List Mgmt. 2023 Draft Thread - Part I

God, I hope you're right.
Wilson is a running machine who is great in traffic and over head.

He is a good not great kick.

Has a very small frame. Put 9kgs on in the last 12 months and probably needs another 9.

Will be an outside mid. But if he fulfills his potential, he is a point of difference to what we already have as he should be able to play inside and outside mid + play a high half forward role.

He is a top talent in this draft.

Very happy that the two players we selected play in positions that allow them to get game time in the firsts if their form warrants it.

Hate getting rucks or key defenders with high picks then have their bodies maturing in the seconds for three years before we can see them.

Im sure thats the public reason given to the media. But 10 weeks (more than half an underage season) for a one off alcohol thing is not right

For the stuff I am alluding to, check page 264 of the North 2023 National Draft Preview Thread II

Absolutely no idea if those type of rumours are true. Hence why I was asking stavro#4. But if they are, would make a lot of clubs think twice
I don’t know about the rumours.

But he had alcohol on him and drinking at a Tassie devils camp and was ultimately pinned as a the ring leader of the event.

So they gave him a punishment that could have ended his dream and to deter him from doing it again.

He doesn’t seem great overhead and not an intercept player, kicks with penetration but not so effective with hitting up targets.
None of the kids left are without their issues.

But SchoenmakerS gets a lot of the ball and has a huge asset in his kicking. So he already has confidence in possession.

Get him fitter and stronger and I think it solves the intercept game.

Just made the mistake of listening to the AFL.com nerds round 1 review. Biggest winner being Essendon burning pick 31 to move above Geelong to “get their man” even though they were very confident Geelong had no interest in Caddy anyway.
Not a single mention of us or Geelong creating a free extra pick while still “getting our man”
Makes me sick!

But very happy with the picks while also creating a better hand next year! Smart dealing by the team

Collard is a massive flight risk.Is extremely close to his family and wanted to stay home.I work with 1 of his cousins here in Perth and he told me whoever picks him,he will be asking for a trade at the end of his 1st contract.

Apparently is also a very shy kid,but maybe Hill and Henry will help him come out of his shell a bit.

I think the saints will need to spend a lot of time with him off the field making him feel comfortable.He is extremely talented,so was worth the risk for you guys,but I felt whoever picked him(outside of Freo or WC )was taking a big risk.

Im sure the club will have done their due diligence and will back themselves to get to stay. If not we trade him back to one of the WA clubs for a premium. He would be no difference to other indigenous kids that get drafted all over the country.

The new 3-year contracts help us here too, gives us time to convince him and if not at least to develop his talent so we get good value for money.

We need to back ourselves on the best available talent regardless of where they are from. Sounds like we have done that.

The new 3-year contracts help us here too, gives us time to convince him and if not at least to develop his talent so we get good value for money.

We need to back ourselves on the best available talent regardless of where they are from. Sounds like we have done that.
Isn’t it only 3 years for the top 20 picks?

All we need is Simpson now and a freijah or mcaulife with 42 and it's a great draft

Simpson and maybe Phillactides for me. Although both those guys are good options too.

B: McLennan - Van Es - xxxx
HB: xxxx - xxxx - Wanganeen-Milera
C: Henry - Phillipou - Byrnes
HF: O’Connell - Caminiti - Wilson
F: Collard - Keeler - Hotton
Foll: Heath - Owens - Windhager​

Under 23s has some promise… 👌🏻

Just don't put it up next to North. **** they got absolutely spoon fed at the cost of everyone else. I reckon McKercher might end up the best player in this draft and then Duursma not far under that.... then Goad, Hardeman and Dawson in one first round and then they have a huge bunch next year and already have a pool of elite young talent. If they **** this up they might as well fold.

None of the kids left are without their issues.

But SchoenmakerS gets a lot of the ball and has a huge asset in his kicking. So he already has confidence in possession.

Get him fitter and stronger and I think it solves the intercept game.
His stats look OK but remember he gets about half of his possessions off the goal umpire.

15 of his 30 odd possessions in one of the Allies game were kick ins.

I'd prefer next best mid or a key defender ahead of Schoenmaker.

Potentially Jamie Cripps Mrk 2.

Very ballsy pick by the Saints.

Shai Bolton was a far superior talent

Collard reminds me a bit of Jamie Cripps mixed with Aker. Does the freakish stuff but don't know if he is anything more than a small forward. We lack X factor and he has heaps of that.

Potentially Jamie Cripps Mrk 2.

Very ballsy pick by the Saints.
And if he is as good as what you guys are making out on your board with your disappointment. We will gain a first rounder if he goes back to WA

His stats look OK but remember he gets about half of his possessions off the goal umpire.

15 of his 30 odd possessions in one of the Allies game were kick ins.

I'd prefer next best mid or a key defender ahead of Schoenmaker.
The kick out stuff doesn’t concern me. Nas also gets his fair share.

I’m looking at what he brings and it’s things we lack. Great kicking and a huge kick. He has height and he can intercept. But needs to improve.

Worth reading this aswell. McVeigh played him off a wing post suspension. Was slotting 60m goals

In:
Dow
Henry
Wilson
Collard
O’Connell (Cat B)

Out:
Bytel
Highmore
Adams
Billings
Coffield
Connolly
Gresham
Mckenzie
Peris (Cat B)

Picks still to come:
(Last 2 picks upgrade Wood & Stocker)

2024 draft hand
1 x first rounder
1 x second rounder
2 x third rounders
1 x fourth rounder

I wonder if the eagles tried to nab pick 28 off us to move up from 30 for Collard.

They would have known our interest so I’d be intrigued to know if we refused a deal, whether the deal wasn’t worthwhile or they just never reached out.
My guess is that they never reached out knowing that Collard is a good chance to get very homesick.

List Mgmt. 2023 Draft Thread - Part I

Write your reply...