Resource 2023 AFL Draft Discussion...

Yep look at Langdon at Melbourne

Has been an extremely key player in their success

And guess what …. Wilson runs just as hard and as long as Langdon and that’s a huge weapon

Don’t sleep on Leake though , he’s my Tom Stewart of this draft
That's excellent news for the new Tassie side ...

I just cant see Nicks wanting an outside wingman in Wilson with our first pick.
He has shown that isn't the type of player he likes in the team
Yep and we're worse for it imho

Wilson’s centre square impact for Murray was not at all bad for a 75kg guy, more the spreader than the distributor of course but pretty consistently accumulated and used the ball well

I also like that he more often than not looks to use his speed wherever he’s playing, whether it be middle, wing or half forward

Yeah it might take him a few years to become a mid at AFL level, but I firmly believe the results will more than pay off once he gets there
I still believe Windsor has the better footy brain .....and is the better user of the ball .....by that I mean, a greater hurt factor with his disposals ;)

Different player and not as combative but he’s got some of the danger with ball in hand that Butters had coming though
Yeah I’m always big on players who look dangerous with ball in hand no matter the situation. Butters was the same in his draft year

Hopefully Wilson proves my enthusiasm right like Butters did lol

You want to keep playing Sholl on the wing ?

We haven’t got an A grade winger ( that can also play forward ) so I think it’s a great need but talent trumps need anyway

I’m just as excited / happy if we draft Leake

Will Graham is my smoky pick for us too

Soligo will become an A grade winger. He’s absolute class

You serious ? Played every game in a top 8 team last year and was barely 18 yo

The closest possible thing to Bont in the league going forward
Agree needs huge compo to Saints - confident we will go hard with an offer of 4/5 years at 800k+ though - but you don’t reckon Finn Callaghan or H Reid are more Bont like?

I think Cook is a classic example.
He can do some special things but because he isn't a contested beats, Nicks wont play him.
I think a different coach could make him a very good player
Are we sure this is the primary reason ....or are there other factors in his game ?

Agree needs huge compo to Saints - confident we will go hard with an offer of 4/5 years at 800k+ though - but you don’t reckon Finn Callaghan or H Reid are more Bont like?
Finn is a bit more outside and not as effective forward as Matteas

Reid is different , more like Dusty than Bont but he would be just as good at half back , mid or half forward

In 4-5 years maybe

In meantime he will prob help a team win finals

And possibly earn them a compo pick in top 10 if he ever leaves
Mmmm.....given it'll take Leak 2-3 years to establish himself & gain the necessary fitness / strength .....means we would only get 1-2 years true service

Not sure all these Tassie boys will want to go back home. Not many SA boys have over the years. Without trying to be disrespectful, if SA is currently deemed one of the least attractive states for young men will Tassie be even worse?

that said, they will have a massive blank cheque book and will be able to outbid most, if not all, clubs for Tassie boys. That’s the real issue.

3-4 years is hopefully a sweet spot for us though. Squad built so not overly impacted by compromised drafts and also more chance of Tassie boys hanging around for sustained short and medium term success

I think Cook is a classic example.
He can do some special things but because he isn't a contested beats, Nicks wont play him.
I think a different coach could make him a very good player

Cook does have some special traits but that’s not the reason he isn’t being played

Cool isn’t being played because he isn’t consistent enough even in the things he does well

The club has played him Wing, HF and as a running HB to try and get him to be more consistent with his weapons, and he has struggled for consistency

Not sure all these Tassie boys will want to go back home. Not many SA boys have over the years. Without trying to be disrespectful, if SA is currently deemed one of the least attractive states for young men will Tassie be even worse?

that said, they will have a massive blank cheque book and will be able to outbid most, if not all, clubs for Tassie boys. That’s the real issue.

3-4 years is hopefully a sweet spot for us though. Squad built so not overly impacted by compromised drafts and also more chance of Tassie boys hanging around for sustained short and medium term success
This is like Gold Coast .....the TPP has to be spent, kids are going to get offers like Bock, that he simply couldn't refuse

And lets not forget Phil Davis

Cook does have some special traits but that’s not the reason he isn’t being played

Cool isn’t being played because he isn’t consistent enough even in the things he does well

The club has played him Wing, HF and as a running HB to try and get him to be more consistent with his weapons, and he has struggled for consistency

Correct

There’s no vendetta against Cook

Nankervis taken with pretty much the last pick in the draft is clearly better

Cook might end up ok but it’s up to him

Cook isn't working hard enough .....that maybe fitness ...maybe not ?

Yep good example

All list members will be under threat not just the Tassie ones
Well then .....let's not dangle meat out to the ravaging dogs .....it's an even draft, reduce the risk by not picking
Tasmanians

Hell, every year we talk about choosing Vic Country lads over Vic Metro ....now we want to pick an almost certain escapee ???

Resource 2023 AFL Draft Discussion...