List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part II

I don't understand why Freo would only offer him a contract worth $350k. It makes no sense to me, unless there's something they know that I don't.
According to Freo supporters, they have a couple of good kids coming through who can replace Acres who they view as injury prone.

Acres is a better player in essentially the exact same position as Hill plays as it stands right now, and the gap will only increase as Hill slows with age not on his side.
Acres’ best footy is in front of him.

We also gave up pick 10 which ended up being Kozi Pickett.

Right now, Acres & Pickett in our side is substantially better than having Hill, who is the only player in the league that MUST have the game played exclusively on his terms otherwise he is totally redundant.

Up there with one of our worst trades of all time, which to be fair is a very very long list.

Remember when St Kilda spent 10 years chasing HBFs instead of mids?..... Then still don't have anything to show for it. We then turned Hill into Shane Savage who we sacked for being like Hill and now we want to sack Hill again.

We don't go for tall backs, third tall sized geriatrics is much more our style.
I remember a lot of mids turning us down despite us willing to overpay them. And our best 2 midfielders are from other clubs so what an outstanding job to get them if we didn't chase them

I also remember us bringing in a lot of full backs over the past 10 years so the recruiters need to get better at checking their style guide before recruiting these defenders obviously.

According to Freo supporters, they have a couple of good kids coming through who can replace Acres who they view as injury prone.

Wingmen roles have changed, he looks ideal as that Langdon style defensive back up but with the run to get back and help run the ball forward. It's a weird one. They do have heaps of good kids to fit in as well. I reckon he wants guys that are more contested. He likes his ball winners and fast, attacking, clean kicks

Ben long to the suns according too Cal twomey

Also Hunter Clark on clubs radars
I could see Long at the Suns. Would give him a chance to play a few games in Darwin which could appeal too.

Much prefer that to North given the picks GC have.

Cal's link of Clark seemed wishy washy at best - according to other clubs, Clark might, potentially, maybe be a target and they don't know what he would be worth.

Acres is a better player in essentially the exact same position as Hill plays as it stands right now, and the gap will only increase as Hill slows with age not on his side.
Acres’ best footy is in front of him.

We also gave up pick 10 which ended up being Kozi Pickett.

Right now, Acres & Pickett in our side is substantially better than having Hill, who is the only player in the league that MUST have the game played exclusively on his terms otherwise he is totally redundant.

Up there with one of our worst trades of all time, which to be fair is a very very long list.

We actually gave up 10 Acres, Bruce and some junk for Paddy, Hill, Jones, Butler, and Doogs, but carry on.
Imagine being in a time machine? Next weeks tattslotto numbers please?

We don't hear about every player the clubs asks the question about.

Looks like Frampton has settled with Collingwood which is why they are the only club publicly known to have talked with him.
Mis-guided players & terrible managers = a player going to a club who doesn't have a position for him = playing state league footy for his career i can never understand why players don't seek out clubs that would suit their needs & at least give them an oppurtunity to play senior footy.

Remember when St Kilda spent 10 years chasing HBFs instead of mids?..... Then still don't have anything to show for it. We then turned Hill into Shane Savage who we sacked for being like Hill and now we want to sack Hill again.

We don't go for tall backs, third tall sized geriatrics is much more our style.
Correct about HBF'ers, wrong about Hill, nowhere have the Saints said they want to get rid of Hill.
Actually they have publicly said the opposite.
Hill is a quantum leap.on Savage.

Blake Acres - so good that his current club offers him 2 years @ $250K.

Suns have a tonne of picks. This would be a great outcome for us potentially.

It's only good if you get overs though. If Long is only getting a third or fourth round pick it's unlikely to be an upgrade. Clark is as low in value as he's ever going to be. If he's not getting a high pick you'd be better to hold him and hope he gets a run at it.

would you do Long for a 2nd and Clark for a late 1st? I would. Maybe picks aren't as important for the Suns as they are for us.

Correct about HBF'ers, wrong about Hill, nowhere have the Saints said they want to get rid of Hill.
Actually they have publicly said the opposite.
Hill is a quantum leap.on Savage.

No he's not. People said Savage couldn't defend because he was an attacking HBF, it takes people years to realise that roles change. Hill is even less accountable. People hated Zac Dawson because he'd leave his man to cover his zone spot. They thought he was an unaccountable idiot. He was the first player Ross Lyon grabbed to take to Freo. Pretty much says how much fans know.

ua5Z7kR.gif

would you do Long for a 2nd and Clark for a late 1st? I would. Maybe picks aren't as important for the Suns as they are for us.

Possibly, it would certainly be worth a look but can't see that happening. Maybe someone would for Clark but Hill is a depth or fringe player. Unless they really want a bit of hard edge I can't see it happening. He could be their Mitch Robinson I guess.

People hated Zac Dawson because he'd leave his man to cover his zone spot. They thought he was an unaccountable idiot. He was the first player Ross Lyon grabbed to take to Freo. Pretty much says how much fans know.
And in that one sentence you have summed up why BF is fun.

Mis-guided players & terrible managers = a player going to a club who doesn't have a position for him = playing state league footy for his career i can never understand why players don't seek out clubs that would suit their needs & at least give them an oppurtunity to play senior footy.
Frampton is a good fit for Collingwood with Roughead retiring.

It's why we won't be able to lure any decent key back this off season as a back-up because why would any want to come to and be behind our VC, someone who just made the AA squad and a 24 year old we've just extended and been desperate to find a spot for.

Possibly, it would certainly be worth a look but can't see that happening. Maybe someone would for Clark but Hill is a depth or fringe player. Unless they really want a bit of hard edge I can't see it happening. He could be their Mitch Robinson I guess.
that last round match by Long may just have other club's thinking that we've been stuffing him up and he's an uncut gem. If he does leave I hope he goes well 'cos I like watching him play. Can't say that about too many of our other players.

No he's not. People said Savage couldn't defend because he was an attacking HBF, it takes people years to realise that roles change. Hill is even less accountable. People hated Zac Dawson because he'd leave his man to cover his zone spot. They thought he was an unaccountable idiot. He was the first player Ross Lyon grabbed to take to Freo. Pretty much says how much fans know.
Saints fans mostly liked Zac didn't they? Oppo fans hated him.

Yes he is, Savage couldn't cover the ground Hill does, could not link up and could not impact the game like Hill does when he is playing his best. Anybody who thinks it is a fair comparison is kidding themselves

Also Saints have not indicated they want to get rid of Hill. they have put out a presser saying he is a required player. It's fine to critisise Hill, I would think it IS best if we can move him on, but don't make things up to support that criticism.

What has Zac Dawson got to do with anything we are discussing on this thread?

I think that they think we are close. Melbourne and Richmond were in the same spot before coming good. I just hope that we add talent but keep picks for the draft. If this falls over you want to be starting from a better position. Not stacked with old guys on big money with no youth.
richmond, melbourne, geelong all had one thing in common.... a midfield!

Ben Long & Hunter Clark are both worth more to us than we will net in a trade.

We’ll cave and get two fourth rounders which we’ll package up for a late third.