List Mgmt. 2023 Draft Thread - Part I

Yes, it might have been a s.hite action but he was an immature kid. In this day an age everyone seems to get punished for their actions of the past.
Remember Ollie Robinson missing tests for some dickhead tweets he made 8 years previous when he was an 18.y.o?

We need so mongrel in the team. I dont want him as a son in law, but as a footballer if he helps us win a flag, I dont care
Anyway I’m sure the club will be all over it, these days they talk to just about everyone including teachers and principles. It could also be absolute garbage and the kid was suspended for drinking which has been spoken about openly. If it’s true and clubs are passing on him then I hope it really is a pass not some oh we thought he deserved a chance in the rookie draft rubbish. If you want him at your club then take him where you rate him or don’t take him at all.
Really good reply Yawkey.

The highlighted part I agree with you. But taken in context we trade for Dow, Henry who is a wing/mid and the best possible mid left at our pick, so to me Collard is a risky but possible high reward selection.

Also consider our young developing mids, Pou, Chito, Windy, Ronnie, and Hotton whom we haven't seen, but I have high hopes for from what I have seen at training. As you get to training I would be interested in what you think of Hotton.
So we have
Dow
Henry
Owens
Windy
Ronnie
Hotton
Wilson and hopefully another tonight as our young mids.

We have Sincs and Steele as AA and still a couple of years like from Crouch, and lets hope Clark can make it and Seb has got another year.

I am hoping for a Stevens type tonight. Think we will take two picks so hopefully one will be a mid.
There‘s some very good players left and fortunately we have an early pick tonight.

Fox footy -

West Coast at that opening pick has been linked to Peel Thunder ruck Mitch Edwards, who was overlooked by the likes of North Melbourne, Collingwood, St Kildaand Carlton. The latter two clubs, though, would consider Edwards if he slipped through on Tuesday night as they hold Picks 33 and 34 respectively.

But both the Saints and Blues, as well as West Coast, are also considering 194cm rebounding defender Arie Schoenmaker, who’s regarded as one of the best kickers in the draft class. Schoenmaker, like Edwards, had late first-round interest, but was still on the board on Monday night.

Key back Schoenmaker on Tuesday morning was strongly linked to St Kilda, which took hard running wing-midfielder Darcy Wilson and exciting small forward Collard with their two first-rounders the night before. Sandringham Dragons defender Ollie Murphy could also be in the Saints’ mix if they’re keen on a tall at Pick 33, although the Saints have closely looked at medium defender Tew Jiath and North Adelaide midfielder Kane McAuliffe in recent weeks. Both Jiath and McAuliffe have also been linked to Richmond.

I know you’re playing devils advocate Joff but mongrel isn’t getting stuck into disabled kids relentlessly. That’s cowardice.

Robinson showed he was a flog then & he hasn’t changed much in 8 years.

Look don't get me wrong, if what is reported as true, then it is a huge mark against a persons character.

I will say two things on that.

1. If we know about it, the football industry knows about it. If we are looking to select him, we would have interviewed him to gauge his character like any player. If we select him I will back the club that it has done their due diligence on him and think he can an asset and conform to the discipline of an AFL club and program.

2. Should a persons life be ruined because of idiotic and immature, stupid and thoughtless actions from when he was a slack jawed teenager?

We also don't know his current thoughts on this issue. Football may have given him a focus, he may very well regret his actions and has changed an matured.

All in all I will back the club nowdays with their people and systems in charge. Something I would not have said in a hurry a few short years ago.

I do believe recruiters and coaches are influenced by trends and recent events. Collard tested off the charts in the areas you’d want in a small forward and yes he looks exciting despite a quiet championship. I don’t see the need at present and small forwards aren’t that hard to find. I know we wanted pace and run amongst other things and clearly both these kids fit the bill. My problem is that I was really hoping we’d load up with mids, mids and more mids including some who can win the ball not just run and carry.

I’m also a big advocate for trying to build a team with as many local kids as possible, not to the exclusion of better options just if it’s a close thing retention and culture matter as well. I see some of our local boys back at the local footy, it energises the local clubs and schools and the suburbs believe it or not. I think it’s good for us on and off the field and with hawthorn stalking us on our home patch we need every advantage we can get.

