List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part II

Happy to keep both hill and clark unless we get truly excellent offers.

Under no cap pressure and they are contracted and at their lowest possible value point.

If we have another non finals year ratts is for certain gone before 2023 season is done- we'd only have to pay him out 6 months I believe according to the new rules?

If that were the case then both those guys could very well be vital ingredients in a post ratten world.

Clark simply must stay - 2020 first final shows you just how good he is when he gets a consistent run on the park. Not ONE of his injuries have been his fault i.e soft tissue etc - completely St Kilda luck to the poor bastard. I also rewatched a few of our great wins this season and surprise surprise, Longy is at the centre. He set up so many goals this year by simply halving contests/pressuring backlines/getting a ground ball with a handball to a runner. If we get bulk injuries this year, we'll really feel his loss as a utility to cover multiple positions.

I'm nervous as hell we're about to make some serious mistakes this off season. All could be forgiven if we were bringing in JDG and some other big fish but who tf are we landing? Literally talk about Hartigan, Tom Phillips while losing Hill, Long, Clark types is f*cking disgusting.

Sure we might top up with a heap of 18 year olds, but whats that going to do when we come up against the bigger bodied MEN of the competition. The teams that already walk all over us.

But a young side gives the footy department excuses when we don't make finals.

What you say is most likely right

But it’s a very poor trading and drafting model to pay high giving heaps only to sell a couple of years later selling low

Club will go nowhere doing that

If you look at that trade on its own it doesn't look great.

If you take into context that they were wanting Pick 6 and more to begin with, we didn't do as badly. Granted still not great.

We did turn Pick 6 into a lot more than just 1 player.

What you say is most likely right

But it’s a very poor trading and drafting model to pay high giving heaps only to sell a couple of years later selling low

Club will go nowhere doing that

If your great grandpa had paid 3 times the market price for a house than it was worth, then died and left it to you.
You can try to find another sucker.
You can sell it at its market value.

Either way , it was your great grandpa who stuffed up.

If it was you who paid too much, you should kick your own butt, and get the hell out of real estate.

( poor analogy, real estate often appreciates with age due to land value, aging footy players do not ).

I'm not convinced that we won't be Tassie in a few years time.
It should be obvious that North are loading up on relocation to Tassie by now:

Hiring Clarko, asking for the Tassie region as an exclusive drafting pool, plus it makes total sense strategically. They could finish up like South Melbourne/Sydney.

If they don't get relocated, we won't either.

It's been reported that he signed a 6 x 900k contract plenty of times.
Cal Twomey reporting Hill has two years left:

“St Kilda has also been linked as a possibility for Phillips, but it would likely depend on if anything happened with Bradley Hill. Hill, who has two years to run on his contract, has been linked as an option for North Melbourne but there have been no trade talks between the Saints and Hill.”

LOL

This reminds me of the contract length discussion about Hannebery...

5 or 4 ... 4 or 5

5 or 6 ... 6 or 5

Maybe with these long contracts, the last year is always optional or subject to terms. The club then promotes the biggest length it could go at the start of the contract then winds it back to the lower length when things aren't going so well.

Is it just me or did the b&f have a pretty subdued feel to it, looks like harsh words have been spoken or change is coming maybe both.
****en hope so. It’s time to ****en pick it up.

If your great grandpa had paid 3 times the market price for a house than it was worth, then died and left it to you.
You can try to find another sucker.
You can sell it at its market value.

Either way , it was your great grandpa who stuffed up.

If it was you who paid too much, you should kick your own butt, and get the hell out of real estate.

( poor analogy, real estate often appreciates with age due to land value, aging footy players do not ).
Ok
But if it’s still grandpa buying and selling your real estate maybe get someone else to take it over ,so you can start making money

This desperate constant mentioning of Windy and Owens is depressing. They've played a handful of games in one year, yet are both expected to be the saviour of this club.

We're going to end up loading everything on their shoulders and they'll finish up their careers like Jack Steven, rather than Joel Selwood.

No trade talks between Saints and Hill.

Saints explicitly state Hill is a required player.

Big Footy nuffies;, 'Saints are pushing out Hill.'
Christ. The cognative dissonance on here is astounding.

