Player Watch 2023 AFL Draft Pool Discussion Thread

Who would you prefer we pick with our first pick?

• Nick Watson

Votes: 157 37.6%
  • Zane Duursma

Votes: 135 32.3%
  • Colby McKercher

Votes: 51 12.2%
  • Daniel Curtin

Votes: 51 12.2%
  • Nate Caddy

Votes: 11 2.6%
  • Conor O'Sullivan

Votes: 7 1.7%
  • Ryley Sanders

Votes: 4 1.0%
  • Darcy Wilson

Votes: 2 0.5%

Same rule applies to this thread as other years, keep it on topic about the kids.
Don’t get bogged down on what other teams might do or where they will finish.

Trade speculation belongs here.

That's also where you can discuss your mock drafts or pick trades.

Any McCabe, Dear or Maginness talk belongs here.

Last edited by a moderator:
Are we allowed to make phantom drafts on this thread?
We'd probably prefer that was done in the hypothetical thread, just to keep things separate.

Thanks for checking :thumbsu:

For all the lauding of Harley Reid to date, he appears to be good player clearly, but every highlight package I have seen of him sees him fending off regularly to get away. I am assuming it is part of his game but is this going to cut it at AFL level. His three goals today were within 15m of goal in total, and yet the rave about them was ridiculous

can see WC trading pick one definitely

For all the lauding of Harley Reid to date, he appears to be good player clearly, but every highlight package I have seen of him sees him fending off regularly to get away. I am assuming it is part of his game but is this going to cut it at AFL level. His three goals today were within 15m of goal in total, and yet the rave about them was ridiculous

It will be interesting.
Giants have already indicated they may go hard for Harley like last year. WC might be keen for more home grown talent, Curtin etc.
Apparently Harley has been injured?
His stocks may soften if he is half fit for the rest of the year.

If we don't get him he's an overrated spud that will never live up to the hype.

If we trade up for him he's a prodigal talent that is going to completely transform the way we play and lead us to the holy land.

Imo

If we trade up for him he's a prodigal talent that is going to completely transform the way we play and lead us to the holy land.

Imo
No. I just don’t get how anyone could have been barracking for us to finish last to get him. I can’t see him being the game changer for a club at the bottom that miraculously solves a rebuild.

sure a team currently contending might sell some assets to add to what they have. But I can’t see a team such as ours, throwing a few first rounders just to land Reid.

I would be pissed off if we did that

Good points

He’s definitely a lot bigger and stronger than the kids he is playing against and won’t have that same advantage at AFL level.

As you give your opinion of Harley Reid remember that none of the hype is of his making. He’s an 18 year old seems pretty level headed from what he has to deal with and clearly an elite talent. The people bigging him up are just trying to further their career in a media landscape where being the biggest flog is rewarded. The one thing I’ve learned in my life is people will more than likely behave according to how they are measured.

He’s definitely a lot bigger and stronger than the kids he is playing against and won’t have that same advantage at AFL level.

I've seen this before . Alot of people maybe myself included were saying daicos is just a stat padder and isn't dangerous enough in his draft year. I guess it's just normal when you have so many runs on the board that everyone looks for the smallest of holes in reids games.

I didn’t pick a hole and it’s not a hole. Just stated that he’s clearly bigger and stronger than his U18 rivals, which he is. He’s clearly the number 1 in the draft and ready to go, but the gap might narrow in time as others increase in size and strength. Equally if he improves other parts of his game the gap could widen, though most years the number 1 pick doesn’t end up being the best in the draft so that’s far from guaranteed

Having an advantage like a Skeletal advantage never goes away, you can train for big muscles, but bone strength you can't train and that advantage is for life, that's why Petracca, Oliver, JHF(Jokic in the NBA has no muscles and dominates off of bone strength) ect have never dropped off and never will, he seems to have that natural strength imo

Also he has made his name by being an impact player, he is not an accumulator mid, he has made a name for himself as an intercepting counter attacking defender last year, before that he was a forward who was determined to win the footy no matter what, this year he has gone into the midfield and even though he has not played there often showed good signs with some burst runs, tough contested footy and nice disposal, he has talent, footy smarts, he is team orientated, competitive, combative, tough, strong, these are good signs for the future imo.

