Player Watch 2023 AFL Draft Pool Discussion Thread

Who would you prefer we pick with our first pick?

• Nick Watson

Votes: 157 37.6%
  • Zane Duursma

Votes: 135 32.3%
  • Colby McKercher

Votes: 51 12.2%
  • Daniel Curtin

Votes: 51 12.2%
  • Nate Caddy

Votes: 11 2.6%
  • Conor O'Sullivan

Votes: 7 1.7%
  • Ryley Sanders

Votes: 4 1.0%
  • Darcy Wilson

Votes: 2 0.5%

Same rule applies to this thread as other years, keep it on topic about the kids.
Don’t get bogged down on what other teams might do or where they will finish.

Trade speculation belongs here.

That's also where you can discuss your mock drafts or pick trades.

Any McCabe, Dear or Maginness talk belongs here.

Last edited by a moderator:
I like the look of Ryan Maric a mobile forward at CHF. Seems to play tall.
I really wanna see how he goes this weekend because it was very hard to take too much from last weeks game in those conditions.

For the AFL Draft I think Archer Reid could be a good KPF 203cm, trained with us in the preseason so we would know how he trains and they would know his personality type ect already, comparison would be 1 of the King Twins, although yet to have a big break out game, Daniel Curtin is the best KPD likely going very high in the draft from WA.

For MSD I like Ryan Maric 193cm KPF (Gippsland) not sure on comparison, as far as mature aged players, I don't watch as much of the state leagues, so idk.
I see a bit of Joe Daniher in the way that Archer Reid plays, although hopefully less of the brain farts. 😂

Interesting that Hamish Ogilvie (Adelaide recruiting manager) detailed ‘Nick’ (presumably Watson) and Zane (presumably Duursma) as the two who may challenge Harley Reid for the number 1 pick, on gettable. No mention of Curtain or Moir in that conversation.

Mate, kpp all the way. Looks clumsy and lost at stopagges . But quite more comfortable as a mobile KPp.
Not sure tbh.

Again I’m still content with him being able to play work into it. That’s his first game on ball for years and in some very heavy weather and wind.

Looked pretty composed around the ball, tackling was good, got to pretty good spots and his workrate and efforts were good. He was quite clean below his knees also.

He and others were all stagnate at stoppages but I’d like to see him play mid on a dry day.

Edit: obviously forgot that his kicking was really good, out of defense, out of the front of stoppage and inside 50.

And was gonna mention and will, he will likely be able to play a bully ball style at AFL level because he’s already built and will continue to, he’s 196cm at this stage.

Mid or KPP?

Am I being right in suggesting he’s a bit slow in reaction time?

Hard to tell if he’s just relaxed in the moment, but he kind of looks like he needs to go up a level in intensity.

Isn’t this the first time in the midfield? Or close to? I found him really impressive overall. 12 tackles and he was as tall as the ruckman. And he has a beautiful kick. Be good to see him at the champs.

Interesting that Hamish Ogilvie (Adelaide recruiting manager) detailed ‘Nick’ (presumably Watson) and Zane (presumably Duursma) as the two who may challenge Harley Reid for the number 1 pick, on gettable. No mention of Curtain or Moir in that conversation.

Of course he doesn't want to pump up Moir.

AFL Draft May Power rankings 2023 Jasper Chellappah Nick Watson moves up list with Harley Reid - ESPN

8. Colby McKercher (9)
Tasmanian Devils/Allies
MID, 181cm, 76kg
Talent League: 4 games, 31 disposals, 0.75 goals

The leading Tasmanian prospect in the draft, McKercher is a silky midfielder and one that forwards love with ball in hand. He hits targets by hand and foot and explodes out of contest with a quick first few steps, helping him collect a stack of uncontested footy.
I wonder how far he slides. I suspect clubs will be very hesitant to draft Tassie talent with high picks if they're potentially going to be poached in a few years.

IMO, if Curtin was Victorian he would be getting a lot, lot more attention and be closest to challenging Reid
Yep, he is just cruising at the moment. Would love a great left footer like him in our midfield. Ward has a good left kick on him, but Curtin is way more penetrating by the looks.

AFL Draft May Power rankings 2023 Jasper Chellappah Nick Watson moves up list with Harley Reid - ESPN

I wonder how far he slides. I suspect clubs will be very hesitant to draft Tassie talent with high picks if they're potentially going to be poached in a few years.
I don’t think it will impact McKercher or any other Tassie talent. Clubs recruit players away from other states all the time. Only a small percentage go to their home state on their own accord. McKercehr is a strong talent and he will go early.

As far as Jaspers rankings go I think he’s done a pretty good job. I don’t know if he has any intel, I assume he may have some. But unless you’re involved at club land it is always just opinion based.

I don’t think it will impact McKercher or any other Tassie talent. Clubs recruit players away from other states all the time. Only a small percentage go to their home state on their own accord. McKercehr is a strong talent and he will go early.

As far as Jaspers rankings go I think he’s done a pretty good job. I don’t know if he has any intel, I assume he may have some. But unless you’re involved at club land it is always just opinion based.
I just think with all the concessions Tassie will have along with the focus the AFL has on them starting with established talent rather than dozens of first round draftees that there will be some silly deals offered to the best young Tassie talent at other clubs to draw them back home.

Yep, he is just cruising at the moment. Would love a great left footer like him in our midfield. Ward has a good left kick on him, but Curtin is way more penetrating by the looks.
Ward is a creative player he’s someone by hand and foot who is creative and reliable high floor high ceiling and someone as a forward you’d want kicking to you.

Like a Merrett in terms of use, whereas Curtin is more like Dawson.

Yeh that's a good point. When I watched the game I thought he lacked explosiveness but it was probably more slow reaction at the stoppage..he showed very good athleticism in a couple of chase down tackles.

Super curious to see where they play him at champs.

Isn’t this the first time in the midfield? Or close to? I found him really impressive overall. 12 tackles and he was as tall as the ruckman. And he has a beautiful kick. Be good to see him at the champs.
He said in the interview on game day he played mid about a year and a half ago.

Probably a bloke who had a growth spurt so they said 'now go to CHB'...interested to see where clubs project him at AFL level

I just think with all the concessions Tassie will have along with the focus the AFL has on them starting with established talent rather than dozens of first round draftees that there will be some silly deals offered to the best young Tassie talent at other clubs to draw them back home.
It’s a really interesting add to list management. it may turn out to be a great decision to draft tassie kids as a future windfall for early picks or a bust hard to tell. Most will surely want to go home and play in the inaugural team I would think

I hope Archie reid can put in some strong performances in the months ahead, it certainly doesn't help that he's not on the field until the 3rd or 4th quarters in some games 😕

Player Watch 2023 AFL Draft Pool Discussion Thread