It should be obvious that North are loading up on relocation to Tassie by now:

Hiring Clarko, asking for the Tassie region as an exclusive drafting pool, plus it makes total sense strategically. They could finish up like South Melbourne/Sydney.

If they don't get relocated, we won't either.
If they get relocated, we won't. If we get relocated, they won't.

No trade talks between Saints and Hill.

Saints explicitly state Hill is a required player.

Big Footy nuffies;, 'Saints are pushing out Hill.'
Christ. The cognative dissonance on here is astounding.

Get real Joffa

The talk in the media is huge about Hill and what he is up to.

From the AFL website to nearly every AFL media outlet are talking about Hill's contract position at St Kilda.

Attacking us "nuffies" for just speculating on what is being spoken about in the media is a bit rich even from you.

Oh and Clarko must be an idiot not the great coach the industry thinks he is.

He rates a player for his new club so much he chases him in contact.

But the Einstein's on here say it's the worst trade in history and Hill is the worst player ever at St.Kilda.
Who would take Clarkson's word on it over nobodies on a nuffy forum?

Personally I think we paid too much for Hill, in context it was with four other trades, however it was too expensive. Hill has not lived up to expectations but another top 10 B&F finish suggests he is not a disaster.

If we need the SC for a big fish this trade period, I am happy to get the 900k off the books and say pick 20. If we don't need the space we ask for what Bell asked or he stays.
I don't mind him staying, he plays a few good games.

Get real Joffa

The talk in the media is huge about Hill and what he is up to.

From the AFL website to nearly every AFL media outlet are talking about Hill's contract position at St Kilda.

Attacking us "nuffies" for just speculating on what is being spoken about in the media is a bit rich even from you.
No just you can't read facts is all.

You are told he is not being pushed and is a required player then say ' so he is being pushed out.'
Then you tell me to get real. FMD [emoji849]. Black is white to you lot.

This desperate constant mentioning of Windy and Owens is depressing. They've played a handful of games in one year, yet are both expected to be the saviour of this club.

We're going to end up loading everything on their shoulders and they'll finish up their careers like Jack Steven, rather than Joel Selwood.

Look at this video on Windy at the B&F. Said that the game against Geelong in round 9 was the most fun he has ever had on the football field... that sort of talk is so refreshing. What a cool bloke this guy is, reminds us that playing football is a whole lot of fun!!!

If i'd managed to bluff my way into a list management roll at the Saints, and , without having a clue, not made any first round draft trades, just read what Knightmare wrote and copied it.....

2016: Jy Simpkin. -
2017: Fogarty - Coffield / Clark
2018: King - King
2019: Flanders. - Hill, Howard
2020: Brayden Cook - Allison.
2021: Hobbs - Wanganeen Milera

Don't see it as remarkably different, those talent scouts are a waste of money.

All that trying to be clever with trades does jack shit.
Just read what Twomey, Knightmare, Barrels and all those say and pick someone from the list.

( Simpkin would be handy, I think Brayden Cook can probably do better than Allison, Allison is taller but that's probably his elongated head ).

No just you can't read facts is all.

You are told he is not being pushed and is a required player then say ' so he is being pushed out.'
Then you tell me to get real. FMD [emoji849]. Black is white to you lot.

Yes indeed.. read the words.. read inbetween the lines. Read the words very carefully.

Why would there be contract talks between the Saints and Hill?

He already has a contract, so why would there be talks between Hill and the Saints.

The talks (if any) would now be happening between Hill and other clubs to discuss what they "could" offer St Kilda to break/dissolve the current contract.

If you look at that trade on its own it doesn't look great.

If you take into context that they were wanting Pick 6 and more to begin with, we didn't do as badly. Granted still not great.

We did turn Pick 6 into a lot more than just 1 player.
Yes we did turn pick 6 into more than just 1 player but we also gave more than just pick 6 , a couple of 2nd rounder’s a future 2nd round ? And a player

Is Josh Walker a better option as KPD depth than Kyle Hartigan?

The Pies are certain to land GWS running half forward Bobby Hill and, despite some interest from St Kilda, Billy Frampton is expected to move from Adelaide to Collingwood.

Ben long also getting a 4 year deal from the suns.

Well, if they’re offering Long 4 years (and good coin) then they can cough up an early second round draft pick.

None of this rubbish about a pick in the 40s.