In 10 years will he be the best from this draft class? There's no guarantees in life.

Of course you need a match winner to an extent but between McDonald, Mackenzie, Newc and Day I think one of them will stand up in the big moments.

Or all of them.

They’re a serious group, any one of them could turn out to be as damaging as you point out.

Myopic for talking heads to say we lack a big moment player, or we’re all system and no cream. We have as many candidates in this team as we’ve had in others during rebuilds.

Brockman and Weddle in the wings, and possibly a few others too. Let alone if we land a Mac3 or Watson, even Dursma.

nail a high pick in this draft and it’s almost getting silly.

Last edited by a moderator:
Well the difference is that generally ball winning ability is the skill that translates best to AFL level, particularly straight out of the gate. Daicos was always a sure thing, and I'm not sure why anyone doubted him. Other more physical advantages are lessened by being in the AFL and competing against grown bodies. That's the curse of almost every big forward that was drafted with a top pick in the 2010s.

Or all of them.

They’re a serious group, any one of them could turn out to be as damaging as you point out.

Myopic for talking heads to say we lack a big moment player, or we’re all system and no cream. We have as many candidates in this team as we’ve had in others during rebuilds.

Brockman and Weddle in the wings, and possibly a few others too. Let alone if we land a Mac3 or Watson, even Dursma.

nail a high pick in this draft and it’s almost getting silly.

Against that it’s not unknown for key players to miss entire seasons. Plenty of depth and players who are flexible is not going to waste.

if Sicily is out, another KPP is an option, but so is a smaller player who’s smart and can intercept, play loose. It’s time to try the succession potential

Of course you need a match winner to an extent but between McDonald, Mackenzie, Newc and Day I think one of them will stand up in the big moments.
I see a match winner when I look at Newc. The type of footy he produced against Brisbane turned the game, same as in big games in really big wins against Brissie and Geelong last year, he was the difference. The ability to shimmy, shake off tacklers and drill an opposition-confidence-bursting bullet into the chest of a forward is up there with the best in the comp.

I'll keep beating this dead horse but it'll take a Dusty 2017 style year before people stop seeing Newc through the lens of the MSD.

To that end I'm perfectly happy for us to opt out of the Reid slap fight and focus elsewhere.

I see a match winner when I look at Newc. The type of footy he produced against Brisbane turned the game, same as in big games in really big wins against Brissie and Geelong last year, he was the difference. The ability to shimmy, shake off tacklers and drill an opposition-confidence-bursting bullet into the chest of a forward is up there with the best in the comp.

I'll keep beating this dead horse but it'll take a Dusty 2017 style year before people stop seeing Newc through the lens of the MSD.

To that end I'm perfectly happy for us to opt out of the Reid slap fight and focus elsewhere.
100%. Even in articles praising the Hawks (Jake Niall wrote a good one on the weekend), Newc keeps getting undersold as though he's a dour in and under accumulator like Worpel. He uses the ball better than Day and is our most damaging midfielder. His area for development isn't impact - it's 4 quarter consistency as he can drift out of games. It can only be his mid-season drafting that has people refusing to view him as a high impact, high upside player.

Completely agree. His running ability is severely underated, he consistently makes it to contests around the ground and provides spread.

The more I watch Harley play, the less impressed I am about him being the "standout" of the draft class. Having said that, he'd fit the mould almost perfectly in our club and really complete our midfield with an exclamation mark. He'll have a lot on his shoulders if he went to WCE. And North lol.. who wants to play for North Melbourne. Look at JHF and how he got unleashed after he left. I can see something similar with Reid.

But that just creates more excitement for us. We genuinely don't know who we're going to pick atm because there's a lot more talent in the top 10 than Harley alone.

Imo
Lol that's true to some extent at least. Not every player getting drafted to a certain club fits well together. Even if they think that's the best player available by far. Look at JHF. Absolute shambles at North and he clearly didn't wanna be at that club. Maybe if he went to Geelong, there would never have been a massive trade.

The more I watch Harley play, the less impressed I am about him being the "standout" of the draft class.
It's probably the more you watch others play. There's some really good high end talent in this draft that are really putting the foot down now. Harley Reid has been a gun the whole way through and remains the obvious choice for pick 1.

Player Watch 2023 AFL Draft Pool Discussion Thread