List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part III

Our own list managers and new experienced footy boss have both stated we need more elite talent
Our longest serving captain has stated we need more talent
We need more a grade talent and also dramatic improvement from the players mentioned whilst Nas, owens and windhager continuing on the right trajectory
Every team wants more elite talent and of course we want more - and all the media pundits come up with the same drivel - We didn't have a good year and we only missed out on playing finals.

We are on the right trajectory / we have improved the list every year since Richardson left.

Agree with this, Riewoldt would be an elite coach. He choose the ‘easy’ path in the media. Always thought choosing challenge was more his style. He needs to be a saints coach.
Having read his autobiography I reckon he would be a crap coach.

Reckon he would struggle with players not as driven as he was.

Reckon he would be great on the board.

The best players do not always make the best coaches.
Being a superstar player himself, I dont believe he would have that common touch enabling him to necessarily deal with players (the majority of whom would be) far less talented than he was.

Can’t see it personally.
Some people are not cut out to be a coach and career wise it is pretty cut throat if you don't have the cattle.

Being a superstar player himself, I dont believe he would have that common touch enabling him to necessarily deal with players (the majority of whom would be) far less talented than he was.

Can’t see it personally.
I watch pretty much everything he does on fox.
His language and football knowledge specificaly around expectations and driving high performance culture would be exactly what we need.

Ross wasn’t the only reason we were so good from 2008-2011

Can’t see it personally.
Nick is a coach. He coaches the most important young players in the country…his three boys James, Will and Teddy who will all become St Kilda legends. It’s an enormous job with a lot of pressure.

He legitimately has the worst contract in the AFL today. Worse than Grundy, Adams, McGovern, Polec, Hill all of them.

His output-to-contract ratio is astonishing. 7 Years at $1,000,000 was insanity for a halfback flanker/winger - even for one that was as good as he was for about 18 months.

If we bring him in we're committing $1.9 Million a year to the halfback line between him and Hill until 2025. That's atrocious and I just can't stomach that we'd do it.
If we did get him then Whitfield and Gubby could sit at the Saints cafe and talk about old times.

You haven’t been there for all that time but you know about the culture do you?? Essendon - great culture there….really??? How many finals have they won recently??? What respect do they have on the AFL community? Let’s ask Truck or their recent CEO…Jog on BJ, we haven’t been successful but you have no idea what the culture is and to compare us to Essendon negatively…gimme a break.
How does this Essendon flog get a job in the media. :D:D:D

Won’t happen. They’re hard for Cadman and moving pick 3 moves then away from that

We need to get in early and put our name down now for Cadman once he finishes his 2 year internship at GWS.

Channel Seven’s Mitch Cleary believes GWS could be open to trading Lachie Whitfield.

Whitfield, 28, still has five years left on a bumper seven-year deal with the Giants and shedding his sizeable contract could help the club refresh.
While the outside player hasn’t been officially linked to any move, Cleary believes the length of contract and amount owing to Whitfield could convince the Giants to trade him if a suitor emerges.

“I think deep down the Giants would be open to trading Lachie Whitfield,” Cleary said on SEN Mornings.

“As you say, it’s just a matter of finding a suitor, but things can emerge late in trade periods, clubs get desperate.”

After missing out on free agent Jordan De Goey, Cleary believes a club like St Kilda could emerge as a suitor for Whitfield, particularly as they’ve announced their ambitions to add more top-end talent to their list.

“Look at St Kilda, they started and walked in day one of the trade period on Monday and said, ‘We’re here for more A-grade talent, we’ve got good players, but we need better players’,” Cleary said.

“But right now, all they’ve brought in is Zaine Cordy and they missed on Jordan De Goey.”

Considering St Kilda has the money available that they would’ve spent on De Goey, Cleary feels they have the cap space to take Whitfield’s contract on.

“They obviously had $850,000 – 900,000 sitting in their salary cap for Jordan De Goey and he hasn’t taken that, so would a club like St Kilda get involved for Lachie Whitfield?,” Cleary asked.

“He’s got links there, Gubby (Graeme) Allen spent time with Lachie Whitfield at the Giants, we know what those two have been through together.

“So, I wouldn’t be surprised if a club came late for Lachie Whitfield, I don’t think it’s happened yet.

“But I think the Giants would be open to those conversations if it was to emerge.”

AFL Media’s Cal Twomey believes Whitfield or defender Nick Haynes could be put on the trade table if Richmond aren’t able to land a trade for midfielder Jacob Hopper.

Whitfield with O’Halloran as steak knives please

There was room in the cap for A SINGLE BIG DEAL.

It was set up for Bing.

Now ultimately. You can save it and go after say, Anderson.

But there are 2 issues. If he doesn’t come. We are in the same situation as now.

And

We have effectively ruled ourselves out of the race for pick 7 which actually hinders our ability to meet our draft strategy as outlined by Walsh if we actually find a target who wants to come and needs to be traded for I.e Noah Anderson
What’s the effect of Hanners Gears Paddy and so on? Or is that largely just consumed by contracts (increases) signed this year?

I watch pretty much everything he does on fox.
His language and football knowledge specificaly around expectations and driving high performance culture would be exactly what we need.

Ross wasn’t the only reason we were so good from 2008-2011
But his best mate said our culture was crap. Wasn't Riewoldt captain of that crap kultcha?
Judging by his work on those personality football shows, if he was as talented as a coach he would make Mark Neeld look like Yabby Jeans

Listen here champ, I know his family quite well. We were neighbours growing up and his mum was my baby sitter, so you had better watch what you say about them because they are nothing but lovely!

On SM-F711B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Don't they all kick puppies?

Little helpless fluffy ones?

Or do I have them confused with someone else?

List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part III