List Mgmt. 2023 AFL Draft

Hyphenated surnames, which I believe had their origins from there being no males on the mother's side of the family to carry on the name are becoming more common nowadays, but with something like Billy `McGee Galimberti' maybe the Irish side of his family could have put the cue in the rack and been happy with plain old Galimberti.

`Calsher' Dear is another, maybe it's an old family name but it does sound like some made up BS!

Back to the real footy stuff :), I'm liking those stats for the younger Visentini he sounds like a genuine prospect who would definitely be worth a late pick.

Dear I like but maybe Hawks take him father son.

Billy has played a couple of seriously good games in defence. Is pretty quick and whilst there's not a lot of him he has a real dip.

If he's sitting there without a home draft night we could do worse. A little like DBJ as a Rookie pick.

I havent paid attention to the draft this year. Ashton Moir looked like a friggin gun last year. What happened?

I really want a fast impact goal kicking small forward. Can we get one late in the draft?

Ain’t got nothing on the names going around nfl / college football.

There’s a Kool-Aid Mckinestry entering the nfl in next years draft.

Hell, for a laugh check out the nfls 2024 mock draft. The first round alone is full of more out there names than not.
Agreed, `only in America' as the old saying goes, I can remember watching an episode of Jerry Springer about 12 or so years ago when a rather large African American woman announced her name was `Kool-Aid,' o_O there was plenty of giggling from the audience but Jezza didn't turn a hair as no doubt he knew what was coming.

Scouting Notes from Coates League 1/4 finals.

More Vigo.

"Visentini had the tough task of competing against two rucks over 200cm, but held his own in the role to win a game-high 22 hitouts. His bodywork troubled the opposition early and the top-ager competed well over the ball when it hit the deck. With strong presence, Visentini notched up 13 disposals and six marks to do his stocks no harm."

Scouting Notes from Coates League 1/4 finals.

More Vigo.

"Visentini had the tough task of competing against two rucks over 200cm, but held his own in the role to win a game-high 22 hitouts. His bodywork troubled the opposition early and the top-ager competed well over the ball when it hit the deck. With strong presence, Visentini notched up 13 disposals and six marks to do his stocks no harm."
Would be funny if we ‘sold’ Ladhams for two Visintini’s

Most likely to leave the club end of season

Lycett (Unrestricted free agent) = compensation pick
Bonner (Unrestricted free agent) = compensation pick
Clurey = mid 40's pick although Cal Twomey mentioned he was a early 30s pick 2 months ago (not sure about that...)

3 likely picks coming back our way

Most likely to leave the club end of season

Lycett (Unrestricted free agent) = compensation pick
Bonner (Unrestricted free agent) = compensation pick
Clurey = mid 40's pick although Cal Twomey mentioned he was a early 30s pick 2 months ago (not sure about that...)

3 likely picks coming back our way

I believe we would not receive a compo pick if lycett left.

If Bonner leaves we would get a compo pick, I believe the best outcome would be end of second but in all likelihood 3rd round compo.

I doubt he’s leaving though. He seems pretty content here.

Clurey. Twomey said early 30’s pick? Lol. No way. I mean clurey is a fairly okay player who would be better suited elsewhere, just didn’t work here with such a small backline next to him. But can’t see why anyone would pay a pick 30 when we would seemingly shake his hand and wish him well elsewhere.

I reckon 4th rounder. He’s worth less than esava and zerk, by merit of being older and knowing what he is ie no upside / potential left.

If esava and zero are worth picks between 30-50, and they are, clurey just has to be a useable token pick.

To me clurey for sweet makes a world of sense.

Depth ruck for depth key defender. Dogs lost 2 defenders this offseason, and most of their key defenders are 30+ injury prone guys.

Otherwise just a 3 way swap where clurey goes elsewhere and pick to dogs.

I believe we would not receive a compo pick if lycett left.

If Bonner leaves we would get a compo pick, I believe the best outcome would be end of second but in all likelihood 3rd round compo.

I doubt he’s leaving though. He seems pretty content here.

Clurey. Twomey said early 30’s pick? Lol. No way. I mean clurey is a fairly okay player who would be better suited elsewhere, just didn’t work here with such a small backline next to him. But can’t see why anyone would pay a pick 30 when we would seemingly shake his hand and wish him well elsewhere.

