List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part II

Ma

Maybe we do push up to the top four next year?
Possible but I want a team that will continue to push up the ladder and will contend for years based on good drafting. What’s the point of trying what failed at north. We could probably add a few more veterans like Mitchell but the question should be will it lead to a flag tilt. Anyway I’m taking the picks to the draft and trying to add a McKenzie or humphreys and building on the young guys we have. I’m down with free agents but the operative word is free, if degoey nominates us just watch collingwood go Peter bell on us.

They were also chasing a first round pick.

They clearly won't get that for him now but I don't see what they active by trading him out for any less than a 2nd rounder
I don't think there's any way we'd trade him for a second rounder.

Possible but I want a team that will continue to push up the ladder and will contend for years based on good drafting. What’s the point of trying what failed at north. We could probably add a few more veterans like Mitchell but the question should be will it lead to a flag tilt. Anyway I’m taking the picks to the draft and trying to add a McKenzie or humphreys and building on the young guys we have. I’m down with free agents but the operative word is free, if degoey nominates us just watch collingwood go Peter bell on us.

I think that's an ideal world but we are so far down the road that we need to do a bit of both. Put all high picks off the table no matter what unless a miracle trade for an absolute star with 6 plus years left. Otherwise we need to make a call on guys over 27 now and go into rebuild. That means trading out a lot of our best players and hoping that our work experience kid can't work out the AFL drawing system.

Sincs was an AA back this year. It might make sense to move him into the middle after a pre-season training there but to move him there in the middle of the season would have been nuts in my opinion.
Who knew playing our best player in hs best position would be considered bad coaching.

Shows there is no pleasing some and they will find fault in anything just to give themselves an excuse to complain.

We just don't have much youth to play. The guys that should be moving to playing every week are Bytel and Byrnes types. First and second year players aren't taking a prime midfield spot. Clark and Coff still haven't cemented a spot 5 years in. To top up how we have, we've sold a generation off.

If we are in for a rebuild/refresh we are doing it from a really bad place.
A bit of bad luck that may come right with Clark and coffield. It’s hard to expect too much from bytel and Byrnes, I had some hope both would make it but I’m pretty sure Byrnes isn‘t afl standard and I was calling bytel a bust back in March. We need to stop giving away early picks and start a mini rebuild before we all get Tassie concessions to deal with.

Benefit of not playing anyone in the top 8 twice.

Their side is no stronger than ours.

Less talent even IMO but so much more mental strength. They get the job done and we bed shit. Also have master coach that the players trust.

Totally disagree, but that's ok, that's what this forum is for.

I really think he has not been given the opportunity to settle into one position. I would trade Butler and keep Long in that forward position.

Unfortunately with off field discipline Ben was his own worst enemy this year. Nothing drastic mind you, but wasn't ideal.
Off field discipline? 🤔

Not what I said but shouldn't expect much more from you LOL
Um what it's literally exactly what you said or did you not read the post you were agreeing with?

A bit of bad luck that may come right with Clark and coffield. It’s hard to expect too much from bytel and Byrnes, I had some hope both would make it but I’m pretty sure Byrnes isn‘t afl standard and I was calling bytel a bust back in March. We need to stop giving away early picks and start a mini rebuild before we all get Tassie concessions to deal with.

Byrnes hasn't played many games still. Pretty hard to call this early. He's another who's had horrible development. Played as a medical sub, moved around, never given runs on ball etc. Not sure he makes it either but both haven't been given much of a chance.

Problem with Byrnes is his kicking is very hit and miss

I reckon people don't quite realise that JDG is probably nearly perfect as a comparison for Stringer. Really both look like absolute stars on their day but just as likely to go missing. At 26 he's probably always going to be that guy. Stringer is playing more forward time still but very similar types.

He'll suit us more than Hill but if they expect him to make us a finalist by swapping him with Hill alone, I think we'll be in this same position in 3 years time.
There is definately something in the water today because this is absolutely spot on about JDG. He drifts in and out of the game, but what he does when he gets it is quality.
If the Saints supporters think he is the messiah, he will get treated the same way as Hill has gone.
He will take pressure off the mids and delivery into the 50 will be better.
Maybe if we have Mitchell getting 40 the 18 quality touches from JDG will be sufficient.

The amusing thing is that you actually think you know that he's s**t at his job.
I just find it amazing that you just come on here to ague with certain posters and go the man for no reason apart to play silly games

Have a bad day did we ? r u ok ?

Ratts is going to have to do a few coaching courses in the off season IMO. If he can't change to something a bit more on trend as far as game plans go, I don't think it will matter who we bring in.
Agreed with your entire post at large Gringo but this bit stuck out to me in particular - I would argue our best footy IS that current trend already. Those quarters or 45 minute spurts in games this year we have looked legitimately electric and comfortably top 8 standard at the least. It still seems we suffer from the continued inability to sustain it in games, almost since our Grand Final seasons.

I think we have the capacity, but why can’t we for long enough?!

Um what it's literally exactly what you said or did you not read the post you were agreeing with?
Not what i said at all

one of the reason I have lost faith in the coaches they are so predictable

We are a very meat & potatoes side and easy to coach against

Keep trying champ

Who thinks De Goey is a messiah?
Haven’t seen anyone claiming as such.
monty python messiah GIF

Benefit of not playing anyone in the top 8 twice.

Their side is no stronger than ours.
That's fair we had a pretty tough draw. I do think our list is probably better. They have belief and are better coached than us tho in my view. The belief part of it is so important, which I think is a massive issue for us. I'd say that's why Ratts has themed the "why not us" line to help build belief. They have some great kids coming through tho

The amusing thing is that you actually think you know that he's s**t at his job.

I can see we play ugly footy with little system or transition. Players look lost and confused. Our forward line is a meme as is our forward 50 entry. We had a better side than a few top 8 clubs and he couldn't manage to win more than a few games in half a season of footy. I could write an essay on all the reasons that he isn't very good at the senior coaching job. Development, dated game style, selection integrity, team selection and motivation are some of the lowlights.

Honestly can't find many positives in what he did this year and most of last. Looks like he's in over his head.