If it’s any consolation I wasn’t a wrap for wang apart from his kicking and would have taken Sinn and that’s looking laughable about now so I’m hoping this turns out the same way.
X factor isn’t exactly over flowing at our club, someone that gets supporters juices flowing, bums on seats!
Now it’s been confirmed he will be on contract for 3 years, Collard is definitely worth the risk.

Take Simpson or Murphy now, pass on Schoenmaker and take McAuliffe or Johnston late.

Gives us multiple impact midfielders to help build our depth and hopefully raise our ceiling when they become AFL level.

IF the rumours are true and he was pulled up on it numerous times but kept at it, then it’s a massive red flag.

No excuse these days.

And yes, I am embarrassed by the way I treated people in the past. In the late 80’s & early 90’s there wasn’t the anti-bullying & mental health programs.

This sort of stuff is a greater concern to me than kids having a drug strike TBH.

Cruelty is a psychological flaw that’s not easily left behind.

who is this in refernce too?

Someone posted something like this a little while ago:

It's a three tier comp -

1. MCG tenants
2. Interstate clubs
3. Marvel tenants

In tier 3 you need a god squad to contend, and even then there are no guarantees. Or you can sneak a flag like 2016. Sustained success or god forbid a dynasty feels genuinely unachievable. But hey, give us just one flag and we'll all die happy. This is our hand.
Vic teams are interstate clubs from their pov. They are non Victorian teams. This was pointed out to me years ago by a Crows supporter. He had a point not that I gave a crap when his mouth moved.

Its odd that no media have picked up on the ridiculous fact that there were 29 first round selections and there are only 18 teams.
Its an absolute corrupt joke. The first round should remain untouchable at 18 selections.
Father son and academy bids can kick in after the first round.

Its odd that no media have picked up on the ridiculous fact that there were 29 first round selections and there are only 18 teams.
Its an absolute corrupt joke. The first round should remain untouchable at 18 selections.
Media spoke about it last night.

Kinda pointed out it was silly and then Mick Ablett was talking up how amazing it was for the game.

“The talent coming through these days. Especially in the northern academies”

Wank wank wank

Kinda pointed out it was silly and then Mick Ablett was talking up how amazing it was for the game.

Wank wank wank
If the Saints had 4 academy kids in the 1st round, we would have had to use our 1st round pick to get one of them. The AFL letting the Gold Coast get 4 1st round picks is crazy. We can't get 1 until after pick 40. Northern academies should be allowed a maximum of 1. Too much of a leg up.

Add to Gold Coast's tally the two extra first round draft picks they will add to next years draft for trading out their early picks.

So Saints get 1 first round draft pick 2023, and 1 in 2024.
Gold Coast get 4 first round draft picks in 2023, and at least 3 in 2024.

Interesting on Schoenmaker reference y by Fox Footy. Personally I’m hoping for Roberts, Simpson or if we go tall, Mitch Edwards or Mike Zatarajowski. I’m not sure on the shoe. Hopefully someone decent sneaks through late - Johnston, O’Leary…

If the Saints had 4 academy kids in the 1st round, we would have had to use our 1st round pick to get one of them. The AFL letting the Gold Coast get 4 1st round picks is crazy. We can't get 1 until after pick 40. Northern academies should be allowed a maximum of 1. Too much of a leg up.
The argument has always been that the northern academies increase the number of AFL quality footballers available to draft.
That may well be true except for the fly in the ointment that the northern clubs can sell their early picks for points and snaffle up all these additional AFL quality footballers anyway.
TL;DR
The northern academies do not increase the pool of AFL quality footballers for anyone other than the northern clubs.

My thoughts exactly. If you draft too much of one position too soon, you end up with mids playing the flanks and end up losing them at trade time. North are going to get raided quick smart there. One (perhaps two) quality mids per draft - its a list build, not an acorn collecting contest.

Yeah that's an issue if you have the luxury of multiple early picks.
For us we'll be lucky if we don't de-list half of them.

The argument has always been that the northern academies increase the number of AFL quality footballers available to draft.
That may well be true except for the fly in the ointment that the northern clubs can sell their early picks for points and snaffle up all these additional AFL quality footballers anyway.
TL;DR
The northern academies do not increase the pool of AFL quality footballers for anyone other than the northern clubs.