I reckon 4th rounder. He’s worth less than esava and zerk, by merit of being older and knowing what he is ie no upside / potential left.

If esava and zero are worth picks between 30-50, and they are, clurey just has to be a useable token pick.

To me clurey for sweet makes a world of sense.

Depth ruck for depth key defender. Dogs lost 2 defenders this offseason, and most of their key defenders are 30+ injury prone guys.

Otherwise just a 3 way swap where clurey goes elsewhere and pick to dogs.
Lycett - will leave if Sweet comes in.
Bonner - will leave for opportunity
Clurey - will be playing in Sydney next year.

Scouting notes Coates League Preliminary finals.

Put Vigos here.

"With a mean-figured Geelong ruck to compete against, Visentini was arguably outdone in the early stages but hit back to produce his best performance of the year. He began to get on top in the ruck duels and won a game-high 25 hitouts, while also working around the ground to clunk marks with tidy positioning behind the ball. His handling was clean all day, even in short stints up forward."

Scouting notes SANFL Under 18s Grand final

Luca Slade had a pretty good Finals series.
Finished off well. Could be the best mid outside the top 40 though some have him a bit higher.

"Slade led all comers on Sunday and was an integral part of Sturt’s push for an upset victory, pushing until the very last kick of the day – which he goaled with. The robust top-aged midfielder was made to rush by hand in the hot early exchanges, but adjusted nicely to drive his legs and penetrate the lines by foot. With the game up for grabs in term four, he showed good intent to snatch ground and take the game on where possible."

Scouting notes SANFL Under 18s Grand final

Luca Slade had a pretty good Finals series.
Finished off well. Could be the best mid outside the top 40 though some have him a bit higher.

"Slade led all comers on Sunday and was an integral part of Sturt’s push for an upset victory, pushing until the very last kick of the day – which he goaled with. The robust top-aged midfielder was made to rush by hand in the hot early exchanges, but adjusted nicely to drive his legs and penetrate the lines by foot. With the game up for grabs in term four, he showed good intent to snatch ground and take the game on where possible."
I liked what I seen of Luca at the Champs. Reminds me a little of Butters, only small but is a good decision maker in traffic. Very good handballer & evasive.

He's very much his old man who I was a fan of at Centrals (Matthew Slade 8 premierships) It's a good family and he's a quality kid himself. There was times everything was turning to crap for SA during the champs and he stood up.

There's reasonable judges who have him second round but I've a feeling he's going to be right at the back end.

Just another player like Vigs that we might do well with the draft hand we are going to be playing.

Obviously going long term this draft.
Possible Key Position Players available by the time we get a pick. Will Green may be there I've got him sliding a bit due to him maybe needing more time to develop than the other rated Rucks.

A fair bit of chat about Zane Zakostelsky of late. Noticed he has a 20 metre sprint time of

Logan Morris - KPF
Wil Dawson - KPD/KPF
Michael Rudd - KPF
Lachlan Smith - RUCK
Taylor Goad - RUCK
Will Green - RUCK
Vigo Visentini - RUCK
Evan Smith - RUCK/KPF
Riley Weatherill - KPF
Zane Zakostelsky - KPD/RUCK
Coen Livingstone - KPF/RUCK

Possible Key Position Players available by the time we get a pick. Will Green may be there I've got him sliding a bit due to him maybe needing more time to develop than the other rated Rucks.

A fair bit of chat about Zane Zakostelsky of late. Noticed he has a 20 metre sprint time of

Logan Morris - KPF
Wil Dawson - KPD/KPF
Michael Rudd - KPF
Lachlan Smith - RUCK
Taylor Goad - RUCK
Will Green - RUCK
Vigo Visentini - RUCK
Evan Smith - RUCK/KPF
Riley Weatherill - KPF
In height order:

