List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part II

The Pies are certain to land GWS running half forward Bobby Hill and, despite some interest from St Kilda, Billy Frampton is expected to move from Adelaide to Collingwood.

Ben long also getting a 4 year deal from the suns.

I wouldn't give Long 4 years, max would be 2. hope we get a good trade.

When did I spruik his cap space saving when I’ve said from the beginning he won’t be hurting our cap considering we saved space for Bing?

Yeah, I’d be happy with a top 20 pick for Hill. It hasn’t worked here. Move on, it happens. He isn’t a s**t player nor is he a salary dump
Top 20 pick for Hill who is contracted finished top 10 in the B&F would be a disaster , got screwed bringing him in and that would be getting screwed on the way out as well

For what we gave to get him and IF we got a early
2nd rounder for him on the way out, who ever is in charge of that should be shown the door 🚪

Top 20 pick for Hill who is contracted finished top 10 in the B&F would be a disaster , got screwed bringing him in and that would be getting screwed on the way out as well

2nd rounder for him on the way out, who ever is in charge of that should be shown the door 🚪
Sunk cost fallacy

Hooray for standing still. Can't wait for another 2022 on repeat. I live for mediocrity and not going forward or backwards.
I’m happy enough to stand our ground even slip a couple of places just as long as we’re bringing in talented kids. Give me McKenzie and Humphrey or something like that and I’ll be happy. I still think clubs must have heard whispers about Tassie and I really don’t want to be old and crap when they enter the comp. We need more talent, most of it will come through the draft and 1 high pick at a time just doesn’t cut it. I’m not please at all to see Clark mentioned, he’s talented and young they need to find another way to get that pick.

I'm not convinced that we won't be Tassie in a few years time.

Hooray for standing still. Can't wait for another 2022 on repeat. I live for mediocrity and not going forward or backwards.

Then what are you sooking about? [emoji1745]

That’s me assuming.

How do we know the club don’t turn around and say we want pick 12 or something.

I’m just trying to be realistic with him.

At this point I’m happy to cut my loss. Pick 19 (assuming north get a p/p) would have a host of clubs calling us overnight and into the afternoon to trade with us.

So we could turn that into multiple picks.

Brad Hill, Pick 33 2011.
Traded 2016 , Pick 23.

Is he really worth more than he was in 2016?

With Sharp potentially going to Freo, and us apparent interested in Meek, a three way trade that sees Long to GC, Sharp to Freo, and Meek to Stk would make sense. Maybe some later pick swaps to even it out.

But many people on here think that Hill is useless and has not provided us anything at all.
I would have thought if we could get a Top 20 pick for him and have him out of the club people would be happy?

Should we just keep him and complain for the next two years? Or do we cut the losses and run with a Top 20 pick?

I know which one I would do.

But many people on here think that Hill is useless and has not provided us anything at all.
I would have thought if we could get a Top 20 pick for him and have him out of the club people would be happy?

Should we just keep him and complain for the next two years? Or do we cut the losses and run with a Top 20 pick?

From my understanding his contract is for 6 years.

If we have to pay his salary, then he is well and truly better staying at the club and sorting out the issues.

He's a decent/good and great at times.

I'd be pointing the finger at somewhere else other than the players... start with gameplan, recruitment and development.

But there is a hell of a lot more chance of a talentless 18 year old coming good.

Geary, Ryder, Kent , Hanners.

We'll have a first round pick. Good chance of getting a talented kid.
2nd round pick. Still a reasonable chance , but more likely to wash out.
3rd. High risk project, or lower risk GOP.
4th. We don't have a 4th.
5th. In before Norf's rookie pick. State league player? ( ie not 18 ) or high risk.

Trade Hill : second round pick may or may not improve us, but we may still have a player in 4 years time.
Trade Clark : Not worth it without a first round pick.
Trade Long : I'd rather a player than another risky or low reward pick.
Bytel? We'd want a second at least.

No real point de-listing anyone else either.

What you say is most likely right

But it’s a very poor trading and drafting model to pay high giving heaps only to sell a couple of years later selling low

Club will go nowhere doing that

The thing is, our club's premiership team will be centered around Max King.
If they don't ace it this off season then we stand the strong chance that our senior core will be nudging or into retirement by the time we execute a rebuild and start contending again. IMHO resigning Ratts has pointed us in that direction and it's already obvious that the top end players have no interest in moving to the Saints. As the rebuild option was already floated by the Pres and they are hitting the draft again this year, I wonder if it's already been determined.

We tried a path that only clubs like Essendon and Carlton have done where we try to build through mass recruiting instead of the draft.

Normally in a proper rebuild, you get good kids in, improve as a side and once you build momentum up players want in and it's easy to attract them to you. When you do it arse about you have to over pay and get the players who are after a soft landing on big money.

I'd take the top 20, but i don't see the point in lowballing him.

We tried a path that only clubs like Essendon and Carlton have done where we try to build through mass recruiting instead of the draft.

Normally in a proper rebuild, you get good kids in, improve as a side and once you build momentum up players want in and it's easy to attract them to you. When you do it arse about you have to over pay and get the players who are after a soft landing on big money.

Normally you need to draft well year after year for several years.
If you have aging top end talent you can trade out for good picks , that can speed up the process ( only if you draft well with those good picks ).