List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part I

There are some very handy young mids coming out of contract.

I'd be having a fair old crack at Zac Butters who would be a perfect fit for our midfield. We should have the dollars and draft capital to make that happen.

Young Tanner Bruhn would be a likely candidate to move back to Victoria too, although Geelong would be the front runner I'd imagine.

There are some very handy young mids coming out of contract.

I'd be having a fair old crack at Zac Butters who would be a perfect fit for our midfield. We should have the dollars and draft capital to make that happen.

Young Tanner Bruhn would be a likely candidate to move back to Victoria too, although Geelong would be the front runner I'd imagine.

Butters and Smith are ideal pick ups for me. Game changing midfielders who like to step up and take the game on

Agree, although I can't see Smith leaving.

Butters may look for a move back to Victoria at some stage, although he's more likely to stay no doubt.

Agreed, but Dogs have so many players (especially mids) who would be on big coin, they eventually have to lose one. And with saying that, Smith might be attracted to play a genuine mid role.

Lets just admit it now though, this draft class with go down as one of the best ever.

what are the details of the article?
Nothing. His manager was on sen this morning talking about a doco. Said nothing any other manger wouldn’t of said. Bens happy at gc, they’ve been good to him, we are work his contract situation blah blah blah. Real straight bat stuff

Interesting listening to them talk about how Bulldogs seem likely to leave JUH out again. The commentators were saying they'd go in with a small pressure forward line and Naughton as that's how modern sides like to set up with One KPF being a normal structure now days. Rest a ruck forward to help out.

Think it has more to do with JUH not touching the ball.

One KPF being a normal structure now days. Rest a ruck forward to help out.
Nek Minnit [emoji2957]

"For the first time in a long time, the Tigers are loading up on big men.

Instead of playing one key forward (Jack Riewoldt) and an under-sized back-up ruckman (Shaun Grigg) like they did in 2017, the Tigers are toying with the idea of playing three key forwards, two genuine ruckmen and a decent-sized back line for the season-opener against Carlton in two weeks.

Noah Balta has been shifted forward to join ace goal kickers Riewoldt and Tom Lynch, and Toby Nankervis is set to join forces with Ivan Soldo as the frontline ruck pair after Soldo’s year out with a knee reconstruction.

And down back, first-round draft pick Josh Gibcus is set to partner Dylan Grimes and Robbie Tarrant as part of a revamped back line..."

Sorta hope this is true, it could save us from ourselves.

Because of the Viagra type effect Bing has on the Saints admin, we have tailored our dp's around him and for the first time we have a whole deck of picks in 2022 and 2023 to play with.

If he is off the table we may actually focus on our needs, one or two quality mids drafted (not ideal) or traded.

If we had the cap for King, Hanners retired, and a gaggle of dp's, we should be able to attract what we desperately need, someone who can help Jack Steele in the guts.

In which good side is one key forward the normal structure?

Pretty much every top side plays 2 genuine key forwards, most with 2 ruck options on top of that now.

The only reason the Dogs are doing it is due to injuries and poor form. They still also have Schache that may end up playing forward or back.

Because of the Viagra type effect Bing has on the Saints admin, we have tailored our dp's around him and for the first time we have a whole deck of picks in 2022 and 2023 to play with.

If he is off the table we may actually focus on our needs, one or two quality mids drafted (not ideal) or traded.

If we had the cap for King, Hanners retired, and a gaggle of dp's, we should be able to attract what we desperately need, someone who can help Jack Steele in the guts.
I want Ben but if we can't get him then I'm happy for him to stay with the Grommets and not have him tearing it up for one of the rival Melbourne clubs.

PS: Max is the much better player anyway ;)

couldnt agree more Joff. great point!

JUH got into a bit of strife over here. i'd say he needs to improve his professionalism

I want B King, simply to have twins in the team again. When I was a kid, the Wakelins were so cool to me because they were twins in the same team.
Not to mention his potential ceiling. If a guy like him is available, you go for it. What good is 2 first round picks when you could pick up two duds or one Ben King?

Anyway, I'm of the opinion that if we can't nab him in this off season, he should be off the table entirely. Now or never I reckon.

Joffa makes a great point about the draft picks we've got up our sleeves with the available salary cap. Will be a win/win no matter what happens.

In which good side is one key forward the normal structure?

Pretty much every top side plays 2 genuine key forwards, most with 2 ruck options on top of that now.

The only reason the Dogs are doing it is due to injuries and poor form. They still also have Schache that may end up playing forward or back.

Not one tall forward, one true KPF was the suggestion. Most would have a stay at home like Daniher etc but then a second like Hipwood who despite his size is more a mobile type of forward. I guess not many players in any side stay at home but there definitely doesn't seem to be a CHF who sits around waiting for the ball to come to him any more.

Whether they are mobile or not makes little difference to the fact that are key forwards.

Both McDonald and Brown are key forwards

Cameron and Hawkins

Dixon and Marshall

Riewoldt and Lynch

The way you've explained it with one stay at home forward and one mobile forward makes it sound like there is a full forward and chf. I just think everyone has to be fairly mobile in this age.

Whether they are mobile or not makes little difference to the fact that are key forwards.

Both McDonald and Brown are key forwards

Cameron and Hawkins

Dixon and Marshall

Riewoldt and Lynch

The way you've explained it with one stay at home forward and one mobile forward makes it sound like there is a full forward and chf. I just think everyone has to be fairly mobile in this age.

Wasn't me it was on SEN. Brisbane were just clearing the forwards out so that Charlie Cameron was the only player deep. Daniher with the inboard kick to set him up from about 80 meters out.

Fair enough. I haven't heard a commentator suggest that's the way footy is heading so I'm guessing it was just a caller.

There will always be times when you can isolate a classy small forward inside 50 though. 97 comes to mind.

Richmond have gone the other way and are playing 3 key forwards.

King, Sharman and Membrey looks like a very good mix to me. We can then decide whether we play two rucks or one.

Fair enough. I haven't heard a commentator suggest that's the way footy is heading so I'm guessing it was just a caller.

There will always be times when you can isolate a classy small forward inside 50 though. 97 comes to mind.

Richmond have gone the other way and are playing 3 key forwards.

King, Sharman and Membrey looks like a very good mix to me. We can then decide whether we play two rucks or one.

It was meant to be experts, not sure who they were.

Sharman is a bit of a lead up and can contested mark, Membrey playing a bit of a high half forward role these days but the three with Snags is a nice mix of styles and sizes.

It was meant to be experts, not sure who they were.

Sharman is a bit of a lead up and can contested mark, Membrey playing a bit of a high half forward role these days but the three with Snags is a nice mix of styles and sizes.

If your second tier key forward is only good for a goal a game or something, perhaps you put a mid or mid/fwd into your squad instead.
Just not sure how you can leave any of ours out.