Logan Morris Forward​

height: 191cm weight: 90kg

Michael Rudd Forward​

height: 192cm weight: 91kg

Zane Zakostelsky Key Defender​

height: 194cm weight: 91kg

Riley Weatherill Key Forward​

height: 195cm weight: 87kg

Coen Livingstone Key Forward​

height: 197cm weight: 86kg

Evan Smith KPF​

height: 199cm

Wil Dawson Key Forward​

height: 200cm weight: 86kg

Lachlan Smith Ruck​

height: 202cm weight: 97k

Vigo Visentini Ruck​

height: 203cm weight: 97kg

William Green Ruck​

height: 204cm weight: 89kg

Taylor Goad Ruck from SA​

height: 205cm weight: 90k

Logan Morris - KPF
Wil Dawson - KPD/KPF
Michael Rudd - KPF
Lachlan Smith - RUCK
Taylor Goad - RUCK
Will Green - RUCK
Vigo Visentini - RUCK
Evan Smith - RUCK/KPF
Riley Weatherill - KPF
I think we should just be trying to get the best available players. Find some pace, a small forward or an outside mid deep in the draft and happy days.
With K Marshall, Pasini in backline, Visentini in ruck and Scully up forward, I feel like the KP project players are already there, would be silly to stock up on too many more.

In height order:

Logan Morris Forward​

height: 191cm weight: 90kg

Michael Rudd Forward​

height: 192cm weight: 91kg

Zane Zakostelsky Key Defender​

height: 194cm weight: 91kg

Riley Weatherill Key Forward​

height: 195cm weight: 87kg

Coen Livingstone Key Forward​

height: 197cm weight: 86kg

Evan Smith KPF​

height: 199cm

Wil Dawson Key Forward​

height: 200cm weight: 86kg

Lachlan Smith Ruck​

height: 202cm weight: 97k

Vigo Visentini Ruck​

height: 203cm weight: 97kg

William Green Ruck​

height: 204cm weight: 89kg

Taylor Goad Ruck from SA​

height: 205cm weight: 90k
191/192cm is not KPF

I think we should just be trying to get the best available players. Find some pace, a small forward or an outside mid deep in the draft and happy days.
With K Marshall, Pasini in backline, Visentini in ruck and Scully up forward, I feel like the KP project players are already there, would be silly to stock up on too many more.

Think our defence is pretty much crap until it isn't. Until we have a back 6 we know get the job done maybe look at anything that could work there?

Zane is interesting. Obviously pretty athletic
scouting notes from a couple of weeks back.

"A different game for Zakostelsky compared to recent weeks, where he lined up at the first centre bounce and stayed there for most of the game. After a quiet first quarter, Zakostelsky used his remarkable speed well to cover plenty of ground and be the premier ruck around the ground as he had done to begin the season. Winning plenty of the footy in the middle stages of the game, he used the ball cleverly and became extremely damaging as a fourth midfielder. This freeing style, as opposed to when he plays full back, allowed Zakostelsky to take the game on fully with some brilliant marking and gut running in conditions not meant for big men."

Meanwhile the Coates League GF today from 11.15 Melbourne time this morning on the Coates League App might be worth a look.

Sandringham vs Eastern Ranges

Plenty of likely players going around.

I havent paid any attention to the draft. Clayton Collard looks like a player who would suit the list. Fast, skilled goal kicker with some niggle that makes him punchable.

Id be happy with a couple of project talls and a couple of impact smalls. Thats about all you can expect with no picks

I havent paid any attention to the draft. Clayton Collard looks like a player who would suit the list. Fast, skilled goal kicker with some niggle that makes him punchable.

Id be happy with a couple of project talls and a couple of impact smalls. Thats about all you can expect with no picks
I think you mean Lance Collard who might break both the 20 metre sprint and the agility test at the Combine.

His 3rd gear is everyone else's 5th gear and his 5th gear is like watching the Flash. In his highlights, there is a run down in the centre square that is, well, I've never seen someone run that fast on a footy field before. He is a human blur.
He is so fast that he plays with his opponents.
He has all the tricks, agility to die for, the fastest bloke around, real spring to take a mark and loves to kick goals.
He is great one on one and also can find a guy inside and deliver the ball well.
If you give him any space, he is super deadly.

He could be a bust but he is definitely worth it and I don't like hyperbole at the best of times but he has the potential of Eddie Betts, Charlie Cameron.

And we're desperate for a goal kicking small forward. I have a feeling he will rise but small forwards have a ceiling at the draft. Hopefully we nab him.

He's my type of small forward and I love a goal kicking small forward and Fantasia has flamed out. I'm all in. I love watching his highlights.

Wouldn’t think so. With sanders, it seems north could take McKercher and Sanders and back themselves to hold on to them. Not many Tassie boys want to leave Melbourne after a couple of years.
Dunno, the AFL will give them every concession under the sun to make it happen.

Think G.Ablett to the Gold Coast type money and then some….

List Mgmt. 2023 AFL Draft