Training 2022 Training Reports

It’s a bit of a weird position though that’s is not prioritised by all sides. I mean, if you said to me one of our players was a top 3 key forward in the comp, or a top 3 winger, or a top 3 key defender, or a top 3 small forward or inside midfielder, I’d be impressed. We’d be talking an AA selection regular then.
Several teams don’t play with a ruck forward at all or the requirements of the role are fulfilled by player primarily playing other positions, eg Tom Hawkins at Geelong doing all the forward 50 rucking.
So it’s a bit misleading to say Lobb is a top 3 forward ruck in the comp. there’s about 8 sides that he’d struggle to be Best 22 in.

Touché.

Lobb’s a top 3 ruck/forward because there’s only about three of them. If he were that special of a commodity teams would have been happy to match his contract during trade week.

Pearce is in Tassie with Jack Hannath

From Snuff - This post is a troll that I am leaving up for now given its preseason and I find it funny

G'day Freo fans, I come in peace.

Was in the area this morning and happened to catch a bit of your boys training so figured I would post a few random notes I took down...

- Gee Young has some skills. He mainly jogged laps before spending the last half hour or so on set shots - curled a few beauties from behind the boundary line at the end for a bit of fun. Hardly saw him miss a kick.
- What interested me the most was that Hamling split his time between the defenders and the forwards, could be seeing a swingman role in 2022. He was his usual dominant self down back in some match simulation drills before going head-to-head with someone I couldn’t quite make out in a forward role.
- Clark is very fast - Brayshaw was in most of the drills with him and couldn't keep up.
- Blakely is pale as buggery and still doesn't really have the body shape you'd expect of an AFL player.
- There was a big bloke who pulled up next to me and I could have sworn it was Suma, but I'm sure I was wrong...
- Amiss was the player picked to kick the goal at the end today and nailed it. Celebrations were huge.
- No sign of Pearce or Lobb. Couldn't tell you why.
- Serong kicked on his left foot for 80% of the session, I reckon. Nice to see players working on their non-preferred so readily.
- Serong looked a class above the other midfielders bar Brayshaw Just knew how to find the footy and wouldn't miss a target all session. Johnson was very quiet and seemed to be taking direction from Brayshaw.
- Chapman looked on and was hitting targets left and right. Set for a huge 2022.
- Treacy went up against Meek in the ruck contests and I'd say that Treacy has the inside running at the moment.
- Won't say too much about it in case I was just reading too much into it, but Blakely looked as though he'd enjoyed the break a bit too much. A few of the coaches pulled him aside and they were having quite an animated conversation before he was sent to do laps for the rest of the session.
- A lot of running work, clearly a focus even in the heat.
- Walters looked like he was doing a great job 'coaching' the younger guys in between the drills. Erasmus in particular seemed to be following him around.

Will upload pics later if I have time. Let me know if you have any questions!

Last edited by a moderator:

Was in the area this morning and happened to catch a bit of your boys training so figured I would post a few random notes I took down...

- Gee Young has some skills. He mainly jogged laps before spending the last half hour or so on set shots - curled a few beauties from behind the boundary line at the end for a bit of fun. Hardly saw him miss a kick.
- What interested me the most was that Hamling split his time between the defenders and the forwards, could be seeing a swingman role in 2022. He was his usual dominant self down back in some match simulation drills before going head-to-head with someone I couldn’t quite make out in a forward role.
- Clark is very fast - Brayshaw was in most of the drills with him and couldn't keep up.
- Blakely is pale as buggery and still doesn't really have the body shape you'd expect of an AFL player.
- There was a big bloke who pulled up next to me and I could have sworn it was Suma, but I'm sure I was wrong...
- Amiss was the player picked to kick the goal at the end today and nailed it. Celebrations were huge.
- Serong kicked on his left foot for 80% of the session, I reckon. Nice to see players working on their non-preferred so readily.
- Serong looked a class above the other midfielders bar Brayshaw Just knew how to find the footy and wouldn't miss a target all session. Johnson was very quiet and seemed to be taking direction from Brayshaw.
- Chapman looked on and was hitting targets left and right. Set for a huge 2022.
- Treacy went up against Meek in the ruck contests and I'd say that Treacy has the inside running at the moment.
- Won't say too much about it in case I was just reading too much into it, but Blakely looked as though he'd enjoyed the break a bit too much. A few of the coaches pulled him aside and they were having quite an animated conversation before he was sent to do laps for the rest of the session.
- Walters looked like he was doing a great job 'coaching' the younger guys in between the drills. Erasmus in particular seemed to be following him around.

SCUM

Where was Chapman spending most of his time today? Reports seem to be that he's training with the mids

Thanks mate this was super

I knew this was
a) too good to be true
b) Familiar

For reference everybody