership window, and I think maybe one of those teams might end up being Collingwood over the next few years. So I'd advocate strongly for Brodie to stay where he is because an unnecessary ruckman that costs a million dollars a year in salary cap space isn't really gonna help their chances :$

Good bloke but I don't really want him.

His arc out gets more exagerated when his confidence is down like it is at the moment.

That set shot from 20m directly in front he arced out almost to the behind post then hooked it almost to the other behind post lol.
Yep back to his old tricks, run in right hook left. Well the other time he ran right and kicked it exactly in that direction, but his usual thing is to hook right.

Nah I reckon he had a 10 week patch from the end of the season Last year till mid way this year he was randomly flushing em. He's been horrific for the rest of his career
In the preliminary final the one where he grabbed it from the ruck and snapped it, he does that in just about every game and it usually goes on the full or something but not a bad time to actually pull it off. I do think he has looked better in the last few years, where I had more trust in him, perhaps no crowds help but yeah most his career he's unreliable.

How old was Paul salmon when he turned from very nice ruckman to hulk full forward?

Kicked 63 goals in 13 games in his second season, so I'd argue the ability was always there haha.