List Mgmt. 2022 Trade, Draft, etc thread

yeah im not sure about that. Grundy hasn't played good footy for a while. He has definitely not shown anything forward.
Grundy's 'bad footy' still eclipses anything Jackson has done so far (bar the third quarter in the Grand Final).

Additionally, Jackson kicked 11 goals in 22 games this year - Grundy kicked 12 in 20 games last year despite playing almost entirely in the ruck. I think we can live without Jackson's exceptional forward craft.

I wouldn’t be against this if it meant we could throw the bank at Gresham or Naughton
There's absolutely no world Naughton leaves the dogs for us. People are nuts to keep throwing out these names.

I'm kinda bummed that we aren't linked with any one else but Brodie Grundy.

Grundy's 'bad footy' still eclipses anything Jackson has done so far (bar the third quarter in the Grand Final).

Additionally, Jackson kicked 11 goals in 22 games this year - Grundy kicked 12 in 20 games last year despite playing almost entirely in the ruck. I think we can live without Jackson's exceptional forward craft.
Jackson is already much more agile than Grundy and better at ground level. Plus Jackson is going to continue to reach his peak whereas grundy will be 29 next year and will slow down each year.

Grundy also averages more ground ball gets per game, more contested possessions, more clearances, more tackles and the same amount of pressure acts.

Agree that Jackson will continue to improve, but that wasn't my point. My point was that in this stage of their careers, Grundy over Jackson is a net win for us.

Grundy also averages more ground ball gets per game, more contested possessions, more clearances, more tackles and the same amount of pressure acts.

Agree that Jackson will continue to improve, but that wasn't my point. My point was that in this stage of their careers, Grundy over Jackson is a net win for us.
Lol yeah, you can hate Grundy and the trade all you want but you can't argue he isn't much better than Jackson ATM. Ones an AA who rivalled Gawn as the best ruck in the game. The others played a good 5 mins of a GF

Yea well im not counting DeGoey coz he hasnt been signed.

So Moore is May and De Goey is Gawn. Still got Lever, Brayshaw, Oliver and Trac that the pies haven't spent stupid money on
Can’t say I know what this argument is about but Collingwood’s cap is pretty publicly rooted. Ie. Grundy on a mil over 7. The word on our long term deals has been that it’s more years for less money. I know it’s fashionable to shit on the Dees but the cap seems in reasonable shape if we’re not losing anyone well paid and we’re still in a position to pay Grundy 6-700ish.

Can’t say I know what this argument is about but Collingwood’s cap is pretty publicly rooted. Ie. Grundy on a mil over 7. I know it’s fashionable to s**t on the Dees but the cap seems in reasonable shape if we’re not losing anyone well paid and we’re still in a position to pay Grundy 6-700ish.
The argument is why aren't we being linked with every single trade target and old mates saying it makes no sense cause Collingwood and Geelong have money. We've pretty clearly tied up most of our spare change on our top 7 or so whilst Collingwood have actively shed as much as possible

Can’t say I know what this argument is about but Collingwood’s cap is pretty publicly rooted. Ie. Grundy on a mil over 7. The word on our long term deals has been that it’s more years for less money. I know it’s fashionable to s**t on the Dees but the cap seems in reasonable shape if we’re not losing anyone well paid and we’re still in a position to pay Grundy 6-700ish.

We are only in a position to pay Grundy that because we lost Jackson. Brayshaw is probably out the door also if he stays.

Just because we don’t have 1m per year to pay someone doesn’t mean we can’t bring in good role players like Acres, Hill or Fiorini on the cheap.

Or alternatively find cap space by trading out Salem or Sparrow or ANB or Rivers

Even last year we brought in Dunstan. It didn’t work out but it’s a better option then sitting on our hands and hoping players like Oscar Baker come good

Just because we don’t have 1m per year to pay someone doesn’t mean we can’t bring in good role players like Acres, Hill or Fiorini on the cheap.

Or alternatively find cap space by trading out Salem or Sparrow or ANB or Rivers

Even last year we brought in Dunstan. It didn’t work out but it’s a better option then sitting on our hands and hoping players like Oscar Baker come good
The trade period hasn't ****ing started yet Christ Almighty

Of all the things to melt about I'd say our trading for players and for picks to draft players has been pretty bloody top notch. We built a premiership side off the back of specific targeted recruiting and not just going after every campaigner available.

Seriously mate, calm down, you're going to have a heart attack before the week is out at this rate worrying about which teams dregs we will or won't pick up. It ain't worth it man.

I’m most disappointed at the lack of obscure cryptic clues from ‘insiders’ to who we might be talking to.
Brooms can be useful for sweeping fallen cereal.

They need to make contracts public honestly, as clubs who survive on fan support and membership we should know where our money is going.

Players want to use a US sports model then allow your contract to be displayed like they do, its really the least they can do.

They need to make contracts public honestly, as clubs who survive on fan support and membership we should know where our money is going.

Players want to use a US sports model then allow your contract to be displayed like they do, its really the least they can do.
All contracts/salaries for everyone should be public it actually only helps the Employers out not doing so (imo).

I agree, Im pretty sure both the players and clubs dont want it public tho.
Heaven forbid supporters who put in their hard earned hold people accountable for handing out terrible deals and players underperforming.

Our senior players will all feel like they took a little salary hit to leave enough room for Jackson, so there will be subtle pressure on the club to go get a good quality senior player in - not kids or draft picks for later in life.

Grundy seems like the only name around that fits the mould. Won’t cost draft picks, ready to go and will add to our senior stocks.

Whether 2 rucks is the best strategy or not, I don’t know - but you can’t deny that Grundy is a top tier footballer when he’s up and going.