I'll accept the argument for more quality footballers.
What i won't accept is a system that allows them to trade out the draft picks that should have been used for their academy picks.
Trades that gave them 2 additional first round picks next year.

Wank wank wank
Ablett is a braindead dickhead mouthpiece for the administration.

Absolute sock puppet of a human.

Look don't get me wrong, if what is reported as true, then it is a huge mark against a persons character.

I will say two things on that.

1. If we know about it, the football industry knows about it. If we are looking to select him, we would have interviewed him to gauge his character like any player. If we select him I will back the club that it has done their due diligence on him and think he can an asset and conform to the discipline of an AFL club and program.

2. Should a persons life be ruined because of idiotic and immature, stupid and thoughtless actions from when he was a slack jawed teenager?

We also don't know his current thoughts on this issue. Football may have given him a focus, he may very well regret his actions and has changed an matured.

All in all I will back the club nowdays with their people and systems in charge. Something I would not have said in a hurry a few short years ago.

All true.

But when you're splitting hairs over who to choose when the options all have talent but limitations, sometimes character gets someone over the line.

Anyway, just re-watched our selections & a few things stood out (apologies if they've been mentioned).

Darcy Wilson;

Obviously has a tremendous work ethic and professional attitude to go with his natural ability. The fact that he put on 9kgs in a year is quite remarkable... and judging by the vision of him meeting Ross, he's put the weight on in the right places. He looks like he has a build that will eventually allow him to play an outside/inside role... he's not a skinning kid with Hunter Clark like arms.

I especially like that he's a mid who loves a goal... how long have we been crying out for that quality...and now we have Mitchy, Scud & Darcy to compliment an exciting forward line. Pace, endurance, nice skills with a thirst to get better. What's not to like?

Shifter's comparison was Sam Walsh with the Fox Footy comparison Chad Warner.... hmmmm.

Lance Collard;

No doubt a risk but anyone questioning whether the club has done its due diligence is forgetting what a professional operation we have in place now. I like that Lance isn't a midget small forward... at 185cm he is a Charlie Cameron size & judging by his vision, is an aerial threat as much as he is when the ball is on the deck.

Tonight's selection/s;

Fully expect us to move one of the 2 x F3's & get another pick.

I reckon Tew Jiath could be our man in a minor surprise. Ross wants speed all over the park & we are in need of a replacement for Jimmy in the near future. Jiath's write ups highlight the similarity in athleticism & game style with his brother... at 188cm he can play mid or small too. If not Jiath then Archie Roberts ticks a lot of boxes too.

Like most the highlights of Cooper Simpson sold me.

We really do need a developing tall defender too so obviously Ollie Murphy & ZZ come into the mix too.

On the AFL coverage last night Cal Twomey confirmed it’s the first 20 picks.

The last player drafted last night to get a 3 year contract was Taylor Goad.

Twomey checked it live and it was confirmed.
What would the AFL be if it wasn’t making up nonsensical rules on the fly… 😏

Really good reply Yawkey.

The highlighted part I agree with you. But taken in context we trade for Dow, Henry who is a wing/mid and the best possible mid left at our pick, so to me Collard is a risky but possible high reward selection.

Also consider our young developing mids, Pou, Chito, Windy, Ronnie, and Hotton whom we haven't seen, but I have high hopes for from what I have seen at training. As you get to training I would be interested in what you think of Hotton.
So we have
Dow
Henry
Owens
Windy
Ronnie
Hotton
Wilson and hopefully another tonight as our young mids.

It would be beautiful, in fact karma, if our lads usurped the midfields of teams like NM and GC, who are gorging on the AFL concession teat.

It’s not just where players are drafted that creates an elite midfield. Which is why everyone is assuming North will have the powerhouse midfield in the AFL.

Rather, it’s the mix of the players, their workrate, their development, their coaching and their character.

I think we might be assembling the skeleton a gun midfield which in a couple of years may be the envy of the AFL.

"Hey AFL , are three year contracts for all first round picks or just the first 20 "
AFL guy pulls out a huge sheet of butchers paper covered in crayon scribblings.
"Uhhh ahhh....will it benefit StKilda if its all of them? "
"Yeah"
"Nop its just the first 20 "

List Mgmt. 2023 Draft Thread - Part I